We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay!!”
Front view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view
Kitchen Standing at the kitchen sink, you overlook the deck and you can see down to the ocean.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Front view
Kitchen
Standing at the kitchen sink, you overlook the deck and you can see down to the ocean.
The dining room which leads out to the deck.
Outside deck with patio table and 6 chairs. There is a gas BBQ grill. It has a great ocean view!
Walk 2 short blocks down to the beach
Deck view from the other direction. Shows the BBQ grill.
There is a 3 sided gas fireplace in the middle of the living room.
The living room.
Part of the living room.
The living room.
The upstairs half bathroom
Bedroom #1- with a queen bed and a flat screen bedroom.
Bedroom #1
The full bathroom downstairs.
The downstairs full bathroom.
Bedroom #2 with a queen bed
Bedroom #2 with a queen bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jacob W
Bakersfield, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Harassed”
Reviewed 21 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012
6
people found this review helpful

Harassed by the apartment owner that we better not destroy her apartment. She felt that males in their mid-thirties were going to be unruly and we were threatened that we were being watched by a cop neighbor. We were judged of wrongdoing because we went to the bar the night before.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: Being harassed by the owner
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2012
To begin, I was completely mislead about the reason for the weekend stay. The contact person throughout the booking process was the wife of this gentleman. Only after the rental was booked and paid for was it learned it was for a bachelor party. I immediately explained that we cater to families and are in no way a "party" rental as we are located in a residential neighborhood. The wife informed me that the guys were not kids and only wanted a quiet weekend. The day following their arrival, I received contact from residents who were shouted at when walking by the rental. I also received numerous complaints from bar patrons who informed me they left the bar early because of the rude and obnoxious behavior of these gentlemen. I contacted one of the men occupying my rental and told him of the complaints I had received. He was never threatened but was informed that the neighbors would not hesitate to contact the authorities if the problems continued. He mentioned to me as he noted above that the group fed the local economy but the local economy does not need to deal with poor behavior that drives the regular patrons away.

In over 6 years, we have never had to deal with a situation like this. We have never had neighbors call to complain. We have never been contacted by "locals" who had their peace and quiet disturbed. Avila Beach is a fabulous little town and is full of great people who like to walk to the bar on a Friday evening and listen to the band while they relax with old and new friends. It is very "kick back" and typically everyone gets along. Problems seldom occur in Avila so one disruptive group makes a big impression.

We offer a beautiful vacation rental that is perfect for a family stay or a family reunion or a quick getaway or for a multitude of other reasons. Avila is a very peaceful and quiet town- especially in the winter season. More than half or our renters are return renters who visit our rentals numerous times per year and return year after year. We appreciate the renters that respect the town and the people around them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B
Arroyo Grande, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!!”
Reviewed 8 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We had such a good time and the rental was perfect. It was spacious and clean. It exceeded our expectations. We definitely plan to return! The booking process was a breeeze :) We were able to meet the owners and they told us about fun places to go and things to do. Plus, there was a very informative binder in the rental which has a great deal of information.

The pace in Avila is relaxing and inviting. We enjoyed sitting on the deck in the early morning. The sounds of the ocean and the birds was a good way to start the day. Of course, the beach was fun. We took our beach towels and chairs and laid in the sun. We brought our fishing poles and went fishing off the pier in the evening. The kayaking must be nice also because we saw quite a few people on kayaks.

I would definitely recommend this rental. It is a great value!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the deck with the ocean view
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carly D
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable with Ocean View!”
Reviewed 22 January 2012 for a stay in June 2011

We found this property on VRBO.com and had a very easy time communicating with the owners about the availability, costs and deposit. Once it got closer to our arrival there was adequate and helpful information about finding the property as well as gaining access to the keys.

We stayed in a unit with 2 bedrooms and 1 full and 1 partial bath. We were visiting for Cal Poly Graduation and were very happy to get to stay in Avila instead of a hotel in SLO for the same price! The living room, kitchen, dining room and balcony were upstairs with a very spacious living area and fire place. 2 bedrooms and bath with garage access were in the basement.

This property is a few blocks to the heart of the little community as well as the beach. We enjoyed sunning on the patio as well as making a few meals in the kitchen and with the grill that was provided.

Myself, my husband and my mom stayed there for a long weekend and wished we didn't have to leave! No complaints from us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The balcony and view of ocean.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2012
We appreciate the response as well as the kind words. Just to clarify, we don't have a basement. It is a 2-story unit and access to the bottom floor (including the full bathroom and both bedrooms) is through the garage on the first floor. The unit is a two story unit with normal entry through the front door on a split between the 2 floors. In other words, when you enter through the front door, you can either choose to go to the downstairs bedroom area or the upstairs living area (kitchen, partial bathroom, living room, deck).

We value all of our guests. Our hope is to provide you with a good value for a fantastic vacation. My husband and I are always available for questions or advice or to assist you in any way we can.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi S
Fresno, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome rental, what a treat!!”
Reviewed 16 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Can't say enough about how nice this vacation rental was. So clean and well kept. Great price. Owner very so easy to work with. Great communication. We are already planning our next trip!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness,owner communication, free wi-fi, great views
Liked least: no potholders! LOL
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2011
We are so glad you decided to stay in our rental and even more excited that you have already booked for next year. We look forward to seeing you again and hope your visits become an annual event! Thank you for spending your time to review our property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allstarke...
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing value for a home from home.....”
Reviewed 11 April 2011 for a stay in March 2011
2
people found this review helpful

The pictures in the listing fail to do justice to the unit. From the moment we walked in, we were struck by the cleanliness of the place and quality of the fittings. The location was amazing, with a great view out to sea from the deck and the boardwalk a two minute walk away.

Minor maintenance issues were dealt with extremely rapidly and Danny and Jan were extremely considerate and friendly. If travelling with small children, a child-gate is a must: otherwise, plenty of room for toddlers and a cupboard full of games ("Sweet Valley High- the Boardgame", anyone?) for rainy days.

I'd love to keep this place to myself, but that wouldn't be fair. Do yourself a favor and spend a week at Avila with the Kleinsmiths!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2011
Thank you, Alistair. We are so glad we were able to meet you and your beautiful family. We apprecite the positive review and are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will return. Managing to find the time to get away for a vacation is not an easy feat so we really do strive to assist you however we can to enjoy the time you spend at our rentals. Happy Spring!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janestige...
Bakersfield, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Makes Avila Even Better”
Reviewed 17 January 2011 for a stay in December 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Avila is a funky beach town with just enough to do and a south-facing exposure that makes it nice most of the year. The 2-bedroom Palm Unit is extremely well appointed and was perfect for our 5-person stay. It's two blocks from the beach (and restaurants and shops), with an ocean view from the deck and a 3-sided gas fireplace to make things cozy. The owner supplies a binder with all instructions and lots of great ideas for things to do in the area. That's how we found our way to the amazing butterfly grove!

Janice worked with us to customize our stay and we'll definitely be back.

Rooms Location
Cleanliness Check-in / front desk
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2011
These guests were a dream come true and they don't get any better. We will welcome them back at any time! Being family owned, and having 4 children of our own, we strive to assist our guests in any way possible. We want our vacation rental to be your home away from home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maredixon...
Santa Clara, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 13 October 2010 for a stay in September 2010
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay here at Avila Beach and Apartment Rentals with our 2 kids (toddler and infant). The property was clean, beautifully decorated, and in a very convenient location only a few blocks to the beach, restaurants, and shops. The rental had everything and anything you could possibly need. We enjoyed many nights out on the balcony watching the sun set. The owners were very responsive and welcoming (they included a well put-together binder in the home to help you figure out what to do in the area!). Probably what we liked least was the pull out sofa bed, which was very uncomfortable! And also one night one of the neighbors decided to dismantle a piece of furniture just a few steps from the room where our baby was sleeping. Of course this woke her up :( But, this was a very rare occurence. These are both very minor things and would not keep us from visiting again. There were far too many pluses: beautiful home, clean, welcoming, perfect weather, quaint and charming town, friendly people in the area, lots for kids to do in the area, great restaurants, etc. I would highly recommend this rental to all of my friends and family. We can't wait to visit again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2010
Thank you very much for the response. We appreciate being made aware of problems so they can be fixed. Sofa sleepers are usually not the most comfortable places to sleep but we want the experiences of our renters to be as good as possible. We are looking, at this time, to replace the sofa sleeper with a matching heavy duty sleeper.. Also, there should be no further problems with neighbors. Overall, we are excited that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing