We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort in beautiful location”
Review of San Luis Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Luis Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I spent a week of traded timeshare at the resort. We were so lucky to get an ocean facing unit and the view is spectacular, the unit was comfortable and clean amd we had a really pleasant stay. Grounds are immaculate and pool and hot tub were warm and welcoming,
We enjoy eating in and there are excellent supermarkets a relatively short drive away. Front desk and concierge staff were friendly and helpful. The one time that we needed a maintenance person was to help us figure out the ceiling fan and it was late in the evening, we received very prompt and courteous response to our difficulty. Overall a really wonderful vacation.
Only negative is the very slow internet which we know is being addressd as well as the one elevator which was not working and which was also being attended to.


clean

Room Tip: Call ahead to request ocean facing unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4fishtaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, General Manager at San Luis Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

I wanted to Thank you for all of your kind words. Sorry, about the one elevator and the slow wifi.
take care and have a great summer.
sincerely yours

Ben Banks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had a studio room for two nights. Room was very comfortable and clean. Patio small and disappointing. Great space with dining table, fully stocked kitchen, spacious bathroom. Shower head was a bit too powerful and rather loud, the husband compared it to a rocket engine, however I'd rather have it that way than poor pressure. Front desk staff had difficulty finding the reservation and they were not pleasant about it, especially when it was their computer error. They cater to their timeshare clientele so they get priority and it also limits them from offering an early check-in (or so they said). The concierge was very friendly and super helpful, had great advice on the area and pamphlets and coupons for things to do. Beautiful ocean view from areas in the hotel. Pool and hot tub, also arcade the little ones enjoyed. One of the two elevators was also broken during the entire holiday weekend which was rather inconvenient.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth it, otherwise you might just be staring into other people's patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFCrabette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, General Manager at San Luis Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

I wanted to Thank you for the very nice comments that you gave the resort.
Sincerely yours
Ben Banks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We just finished our second stay here, we stayed for a week. I cannot say enough nice things about this resort and the people. The entire Inn, including the lovely grounds were immaculately clean and well groomed. The staff, from desk clerks, concierge, to housekeeping were all so friendly and helpful! The pool is heated to 83 degrees and it was nice as was the hot tub. We love this resort and the area.
We went to the owners update and we love the new "No pressure sales" attitude. Daryl was very nice and informative.
We wish we lived closer so we could visit this Inn twice a year but we look forward to next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomKat2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, General Manager at San Luis Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

I wanted to THANK YOU for the nice comments that you gave us on the resort.
Sincerely yours
Ben Banks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was our second visit to this resort, our experience was a little different from our first. We will return with hopes that some of our experiences will not be repeated.

The good: The staff are friendly and helpful, the location is great, we had a wonderful view of the ocean.

The bad: This resort is not good if you are using a wheelchair. There are no automatic doors and the door ways are narrow so it is impossible to for you to wheel yourself through as there is not enough room for your arms to fit outside of the wheelchair to squeeze through the door way - you need someone to push you.

The handicap rooms are as far away from the elevator as you can get. What idiot designed this? They should be CLOSE to the elevator!

When we checked in, the kitchen was not restocked, there was no paper towels, no dish soap, no dish washer soap, no coffee.

THE UGLY: We found what looked like dried blood stains on the comforter. We called the desk to report this, all they did was deliver another comforter to the room - did not bother to change it nor did they remove the dirty one. Did not change the sheets that were in contact with the stain.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems, you have to weigh the value of a walk in shower (these rooms are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, General Manager at San Luis Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

I wanted to write a response to you and apolgize that you were so far from the elevators. The problem is all of our handicap units are not closed to the elevators. A very poor design.
thank you for your time
sincerely yours
Ben Banks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

All rooms are suites with kitchen, so be prepared to cook your own food or eat out (no restaurant on site). The pool is not heated, so most guests were in the jacuzzi. Best part was the close walking proximity to Avila beach below. I rate this three star hotel, but if you look around the area it's the best you're find.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank doccao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, General Manager at San Luis Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

I'm very happy that you enjoy your stay, and we hope you will come back to visit us again some day.
take care
Ben Banks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Out of hundreds of rooms with views in this hotel, we were given the room with absolutely NONE - we had a nice view of an interior wall. It's really a bummer when we drove 3 hours out to have no ocean view, TOTAL buzz kill for our vacation ......we were told 'timeshare owners have first choice'......

Pros:
+ Clean room, Lots of kitchen space and cookwares
+ Price is reasonable for the area
+ Free (slooooow) wifi
+ Free parking,OK Pool and games and stuff
+ Nice area

Cons:
- Hallway carpet smells old
- Interior staircase looks like (IS) an emergency stair
- The decor/lighting in lobby and general area .... awful! I have been to hospitals with better
- Some of the staff are pretty clueless (when asked if we can switch to a better room.... the answer was "i have no idea you have to ask the morning staff" ....... really?)
- Free (slooooow) wifi

Room Tip: Don't get a room with no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MCTAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, General Manager at San Luis Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

I wanted to apologize for you not have a view from your room. All six of our rooms that we have do not a view.
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We had a one night mini-trip to visit the San Luis Obispo mission for my son's 4th grade mission project (a California social studies requirement). We chose this hotel mainly for the price, as Avila hotels are expensive. We were pleasantly surprised by how nice the 'studio' was! It was roomy, had a little kitchenette that we didn't use for such a short stay, but would have come in handy for a longer visit. We even had a partial view of the coast from our room! It's a lovely property, and we'd definitely stay there again. The staff is very courteous, and the room was clean, and comfortable. They even gave us some restaurant and winery discounts.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LA_Native
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, General Manager at San Luis Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

We are happy that you had a great time, here at the resort. I wanted to thank you for your nice comments and we hope you come to visit us again some day.
sincerely yours
Ben Banks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.3 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
772 reviews
1.3 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
686 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
864 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
893 reviews
5.5 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Luis Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luis Bay Inn

Address: 3254 Avila Beach Dr., Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range: £118 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Luis Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your San Luis Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Bay Hotel Avila Beach
Hotel San Luis Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing