We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything about the Inn”
Review of Inn at Avila Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at Avila Beach
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2006

If you are planning on staying at Avila Beach, this is the place to stay. We had a cozy room with a Mexican Motif that had french doors overlooking the ocean. Not to mention how close the Inn is to the water. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooftop sundeck is wonderful. There are hammocks and very cozy lounging areas where you can sit and watch a movie at night. The Inn has a huge selection of videos for its guests. They also offer hot chocolate, tea, coffee and bottled water at no charge. Popcorn too. If you are into fancy schmancy, I am not sure this place is for you. It is cozy and romantic but not really fancy. The Inn at Avila Beach is a great place to relax.

Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
7  Thank catcrazie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Avila Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2006

I found this hotel via internet search. I was fooled by the price of $299 for the room which I thought would imply a reasonable quality.
It was delightful in a sort of hippiesque way but it was generally a trired pink motel in drastic need of refurbishment and felt a little like a hostel.
That said when you forgot about the price you had paid and chatted to some of the friendly managers it was a pleasent place to stay especially considering the dearth of decent places on this part of the coast.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jonworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2006

Although reciently renovated, this very old property was run down and lacked A.C. Our room was stuffy and was aquiped with only a standing fan. We wern't given the delux room they sold us when booking. When we complained, the general manager said "you got a good deal". The owner later insulted me in an e-mail. We were very disappointed overall. although well located, try a another hotel! There are many nicer places near by.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank polygrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2006

Our first stay in Avila Beach...the first of many to come!! We booked 2 rooms for 2 days at the Inn at Avila Beach. By far one of the most enjoyable vacation experiences ever. One of our rooms was an ocean view room, this room we had was setup with a very comfortable love seat and chaise located near the sliding glass door, so the ocean was always crashing in the background, even from our bed located closer to the entrance it was constant ambient noise (so great)! The staff was incredibly helpful and always friendly. After we left Avila Beach we went to San Diego and stayed in a 4 star Sheraton on Harbor Island and what a NIGHTMARE that was (This will be a different review) All we could think was how badly we wished we were still soaking up the ocean and relaxing atmosphere on the balcony of our room at the Inn at Avila Beach. As we were driving away, we were already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BOT918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2006

We took a mini-vacation in Avila Beach on Aug 9-11th 2006 and stayed at the Inn for the first time, it was wonderful! So beatifully decorated and inviting, comfortable. The staff was friendly, Edward, Joe, Amy, thank you so much! The family room was great. The roof-top deck is out of this world, already planning to go back next year. We took our teenagers and mom, they stayed in the family suite and we stayed in the ocean front room, it's the best. Next time we will try and reserve the owner's suite. Be sure to request a mexican-style decorated room to feel the whole experience. And you have to eat at least once in the great room. Just across the street from the beach, didn't have to worry about the kids or anything. Not the Hyatt, but better, small, funky and definitely fun and relaxing! Didn't want to leave. Can't wait to go back.

The Rucobo Family
Hercules, CA

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank bioradbythebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2006

OK, don't bail out on this one early, or you'll miss the happy ending. The wife and I usually stay in Pismo, but with almost all of the hotels controlled by the same corporate mastermind, setting the rates pretty high, we decided to try an unknown further north in Avila Beach.

When we first arrived, we were pretty impressed with the lobby area, nicely finished in heavy Mexican tile pavers, faux-painted walls and all kinds of knick-knacks decorating the entry. The front-desk was manned by "Edward" who was exceedingly friendly and took us on a tour to our rooms while the owner's son and a friend hopped our bags. They have a lounge area with a big-screen TV, internet access and a libray of books and VHS movies. So far, so good.

We got to our room, and holy cow...it had to be one of the worst hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. A converted apartment (the building was constructed in the late sixties, we found out later), the room layout was pretty nice, but the wallpaper was peeling from the wall, the roof was water-stained from some past leak, and the whole building seemed like it had shifted over the years, with the door frame askew and amateurish attempts to renovate the room. The linen and towels were excellent, though and the room was clean.

Strangely enough, the whole thing actually worked for me in some weird, quirky way. A room that I would normally have been demanding my money back on ended up being a comfortable place to stay, and since we had a 3rd floor front facing room, our balcony had an awesome view of the ocean, the beach below and the pier. I even slept outside on the balcony both nights until the crashing surf woke me up and I headed off to join the wife in the very comfortable queen bed.

They provide bottled water free, not like the two bucks one normally spends in the "honor bar". There is a refridgerator, microwave, coffee maker, TV and VCR, so hanging out in the room was pretty comfy. We left the slider open all the time and enjoyed a refreshing ocean breeze at all times.

The roof has ben converted to an observation/hang-out/party deck with several hammocks and tables. The surprise was the three living rooms they've constructed, kind of like a three-walled room complete with armoir, TV, chair and couch. Outdoor living space with a view!

In conclusion, the place has an old, beat-up but trying-hard charm about it. The room and the hotel was clean, the staff was friendly, and the views are awesome. I could pick the room and the hotel apart for hours, but we'll be back and I recommend that you try it, too!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank 12vBuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2006

Stayed here for several days the week of 7/24/2006. Brought our 3 kids. Yes, the rooms are a little older, but the service was good, the location can't be beat and we enjoyed all the "little things" that more than made up for the age of the place. The roof deck is great for a drink in the evening and the beach is directly across the street. We did not ask for nor want "discounts" and we pay cash and we knew what we were getting. If you're looking for the Biltmore, then please, stay elsewhere. But if you're looking for a great place to leave your car and spend time at the beach, then this place is for you. We had a slight housekeeping problem and they took care of it promptly and even threw in a bottle of wine. Nice people and a great atmosphere, just not for the "Hilton" folks I guess. We will definitley be back next year for a much longer stay....

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bulletproof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.2 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
744 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
844 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,448 reviews
5.1 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Avila Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Avila Beach

Address: 256 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range: £146 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Avila Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Avila Beach, your all inclusive oceanfront hotel! The Inn at Avila offers so much more than just room. Upon arrival, guests are gifted with a welcome beach bag filled local snacks and access to our complimentary check in reception with flat bread pizzas, salsa bar, libations, and blended ice drinks. Every night we end the day with our 8pm pie reception with homemade baked pie and ice cream. At the top of the hour, guests enjoy access to our rooftop coffee house for breakfast. All your favorite espresso drinks, croissants, egg dishes and our famous cinnamon rolls. Amenities also include beach cruisers, a freezer filled ice cream and popsicles, fresh fruit and fresh baked cookies all day. All of this and so much more is included, along with the best ocean view on the Central Coast of California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Inn at Avila Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Avila Beach Hotel Avila Beach
Hotel Avila Beach
Inn Avila Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing