We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good coffee friendly staff”
Review of Joe Momma's Coffee - CLOSED

Joe Momma's Coffee
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Presteigne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good coffee friendly staff”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

A really good cup of coffee and tasty pastry, a great start to the day. Obviously a popular place to go as the seats outside were full and only a few seats available inside.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TrellisMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    32
    17
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Avila Beach, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just a coffee shop, not a do again!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Love the name of the place, but that was about it.

The wife and I stopped in on 6-17-2014 at around 6:20 pm. Took a minute or two to get acknowledged by the guy that was cleaning the place before he stopped cleaning to take our order. No, "hello, how you doing"; just a, "what can I get you".

The so called "barista" never even said a word until he said the name of the coffee we ordered, signaling it was ready to be picked up, then not even a thank you. Coming from the LA / Orange County area, I am used to folks greeting you when you walk into their shop, unless it is real busy; we were only two of about six people in the shop.

The guy that took the order overcharged us; charging the price of a large for a medium, the coffee that was served was just barely hot so there was no need for a coffee sleeve, and I think I have had stronger coffee from instant. At least it had a tolerable taste, but by no means was it fit to be called a vanilla latte. My wife's white chocolate mocha was the same. She is not one to complain, but even she was surprised that a place the boldly states how good their coffee is, failed to meet her expectations and stated she found the service to be rude at best.

In my opinion, $10.00 for two cups of coffee, requires the coffee be something that is remembered for quality and the service should be great. I will say the building was clean and they have some good looking danishes, but I highly doubt I will return to give them a try.

Truly a sad thing, since this place is only one of three places to get coffee and they are so close to the water. They could easily be as good as the advertise they are.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TGPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAN JOSE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Have your coffee, and watch the dolphins”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Starbuck's eat your heart out.
Open early for those of us who can't as yet beat the early morning habit. Advantage is you can have your early morning coffee and watch the dolphins in the bay.
Really nice pastries. The (unfrosted) cinnamon rolls are very tasty without being overly sweet. The scones that we had were excellent. And the coffee was rich without the scorched taste. Plus, really close to an outstanding Inn.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carpinteria, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“How can a place so good be so bad?”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

To start off the coffee is great and service was polite and fun to talk to. So why do I use the word bad?

Well the owner can be a little rude, and when I say a little I mean a lot. We had bought coffees and food early in the morning and were now catching up on some studying when a man who announced himself as the owner told us we could not be loitering on his property.

I kindly explained we had bought food earlier but he would not listen. We just ended up leaving. My advise is to try it out and cross your fingers he isn't around.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cahotelguy, Owner at Joe Momma's Coffee, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
How can just few students ruin it for all rest ! We have only 24 seats ,unfortunately a small group students abuse not only our store but Avila restaurants, by ,bringing their own food,ordering pizza delivery,asking for hot water bringing own tea, making huge mess in bathroom,using drugs in bathroom, shoving two tables together and than camping out for hours ,while customers wait for tables to clear,put their muddy feet on chairs, table tops,
So if you are one of the above " poorly behaved children" ,we unfortunately have to be the mom or dad clearly you never had.and ask you to behave.
Most students are great but we are not a library,or study hall. Please if that's why you want to come
To beach ,go elsewhere ( but just alittle secret no one else in Avila wants that business either )
But if you do want great coffee, ocean views and staff that are passionate about coffee we your place .But if act like spoiled kid ,yes you will be asked to leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Coffee”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Need I say more? We stopped for a nice cup of coffee and a morning newspaper. This is the place. Sadly no wifi.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AKL61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joe Momma's Coffee also viewed

Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing