We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Views and Friendly Staff”
Review of Inn at Avila Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Avila Beach
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Views and Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Inn is well located just across the road from the beach front. It's on a rise from the main "promenade" which improves the view. Saw dolphins from the balcony as the sun set. Inn is very friendly with Free cookies (nice too), hot chocolate and reasonable coffee all included. Hot fruit pies at 8pm also went down well.

On the downside, the building appears to be subsiding down the rise on the western end. You can see it on the stairs and on the bedside tables in our front corner room - objects slid off the table. It's not bad, but I hope the owners deal with it before any earthquakes.

Saw sea otters from the pier in the morning. Nice place!

Room Tip: Highly recommend a room at the front looking over the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    133
    26
    30
    25
See reviews for
100
258
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I made reservations for a Friday/Saturday night stay on the web site. Had an Ocean Front King room confirmed. Upon arrival was told I'd been assigned the "family suite" room, instead. I asked if it was "ocean front" and was told, "Oh, it has a living room, a bath...and the ocean view will be from the bedroom." This room is located on the 3rd floor, but overseeing the roof of a house and the ocean view blocked by the Hotel's sun deck. It was "old and tired"...the heater didn't work until my wife lit the pilot light. There was no balcony on which we love to sit and read...and it was generally a disappointment. So...if you book a room, be prepared for their reassignment. We won't return.

Room Tip: Hope that the booking guarantee matches what you're assigned upon arrival? GOOD LUCK! We won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mborba50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for your recent review..We strive to do our best in accommodating all requests,but in some cases that doesnt appear possible . In checking with our staff you orginally DID book a family suite and when you arrived you, than requested oceanfront which was not available ,we tried our best we could to accommodate your last minute request and rearranged other guests stays ,to get you partial view .Again .we are very sorry that your stay was not as expected .

Often third party websites like one you booked are vague on differences in room types ,we always encourage guests to call ANY hotel direct ,so staff can accommodate your needs and desires .and some times confusing .We are doing our best to call back reservations made that way to be sure misunderstandings don't occur . Third party sites while excellent tool in identifying properties in area,rarely give you details that either hotel sites provide our talking with real person .. Particularly in non chain hotels like ours that have many different types of rooms.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write ,we are going through a major renovation of all rooms and will be done in Spring ,Fireplaces ,jacuzzi tubs for two ,multi head showers ,new everything including walls and floor treatments .But our hotel even after such major major renovation will still be 60 years old ,and have many different types of rooms and will retain its wonderful electic whimisical style . Shabby? we would disagree with your comments ,but if you are use to Motel 6 /Holiday Inn chain type hotels, clearly we are wrong hotel for you ,as we were this time . .We will never be that hotel ,but we try to whimiscal fun place to stay just steps from the water ..have good life and i hope you find room bliss ,wherever you go .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Terrace, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2013

First time staying here and I got to stay wow. Being able to sleep with the sounds of the waves was the best the ocean front room were awesome The staff was great really made you feel at home if you want to relax this a the place for you we are already planning a return trip.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I have stayed here twice, and had a wonderful experience both times. Even though I have never stayed in the ocean view rooms, I went to sleep each night to the sound of the ocean waves. The rooms are eclectic and very unpretentious (they still use keys), but everything you could want is included and the entire hotel is very clean. The staff is helpful and more than friendly. If you are going to visit Cal Poly (as I did), it is only a ten minute drive to Avila.

Room Tip: Both times I stayed in rooms on the left side of the hotel, on the end in back, overlooking a hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyl717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you ! we are halfway through our major renovation ..The oceanfront and spa rooms have really turned out as we had hoped .The rest hotel will be completed in Spring .In addition to 10 more spa rooms (jacuzzi tubs for two,fireplaces, multi head showers,) we are going to have five spectular theme suites ...we should have information on our website soon .thank you again for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midpines, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My husband and I have been staying here for years on our anniversary and we've never had a bad stay. The staff is welcoming and always happy to meet your needs. Even back in the oil spill days staying in Avila was wonderful! Actually I think it was even better, because we only wanted to relax on our vacation, we were not intrested in all the shops. After that everything changed, the town was rebuilt and everyone and their brothers came in. I will always love The Inn at Avila Beach. It's a special place where you can sit back on your porch and melt your worries away. This year we will be there for our 30 year anniversary. Happy Anniversary to us! :)

Room Tip: Room 209 or 309 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yosemitestorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
First congrats on 30years ! And especially thank you for choosing to spend it with us ...more and more the Inn has become "THE " place to spend birthdays and anniversaries or just to get away .
We know you have many choices to stay ,so it means alot to us that you come back every year .
We are committed to renovating the Inn and taking full advantage of our wonderful location on the ocean.
It's been this month ,13 years since the cleanup was declared over , most customers only know it after cleanup.While it's changed somewhat,Avila still is just 4 blocks by 4 blocks and Inn remains where it was 60 years ago ,welcoming guests to the coast .
A nice regular guest ,a 80 year YOUNG lady said it best ,when talking about changes ,to in her words ," MY Beloved Avila "
"Sonny,(I'm 62 ) sixty years ago I looked in a bikini ,but I'm better now!" Good way look at Avila Beach ,we all have changed abit as we have gotten wee bit older ,but most of us rather not go back to bikini days!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Elsinore, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

An ocean front room is our favorite get-away place. The folks that run this hotel really know how to make people feel welcome and relaxed. We go as often as we can - highly recommended!
There is no pool, but there is an ocean!
For exercise, we go for long walks on the beach and shop in this peaceful little town.

Room Tip: Always get an ocean front room. You can sit on the balcony at night sipping your wine, looking at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Clearly you get what we are trying to do at the Inn..not recreate chain hotel ,but recreate experience of staying at friends beach house .
You get it! Thanks for sharing your experience ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My husband and I spent a week at the Inn at Avila Beach for the second time in August. Our last visit was in the owner's suite, this year in a different ocean view room. There is nothing quite like waking up to the beautiful view of the Pacific ocean. We totally enjoyed our room, the new pillow top mattress, and the very large TV screen. We brought some good movies along, as well as records to play on their record players in the room.
The staff is wonderful and provides fresh baked cookies all day and fresh baked pies in the evening. We cooked fresh caught fish and fresh veggies on the rooftop grill, which has the best view of Avila one could ever dream of.
We plan to return to the Inn, as it feels so homey, and is a great place to hang out at the beach and avoid the crowds at most all other beach spots.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DZPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.1 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Luis Bay Inn
San Luis Bay Inn
#5 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Avila Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Avila Beach

Property: Inn at Avila Beach
Address: 256 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Avila Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All inclusive oceanfront hotel! So much more than just room...Welcome beach bag ( filled local snacks) , Complimentary checkin reception ( flat bread pizzas, salsa bar,local beers / smoothies,blended ice drinks ) 8 pm Pie Reception( homemade baked pie and ice cream) 7am-11 am Joe mommas coffee house breakfast( all your favorite espresso drinks / croissants / egg dishes / our famous cinnamon rolls ) fleet bikes ,beach gears,freezer filled ice cream / popscicles,fresh fruit and all day fresh baked cookies ...Everything included with best ocean view on coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inn at Avila Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Avila Beach Hotel Avila Beach
Hotel Avila Beach
Inn Avila Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing