We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay”
Review of Inn at Avila Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Avila Beach
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Our Stay”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I love this place! It's amazing! Friendly staff n just a hop skip n a jump to the Beach! My Granddaughter loved it! The room was a bit small no table space for my Granddaughter to sit but she loved the "Princess" Bed n the Jacuzzi Tub! Late Checkout was greatly appreciated!! Will definately stay here again!! Staff made us feel at home and nothing beats that beautiful Sun Deck!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaLT68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    133
    26
    30
    25
See reviews for
100
261
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coarsegold, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My sister and I arrived and found our room to be clean but tired. The mattresses were great. The Inn provided each room/guests with a lovely home baked pie for Thanksgiving. The downside is the three 13 step flights of stairs to our 3rd floor room. NO elevator for us, age 79 and 76. Took 3 trips up the stairs to bring up our luggage, WHEW! Will not return until elevator is installed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRoberto_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
First thank you for noticing new mattresses ..our renovation of Inn will be completed by summer.
Next guests will see all new art work in hotel ,and new lobby with welcoming fireplace and new lobby furniture.
You also noticed new services fresh baked cookies all day plus our unique pie social every evening at 8 pm .some of older traditions we give fresh baked pie to each guest at checkin on holidays to take to grandmas house or to have during their stay. We also continued our 12 th yr tradition of having turkey white bread and mayo in large qua ties so guests can make themselves sandwich
24/7 during holiday stay.

I am sorry about stairs , all guests are asked when they call us direct if stairs .your correct if stairs a problem you shouldn't stay here .Its a 60 year old building , built before elevators . If you booked on third party site I'm afraid they not very good about telling you everything need to know ,we working on that too.. We do also have staff to assist with luggage
, again sorry if you weren't asked. We are in beginning of long process of getting county approval
On new elevator ,it appears to be two years away but we hope to start next winter..

In meantime if you tell us ahead we can assign you to lower floor, the ,back staircase has only 7 steps, and I or one of my staff are always happy carry your luggage ,your next stay. Thank you for loving everything else ,about our unique Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Avila Beach is a newly redeveloped beach resort just south of the Diablo Canyon nuclear power plant and a nearby earthquake fault. In the '99s, the entire town was razed to allow a toxic clean up of petroleum that leaked into a huge underground plume from oil storage tanks on the hill above the Inn at Avila Beach. The Inn was the only building left standing as the last resort building in town and continues to serve its clients with its original charming early '70s decor. The rooms are appointed in a rustic fashion with their own kitchenettes furnished with nostalgic Tappan gas ranges. We couldn't get the pilot light lit in the oven, although the cheery and helpful staff made a valiant effort to do so. The decor is marked by a neutral though creative style with improptu hand applied fresco murals and empty picture frames consistent with its minimalist theme. Light through the door jambs keeps you company in the dark at night making a night light unnecessary. The office provides access to a HUGE library of VHS tapes for your entertainment and unlimited buttery microwave popcorn. The place is GREAT for parents who are afraid their kids might break something because everything is already broken. Kids also love the way the upstairs floor bounces when you walk across the room.The Inn should surely be considered as you last resort in this otherwise newly rebuilt environmental disaster zone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zippideedoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
One of more interesting reviews we've ever seen on Trip Advisor. .. Appears you always wanted to be travel writer , certainly never to late to start new career .
Seems like you don't like a lot things in your review , United States , The Central Coast ,Avila Beach ,, ,,don't like clean quiet beaches ,small towns , or older hotels .
I might suggest Dubai ?
I'm not sure factual info important in your review but cleanup was 15 years ago ..yes ,15 years ago and was not massive oil toxic spill but was oil leak from pipes 50-100 years ago ,and beach until it was cleaned was considered cleanest beach on coast . .

Clearly Avila Beach ,is not someplace that you will ever found to your liking ,And we agree it is not Paris and thankful for that, I guess another reason to like the French .Dubai?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We booked this at the last minute as we were in Yosemite NP during the Government Shutdown and had our reservation cancelled,. Instead of staying in the area, we decided to go for a beach stay. We paid $199 for a "Courtyard" room, which turned out to overlook the car park (no courtyard).
The hotel overlooks Avila Beach and is an ideal location, but only a few rooms have ocean views and have been renovated. The rest are "Courtyard" rooms and are very dark.
Our room was clean and comfortable, but we had to have the electric light on during daylight hours to enable us to see, there was so little light coming into the room.
The amenities are plenty, with no restriction on bottled water available at all times, freshly baked cookies are available during the day and freshly baked pies in the evening.
Beach chairs, toys, boogie boards etc are available at no charge for guests to take to the beach.
There is a roof area with seating and tables where one can sit with a drink and watch the sunset - that is if you can find space as the area was taken over for birthday/family parties when we were there.
As the hotel is so ideally situated for the beach, I would stay again but only in a ocean view room.
The 4 stars I have allocated are for the location amenities and friendliness.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for kind and thoughtful review .Last winter we restuccoed and repainted hotel,replaced
all hallways flooring ,redid all oceanfront units and updated our roof top deck. This winter
we will completely renovate all remaining rooms with new everything all way to studs and start over again .each room will have fireplace ,jacuzzi tub for two multi head showers, our goal is to be
top boutique hotel on coast ,with our incredible location ( we agree with your assessment you can't closer to ocean) . One areas we are addressing is lighting ,on top floor we are adding over 20 skylights.
The renovation will be completed by late Spring ...please stop in and take tour. If you have any additional suggestions please feel free to call hotel direct. I would love to hear your thoughts .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cloverdale, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The Inn at Avila Beach is like staying at a friend's beach condo. Many of the comforts of home are available to you. Yes, you may find little things like peeling wallpaper, but there's a large flat screen in each room with a library of videos in the lobby if you want to decompress in your room, a refrigerator for keeping leftovers from one of the many great restaurants in the area, and a microwave for reheating those leftovers as a midnight snack. The lobby has coffee, an assortment of teas, and cold bottled water. If you've done wine tasting on the Central Coast, the sun deck is a great place to unwind with a bottle of wine you've picked up that day while watching the waves come in. Or, if you're in an ocean view room, sit on the balcony to watch the sun set. You will find families at the Inn, and they can be a bit noisy, but I marvel how it becomes so peaceful after dark. I missed the pies from the Avila Barn served in the lobby at 8 p.m. because the soothing sounds of the waves put me in relax mode and I took a little nap. That's okay, I needed the time to relax in a comfortable room with the ocean telling me to let go and live a little. We will be back.
I'm looking forward to the aforementioned renovations to see what's in store.

Room Tip: Magnificent views on the sun deck, but ocean view room are worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWFerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Inn is well located just across the road from the beach front. It's on a rise from the main "promenade" which improves the view. Saw dolphins from the balcony as the sun set. Inn is very friendly with Free cookies (nice too), hot chocolate and reasonable coffee all included. Hot fruit pies at 8pm also went down well.

On the downside, the building appears to be subsiding down the rise on the western end. You can see it on the stairs and on the bedside tables in our front corner room - objects slid off the table. It's not bad, but I hope the owners deal with it before any earthquakes.

Saw sea otters from the pier in the morning. Nice place!

Room Tip: Highly recommend a room at the front looking over the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I made reservations for a Friday/Saturday night stay on the web site. Had an Ocean Front King room confirmed. Upon arrival was told I'd been assigned the "family suite" room, instead. I asked if it was "ocean front" and was told, "Oh, it has a living room, a bath...and the ocean view will be from the bedroom." This room is located on the 3rd floor, but overseeing the roof of a house and the ocean view blocked by the Hotel's sun deck. It was "old and tired"...the heater didn't work until my wife lit the pilot light. There was no balcony on which we love to sit and read...and it was generally a disappointment. So...if you book a room, be prepared for their reassignment. We won't return.

Room Tip: Hope that the booking guarantee matches what you're assigned upon arrival? GOOD LUCK! We won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mborba50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for your recent review..We strive to do our best in accommodating all requests,but in some cases that doesnt appear possible . In checking with our staff you orginally DID book a family suite and when you arrived you, than requested oceanfront which was not available ,we tried our best we could to accommodate your last minute request and rearranged other guests stays ,to get you partial view .Again .we are very sorry that your stay was not as expected .

Often third party websites like one you booked are vague on differences in room types ,we always encourage guests to call ANY hotel direct ,so staff can accommodate your needs and desires .and some times confusing .We are doing our best to call back reservations made that way to be sure misunderstandings don't occur . Third party sites while excellent tool in identifying properties in area,rarely give you details that either hotel sites provide our talking with real person .. Particularly in non chain hotels like ours that have many different types of rooms.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write ,we are going through a major renovation of all rooms and will be done in Spring ,Fireplaces ,jacuzzi tubs for two ,multi head showers ,new everything including walls and floor treatments .But our hotel even after such major major renovation will still be 60 years old ,and have many different types of rooms and will retain its wonderful electic whimisical style . Shabby? we would disagree with your comments ,but if you are use to Motel 6 /Holiday Inn chain type hotels, clearly we are wrong hotel for you ,as we were this time . .We will never be that hotel ,but we try to whimiscal fun place to stay just steps from the water ..have good life and i hope you find room bliss ,wherever you go .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.1 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
692 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,352 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Luis Bay Inn
San Luis Bay Inn
#5 of 5 in Avila Beach
211 reviews
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Avila Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Avila Beach

Property: Inn at Avila Beach
Address: 256 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Avila Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All inclusive oceanfront hotel! So much more than just room...Welcome beach bag ( filled local snacks) , Complimentary checkin reception ( flat bread pizzas, salsa bar,local beers / smoothies,blended ice drinks ) 8 pm Pie Reception( homemade baked pie and ice cream) 7am-11 am Joe mommas coffee house breakfast( all your favorite espresso drinks / croissants / egg dishes / our famous cinnamon rolls ) fleet bikes ,beach gears,freezer filled ice cream / popscicles,fresh fruit and all day fresh baked cookies ...Everything included with best ocean view on coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Avila Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Avila Beach Hotel Avila Beach
Hotel Avila Beach
Inn Avila Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing