We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”
Review of Inn at Avila Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Avila Beach
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Our only mistake is that we only stayed here one day.

Firstly there will be people who are expecting a new hotel who will be disappointed. This can be seen in some of the reviews...Then there are people who enjoy the amazing location, rustic feel, beautiful family room, the fresh cookies and pie and the amazing sun deck.

It was by luck I found this on the net before we left Australia and what grabbed me was the fact that local holiday makers continued to return to the hotel year after year and also the surprise that many expressed when they came here for the first time. There had to be something about it!

There is a lot of work going on in refurbishing rooms.ours wasn't and had some peeling paint and general wear and tear but it actually added to the feeling we had when we lived in Europe and travelled to places like Spain and Portugal. For us we felt relaxed the moment we arrived and just wish we had more time.

I couldn't recommend this hotel more highly but go with an understanding that it isn't a 5 star hotel by big chain standards but its a 5 star hotel for many more reasons.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thecraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank You!
For wonderful review from such experienced traveler ..Yes,you got it right the Inn is different on purpose and you got it! The renovation is 1/2 over and half rooms are brand new ,but charm of the hotel is location ,the staff ,and many fun services we provide ,Safe travels back to Australia ,hope you find your back to States soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    133
    26
    30
    25
See reviews for
100
258
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Spot on! We extended our Memorial day wknd and stayed here on a wim. It was Magical, funky, hippy~esque, authentic, sexy, romantic mexican casita feel. Great staff, vibe, cookies, sun deck, jaquzzzi tub with the ocean breeze was the best. Some rooms even have record players and they have Vinyl in the movie, music library.....very hip and cool. Older property, no elevator but we didn' t even care. Lori and Micheal were a delight, laid back, down to earth, very welcoming. The sun deck looks like a treasure of Mexican and Mediterranian blend. We relaxed up there for hours then went back up with wine for sunset. Cant say enough, great little gem. We will will be back. Peaceful zen feel was exactly what we were looking for and we found it. Susan and Carl :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanEmily621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank You Susan,
Means so much to us you took time to write your review . And especially YOU GOT IT
The Inn is meant to be different on purpose ,life is short so pleased you enjoyed the Inn ,
We look forward to seeing you next trip from Clovis ...safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Edward and his staff continue to be the best on the Central Coast. Rooms are updated, comfortable and there is not a closer room to the water anywhere. We have been coming here
for 10 years and it is our favorite. They offer family rooms, ocean front rooms with balcony, all are well appointed and super comfortable. All have sitting areas. There is a great sun deck on the roof you can watch the game or just have a cookout.

Room Tip: ask for oceanfront with the bed away from the balcony, then you can sit in the sitting room and watc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psalyer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you!
So very kind of you ...we agree nothing is more romantic than night listening to waves ,nowhere on coast can you get closer to water .Look forward to your next visit .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you are a fan of cookie-cutter hotels, this is not the place for you. However, if you are willing to step out of the ordinary, the Inn at Avila Beach will reward you for it! Think hippie-magic. This hotel is true to its self-description: "like your best-friend's beach house in Mexico crossed with a Mediterranean villa". We had an ocean-front room and the view and proximity to the beach could not be beat. The staff is the MOST friendly, intelligent, cheerful and just down-right DELIGHTFUL I have ever encountered. Be sure to visit the sun-deck---daybeds and hammocks---perfect for relaxing. Also, don't miss their delicious all day cookies and pie-time at 8 each night---(the pie was better than my grandmothers's!) They have a sister coffee shop "Joe Mama's" just down the street that has exceptional coffee. If you get a hot day, as we did (95 degrees), their blended strawberry lemonade will cool you down. Be prepared that the Inn is a slightly older property and lots of stairs---so if you have heavy luggage, it will be a hassle.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cresmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_at_AvilaBeach, Front Office at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Cresmark,

Thank you very much for your great review! Here at the Inn we believe in originality. We believe that the Inn at Avila Beach should be a second home to our guests. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. We try to treat every one of our guests and visitors like family and ensure that their vacation is going perfectly.

The pie was better than your grandmothers!? That is an amazing compliment. We serve these pies with the help of the Avila Valley Barn.

We apologize that the front desk did not ask you if you needed help with your luggage. We do have some young men here that are always willing to help carry bags. We understand that the flights of stairs can be a hassle. We promise on your next stay that our staff will lend a helping hand with your luggage.

We hope to see you again!

Best,
Emily Clark | Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I went to Avila Beach without a hotel pre-booked, and we were so pleased when we found this hotel! On a recommendation from a friend, we booked an ocean view room that did not disappoint. The hotel is undergoing renovations right but don't let that scare you off, they are very quiet and conscious to keep any noise during daytime hours. The owner even talked to us before we left to ensure we had a good time. The staff is very hospitable and provide special little details, like fresh baked cookies and pies at night. This is a quaint, special little hotel right on the main street across from the beach that is just a gem. It's a great place to relax and unwind either on your own balcony or on the lounge area on the roof. We are already planning our next visit!

Room Tip: Ocean view room is just a few dollars more and totally worth it! There are only stairs so 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 55CJ05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_at_AvilaBeach, Front Office at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
55CJ05,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We always welcome and encourage walk-ins, they are a pleasant surprise and addition to our family! I am so glad that the renovation did not cause you any problems during your stay with us.

The owner of the Inn is very involved and loves to speak with our guests and make sure that everything is exactly how they imagined it. It is a very nice touch for the coziness of this Inn.

We cannot wait for your next visit with us! Thank you again for your very lovely words!

Best,
Emily Clark | Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walnut creek, ca
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My wife and I just returned from a stay in the area and booked Tuesday night in an oceanfront mini suite. We won't return.

Driving up, our first impression of the setting was that it was ideal. It was right across the street from the beach and Avila has done a wonderful job rebuilding the beachfront. You have a unobstructed view of the beach and the California Coast. We didn't mind that it was an older building, in fact we thought it would be fun. We have enjoyed some pretty eclectic hotels and B&B's in our travels.

We parked across the street and walked up to the hotel. We tried a few different approaches because there was no signage that indicated a reception or office. We entered a large room and waited a few minutes before having to call to get help. I helped myself to a chocolate chip cookie. It was stale.

We went up to our room. It wasn't cool funky. Unlike the website room photos this one was cluttered with a lot of furniture that made it hard to navigate. It looked in need of a paint job and the bathroom had peeling wall paper. Someone had tried stapling it back and the staples were rusted. The bathroom mirror had a crack. The hotel talks positively about their towels and robes. Our flimsy robes were stained and looked worn out. We were surprised that they even had something that looked so bad hanging in the closet. There was no way we would use them. The towels are nothing more than basic smaller towels. So be it, but just don't brag about them.The carpet looked worn. The overall impression wasn't that it was dirty, it just didn't look or smell fresh. The room had a musty smell. You sort of expect that at the beach, but this was more than usual. We opened the door, took in the beautiful beach view and then left for dinner with the door open to air out the room. When we came back, it hadn't really improved.

The bed was comfortable. You can hear the sound of the ocean waves easily. You can also hear the sound of toilets flushing and showers.

This is just an old motel that is very tired and needs a major cleanup. The photos on the Inn's website make it appear to be better than our first-hand experience. Unfortunately, it's amazing location does not offset it's funk. I recommend skipping the Inn at Avila Beach and going for any of the other top three hotels in Avila or head back to SLO and drive 10 minutes to the beach. There are too many better options. We visited them (afterwards) and would take the others over this hotel every time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amp94596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_at_AvilaBeach, Front Desk at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
amp94596,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Inn. We take our reviews very seriously and try to accommodate for all of our current, returning and future guests. The Inn at Avila Beach is a very old building with a lot of charm and history. We are currently towards the end of a very exciting renovation. The issue with the front desk might have been due to the recent renovation... we do have a very clear front desk with a computer and some chairs in order to take care of check-ins. This is facing the front street. The chocolate chip cookies are baked fresh every day, multiple times a day, so that guests have a nice warm cookie whenever they want.

We are very sorry that the room was not what you were expecting. Our Ocean Front Mini Suites have a lot of charm and were renovated not too long ago. Thank you for your tips, we definitely make sure that all of our robes are fluffy and fresh, and replace the ones that are in need.

Three weeks later and a lot of the comments that you made have been remedied. If you have any complaints during your stay we are here at the front desk ready and willing to help in any way shape or form possible!

Please consider the Inn at Avila Beach again and we promise to make your stay as enjoyable as possible!

Best,
Emily Clark | Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAN JOSE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The five stars is for the overall experience. This is not what most people would consider a five star hotel. The place began as an apartment building, I would guess sometime in the 70s. However, it is currently undergoing a major renovations, and it will definitely become a destination place. Many guest amenities. First of all, no d**m telephones in the rooms. If you really want to be disturbed by such things, bring your cel phone. Really nice rooftop patio. Come out in the mornings, have your coffee, and watch the dolphins frolic in the bay. The patio also has hammocks, barbecue grills, and televisions with DVD and VCR(!). The rooms also have TVs with DVDs as well as a sound system with radio, CD, and LP players. There is a library of DVDs, CDs, video tapes, and LPs in the lobby area. Forget beach toys for the kids? No problem, there are beach toys available.
The rooms have full kitchens - stove, oven microwave, and mini-fridge. However, there were no cooking or eating utensils.
Fresh baked pies are brought out at 8 pm every evening, Just the thing after a nice dinner in town (walking distance to some really good restaurants).
Only drawback, and it wasn't a big problem for us, is handicapped accessibility. The rooms are on the second and third floors, and the patio on the roof. My wife was able to navigate most of the stairs that she had to for accessing our room on the second floor, but the roof patio was out of the question. I understand that a lift is planned for the near future during renovation.
Oh, a really nice touch. Our room had journals, written by previous guests, and to be written in by current guests. The entries in the journals in our room dated back to the 1990s. Really interesting to read about other's experiences.
I definitely hope to return here in the future.
Oh - the restaurant rating is for the nearby restaurants. There is no restaurant in the hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn_at_AvilaBeach, Front Office & Branding at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Louis D,

Thank you, thank you for your considerate and thorough review. The Inn is such a special and funky place, I'm delighted you really explored its diversions and amenities. We took the phones out so you can focus on what you're there for: to relax! I'm glad you were able to do just that.

The kitchens are a great feature if you're staying for several days, though we only have four rooms that feature them. All cookware and utensils you could desire are in our Gathering Room (where the pie is served) so it's easy to grab what you need and bring it back down to have it washed for you.

I'm so sorry your wife wasn't able to enjoy the Sundeck; though, as you mentioned, we do hope to install one in the final phase of our exciting upgrades! It would seem you had a wonderful stay regardless, and we can't wait to have you back!

Cheers,
Alexis Kidd | Front Office & Branding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.1 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Luis Bay Inn
San Luis Bay Inn
#5 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Avila Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Avila Beach

Property: Inn at Avila Beach
Address: 256 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Avila Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All inclusive oceanfront hotel! So much more than just room...Welcome beach bag ( filled local snacks) , Complimentary checkin reception ( flat bread pizzas, salsa bar,local beers / smoothies,blended ice drinks ) 8 pm Pie Reception( homemade baked pie and ice cream) 7am-11 am Joe mommas coffee house breakfast( all your favorite espresso drinks / croissants / egg dishes / our famous cinnamon rolls ) fleet bikes ,beach gears,freezer filled ice cream / popscicles,fresh fruit and all day fresh baked cookies ...Everything included with best ocean view on coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inn at Avila Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Avila Beach Hotel Avila Beach
Hotel Avila Beach
Inn Avila Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing