We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at Custom House,Avila Beach,CA”
Review of Custom House

Custom House
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Just steps away from the beautiful Avila Beach, Custom House offers a casual dining experience with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Come and have a drink at our cocktail bar, or dine on our patio while gazing out across the beautiful San Luis Bay. With favorites like fresh fish, hand cut steaks, refreshing salads and our specialty appetizers, our menu has something for everyone. Our food is prepared with the utmost attention to quality. We receive fresh meat, vegetables and fruit daily. With our kitchen only steps away from the ocean, we are able to serve the absolute freshest seafood available. At Custom House, an excellent dining experience is our top priority. Our Central Coast beach-side location holds beautiful views with a casual atmosphere, the perfect spot for a meal with family and friends.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lunch at Custom House,Avila Beach,CA”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Had a great lunch at Custom House. Staff were friendly and made some good recommendations on the menu. Big hearty meals and good value for your buck. We had the fish and chips and a turkey burger and its a place you could take friends or family without worry. It was a sunny afternoon and the tables outside were full. Inside the environment was laid back and cosy. Exactly what you want when you're on vacation. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a 'value for money' meal in a cool restaurant setting. Hope you enjoy when you're there,...we did.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank katubaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    311
    106
    28
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Food, reasonable prices”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This restaurant is dog friendly and heven has a dog menu. Unfortunately on the day that we stopped in the tap beer wasn't functioning and when I ordered a bottle of beer, the specific brand that I ordered was sold out. Not the best way to start a dining experience. I ordered a mixed drink with a lime and the drink arrived without the lime. I ordered a sandwich without tomatoes and it arrived with tomatoes. My wife and our accomanying friend split a sandwich and enjoyed the taste and proportion of the sandwich. The dog menu is great and offers a lot of choices. I am a local and feel that this is geared more towards tourists than locals. If they improved the attentiveness of their wait staff, they would do much better.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good food, good location”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

The Right on the Avila Beach boardwalk, this restaurant has great food, the fish was particularity good! Great views and if it is warm enough a good outdoor patio.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Addie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I love sitting at the bar and eating while watching the bowl bames!”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

It's great fun to eat at the bar and watch football playoffs. The staff is friendly and the food is super!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

We like eating at the Custom House and haven't had a bad meal there. Our server was great!! It was very busy when we were there but she was on top of everything and we never felt ignored. Food was very good - fish\chips excellent, onions rings very good.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Custom House also viewed

Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Custom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing