We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky, soulful & sweet”
Review of Inn at Avila Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Avila Beach
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you are a fan of cookie-cutter hotels, this is not the place for you. However, if you are willing to step out of the ordinary, the Inn at Avila Beach will reward you for it! Think hippie-magic. This hotel is true to its self-description: "like your best-friend's beach house in Mexico crossed with a Mediterranean villa". We had an ocean-front room and the view and proximity to the beach could not be beat. The staff is the MOST friendly, intelligent, cheerful and just down-right DELIGHTFUL I have ever encountered. Be sure to visit the sun-deck---daybeds and hammocks---perfect for relaxing. Also, don't miss their delicious all day cookies and pie-time at 8 each night---(the pie was better than my grandmothers's!) They have a sister coffee shop "Joe Mama's" just down the street that has exceptional coffee. If you get a hot day, as we did (95 degrees), their blended strawberry lemonade will cool you down. Be prepared that the Inn is a slightly older property and lots of stairs---so if you have heavy luggage, it will be a hassle.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cresmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_at_AvilaBeach, Front Office at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Cresmark,

Thank you very much for your great review! Here at the Inn we believe in originality. We believe that the Inn at Avila Beach should be a second home to our guests. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. We try to treat every one of our guests and visitors like family and ensure that their vacation is going perfectly.

The pie was better than your grandmothers!? That is an amazing compliment. We serve these pies with the help of the Avila Valley Barn.

We apologize that the front desk did not ask you if you needed help with your luggage. We do have some young men here that are always willing to help carry bags. We understand that the flights of stairs can be a hassle. We promise on your next stay that our staff will lend a helping hand with your luggage.

We hope to see you again!

Best,
Emily Clark | Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I went to Avila Beach without a hotel pre-booked, and we were so pleased when we found this hotel! On a recommendation from a friend, we booked an ocean view room that did not disappoint. The hotel is undergoing renovations right but don't let that scare you off, they are very quiet and conscious to keep any noise during daytime hours. The owner even talked to us before we left to ensure we had a good time. The staff is very hospitable and provide special little details, like fresh baked cookies and pies at night. This is a quaint, special little hotel right on the main street across from the beach that is just a gem. It's a great place to relax and unwind either on your own balcony or on the lounge area on the roof. We are already planning our next visit!

Room Tip: Ocean view room is just a few dollars more and totally worth it! There are only stairs so 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 55CJ05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_at_AvilaBeach, Front Office at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

55CJ05,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We always welcome and encourage walk-ins, they are a pleasant surprise and addition to our family! I am so glad that the renovation did not cause you any problems during your stay with us.

The owner of the Inn is very involved and loves to speak with our guests and make sure that everything is exactly how they imagined it. It is a very nice touch for the coziness of this Inn.

We cannot wait for your next visit with us! Thank you again for your very lovely words!

Best,
Emily Clark | Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My wife and I just returned from a stay in the area and booked Tuesday night in an oceanfront mini suite. We won't return.

Driving up, our first impression of the setting was that it was ideal. It was right across the street from the beach and Avila has done a wonderful job rebuilding the beachfront. You have a unobstructed view of the beach and the California Coast. We didn't mind that it was an older building, in fact we thought it would be fun. We have enjoyed some pretty eclectic hotels and B&B's in our travels.

We parked across the street and walked up to the hotel. We tried a few different approaches because there was no signage that indicated a reception or office. We entered a large room and waited a few minutes before having to call to get help. I helped myself to a chocolate chip cookie. It was stale.

We went up to our room. It wasn't cool funky. Unlike the website room photos this one was cluttered with a lot of furniture that made it hard to navigate. It looked in need of a paint job and the bathroom had peeling wall paper. Someone had tried stapling it back and the staples were rusted. The bathroom mirror had a crack. The hotel talks positively about their towels and robes. Our flimsy robes were stained and looked worn out. We were surprised that they even had something that looked so bad hanging in the closet. There was no way we would use them. The towels are nothing more than basic smaller towels. So be it, but just don't brag about them.The carpet looked worn. The overall impression wasn't that it was dirty, it just didn't look or smell fresh. The room had a musty smell. You sort of expect that at the beach, but this was more than usual. We opened the door, took in the beautiful beach view and then left for dinner with the door open to air out the room. When we came back, it hadn't really improved.

The bed was comfortable. You can hear the sound of the ocean waves easily. You can also hear the sound of toilets flushing and showers.

This is just an old motel that is very tired and needs a major cleanup. The photos on the Inn's website make it appear to be better than our first-hand experience. Unfortunately, it's amazing location does not offset it's funk. I recommend skipping the Inn at Avila Beach and going for any of the other top three hotels in Avila or head back to SLO and drive 10 minutes to the beach. There are too many better options. We visited them (afterwards) and would take the others over this hotel every time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amp94596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_at_AvilaBeach, Front Desk at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

amp94596,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Inn. We take our reviews very seriously and try to accommodate for all of our current, returning and future guests. The Inn at Avila Beach is a very old building with a lot of charm and history. We are currently towards the end of a very exciting renovation. The issue with the front desk might have been due to the recent renovation... we do have a very clear front desk with a computer and some chairs in order to take care of check-ins. This is facing the front street. The chocolate chip cookies are baked fresh every day, multiple times a day, so that guests have a nice warm cookie whenever they want.

We are very sorry that the room was not what you were expecting. Our Ocean Front Mini Suites have a lot of charm and were renovated not too long ago. Thank you for your tips, we definitely make sure that all of our robes are fluffy and fresh, and replace the ones that are in need.

Three weeks later and a lot of the comments that you made have been remedied. If you have any complaints during your stay we are here at the front desk ready and willing to help in any way shape or form possible!

Please consider the Inn at Avila Beach again and we promise to make your stay as enjoyable as possible!

Best,
Emily Clark | Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The five stars is for the overall experience. This is not what most people would consider a five star hotel. The place began as an apartment building, I would guess sometime in the 70s. However, it is currently undergoing a major renovations, and it will definitely become a destination place. Many guest amenities. First of all, no d**m telephones in the rooms. If you really want to be disturbed by such things, bring your cel phone. Really nice rooftop patio. Come out in the mornings, have your coffee, and watch the dolphins frolic in the bay. The patio also has hammocks, barbecue grills, and televisions with DVD and VCR(!). The rooms also have TVs with DVDs as well as a sound system with radio, CD, and LP players. There is a library of DVDs, CDs, video tapes, and LPs in the lobby area. Forget beach toys for the kids? No problem, there are beach toys available.
The rooms have full kitchens - stove, oven microwave, and mini-fridge. However, there were no cooking or eating utensils.
Fresh baked pies are brought out at 8 pm every evening, Just the thing after a nice dinner in town (walking distance to some really good restaurants).
Only drawback, and it wasn't a big problem for us, is handicapped accessibility. The rooms are on the second and third floors, and the patio on the roof. My wife was able to navigate most of the stairs that she had to for accessing our room on the second floor, but the roof patio was out of the question. I understand that a lift is planned for the near future during renovation.
Oh, a really nice touch. Our room had journals, written by previous guests, and to be written in by current guests. The entries in the journals in our room dated back to the 1990s. Really interesting to read about other's experiences.
I definitely hope to return here in the future.
Oh - the restaurant rating is for the nearby restaurants. There is no restaurant in the hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_at_AvilaBeach, Front Office & Branding at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Louis D,

Thank you, thank you for your considerate and thorough review. The Inn is such a special and funky place, I'm delighted you really explored its diversions and amenities. We took the phones out so you can focus on what you're there for: to relax! I'm glad you were able to do just that.

The kitchens are a great feature if you're staying for several days, though we only have four rooms that feature them. All cookware and utensils you could desire are in our Gathering Room (where the pie is served) so it's easy to grab what you need and bring it back down to have it washed for you.

I'm so sorry your wife wasn't able to enjoy the Sundeck; though, as you mentioned, we do hope to install one in the final phase of our exciting upgrades! It would seem you had a wonderful stay regardless, and we can't wait to have you back!

Cheers,
Alexis Kidd | Front Office & Branding

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

we spent the night here for our 1st anniversary. our room had a jacuzzi tub and fireplace. very cozy !! the folks here are great, welcoming, and glad to see you. they have an area near lobby that has cookies( all day) coffee,tea,popcorn,water,etc. and a room full of dvd's and tapes to bring to your room. they were in the process of upgrading the hotel and rooms but we had no issues with noise or mess. the nice lady who checked us in( did not get name though) was handed a rare tripadvisor badge from me. we will for sure be back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hugh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_at_AvilaBeach, Front Office & Branding at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hugh b,

We so appreciated being host to your first anniversary celebration! The room you stayed in is one of my favorites; quiet, private, and so cozy with all the warm pops of color. The jacuzzi with a partial ocean view doesn't hurt either! Thank you so much for the TripAdvisor badge. It was such a lovely surprise and a great acknowledgement of how much we try to treat our guests like family. I'll treasure it! See you next year for your "cotton" anniversary-- 500-count sheets anyone? :)

Cheers,
Alexis Kidd | Front Office & Branding

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Our Stay was Amazing!!  It was everything we hoped for.  I was so happy that our last minute accommodations were made and we were able to spend three days in the ocean view suite on the third floor.  The room was great; comfortable bed and soft sheets, the mini fridge was used extensively, the sliding glass door was open 24 hours a day to hear the waves on the beach, the private balcony was great, and the large TV filled the down time.  As said on the web site "Location, Location, Location".  The location was perfect.  We could go to eat, walk the pier, walk the beach, and be right back at the room without missing the sound of the ocean.  We made good use of the games and records in the lobby, a trait that is missing in the corporate owned hotels around.  The sun deck is one more piece in the puzzle of excellence.  I could 0not be happier with our stay. Avila Beach is special enough on its own, but combine it with our amazing stay at the Inn and it made for a perfect three days.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindizz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_at_AvilaBeach, Front Office & Branding at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Lindizz13,

Thank you for your very kind review! I'm so glad you enjoyed the magical place we've put together here in Avila Beach. It sounds like through use of our spaces, treats, and diversions, your getaway was not only relaxing but lots of fun as well! Big Sur isn't too far away at all, so give us a call the next time you're itching for a weekend away.

Until next time!
Cheers,
Alexis Kidd | Front Office & Branding

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed for just one night, had a room with an ocean view which I would highly recommend. Upon our arrival we were welcomed with a freshly baked apple and strawberry pies, cookies and a variety of teas and coffee. The interior is very pleasant and trendy, it felt like home and not like a regular hotel. The location is conveniently close to the beach and restaurants. The parking is available free of charge. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elli N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_at_AvilaBeach, Front Office & Branding Manager at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Elli,

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for sharing such lovely photos! It would seem you had a wonderfully relaxing getaway. The Inn is very much meant to feel like your best friend gave you the keys to their (somewhat large!) beach house, and we're so glad it felt like home to you.

We're honored to have been your first review on TripAdvisor, which would indicate that you may have signed-up just to tell other travelers about your experience. Thank you so much!

Give us a call when you're ready for that view again!

Cheers,
Alexis Kidd
Front Office & Branding Manager
Inn at Avila Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.2 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
811 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
689 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,560 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,305 reviews
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Avila Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Avila Beach

Address: 256 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Price Range: £180 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Avila Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Avila Beach, your all inclusive oceanfront hotel! The Inn at Avila offers so much more than just room. Upon arrival, guests are gifted with a welcome beach bag filled local snacks and access to our complimentary check in reception with flat bread pizzas, salsa bar, libations, and blended ice drinks. Every night we end the day with our 8pm pie reception with homemade baked pie and ice cream. At the top of the hour, guests enjoy access to our rooftop coffee house for breakfast. All your favorite espresso drinks, croissants, egg dishes and our famous cinnamon rolls. Amenities also include beach cruisers, a freezer filled ice cream and popsicles, fresh fruit and fresh baked cookies all day. All of this and so much more is included, along with the best ocean view on the Central Coast of California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inn at Avila Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Avila Beach Hotel Avila Beach
Hotel Avila Beach
Inn Avila Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing