We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice, but.........” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avila Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avila Village Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
central valley of California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“nice, but.........”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2008

we stayed at the AV Inn over The New Years holiday. The place is
wonderful on details- good use of arts and crafts design, but
some thought of the actual USE of some of these design elements might have changed them somewhat.
First, the bathroom sinks. Nice color, nice aesthetically, but too low and bowl of sink not reachable unless you bent over to reach it. The bathtub- a deep, beautiful looking tub, but in order to turn on the
shower you had to step over the very high, thick tile edge to get into the tub to reach the faucet controls. No bars to grab as you straddled and hobbled over it. If you are elderly, of poor balance or handicapped in some way, this would be dangerous or impossible. Once in the tub to turn on the shower, you are stuck getting wet with cold water until it warms up. Doesn't help in trying to take a relaxing shower! Even if you move the shower head, you still get wet with the cold water unless you scramble out over the high, wide edge again.
The hot tub- nice idea, but once again, the wooden step to get into the tub was too low, so you had to straddle the tub, hope the people walking along the creek (agree with a previous review stating the disappointment of a dry creek bed covered by tree's and a playground set beside it- lousy view) don't see you in a embarrassing pose trying to swing into the water. We found if we used the low step to get up onto the patio chair, then into the tub it worked. PLEASE< get higher steps for your guests! This could be dangerous. We too had an overflow problem, hoping the poor people on the floor below weren't getting soaking wet by the water! There were no instructions on how the tub worked, how to program it, etc. The heater in our room cycled continuously throughout the night- not bothering me so much as my plant operations supervisor husband. We are experienced, nice hotel travellers.
We don't usually nit pick places to death, but found the Avila Villa Inn disappointing. They do have a nice looking wine bar, but that is only open Wed- Sundays. You would think that for NYeve, even having it open for guests a few hours would have been something a little special for those staying there. The Closest bar/restaurant is 7 minutes drive to Avila on a 2 lane winding dark road. It Would have been nice, convenient and safer to have the bar open a few hour's for the guests. A nice touch. Same with the light bkfst delivered to your door in the mornings- again, only on wkends. WOULD it have hurt to do this for your New Years Eve guests?!?!?!? We thought it was funny too that the guy working the desk on the evening of Jan. 1st didn't even go to the trouble of turning on the lovely lobby fireplace for the few of us who stayed behind for that night. We wondered- was too much bother for just a handful of guests-?- Seem's the whole operation was on down mode for a major celebratory holiday.
Ah........... word of mouth is a powerful thing when you are in the business of pleasing $200+ night guests. We did however appreciate the upgrade from the gal on check in. It was 3:10, our room not yet ready. The Inn was clearly not full, and she did offer the upgraded ready room. Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    126
    32
    9
    9
See reviews for
59
362
23
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2007

Our family of four, two kids ages 9 & 11, stayed at the Avila Village Inn over Thanksgiving. We had an incredible stay. We booked a suite with a sofabed for the kids. They loved the hot tub on our balcony. The room was quiet, even though the Inn was completely booked. The morning coffee and hot chocolate in the lobby is a nice treat. We used
the beach cruisers to bike to the beach at Avila. The Avila Bay Sports
Club next door is a nice treat with a great pool and ping pong for the
kids.

The highlight of our stay was the deli located next to the Inn. We had
the best breakfasts there each morning and the owner is delightful. She made the best muffins! I highly recommend the Avila Village Inn.

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — no microwave in room, breakfast and wine bar only on the weekends
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SanFranciscoMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2007

The service from check-in to check-out is exceptional. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

The pictures on the Inn's website are excellent but nothing can do the Inn or the room’s justice until you step into both. The Inn is in a peaceful and quite location and solid in construction; we heard nothing and the inn was full. The rooms have touches and details that only designer homes have.

We travel a lot and stay at the Four Seasons and the Ritz. These rooms actually are nicer then many we have stayed in at these 5 star hotels. The rooms are big, the furniture is high quality, the walls are painted in beautiful soft hues, and the beds are comfortable with bedding that fits the bed. The bathroom is huge with real stone tile flooring; the shower would fit at least 4 people and the double sinks that are made of stone. The towels are lush and large.

The hot tub outside on the balcony is a quite place to retreat to while in the most quiet and beautiful setting.

There are also DVD's at the front desk if you want to chill out in your beautiful room.

We love the butlers table at the outside hall entrance. In the morning there is a quite knock and when you open your door your delicious breakfast is presented in such a lovely way.

We have been staying in the Central Coast for over 3 years and this is truly the best find. I wish I could keep it a secret but that would not be fair to this magnificent Inn.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lani01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2007

This is a charming, privately owned property. The room was spacious, well appointed (robes, iron, refrigerator,coffee maker, wet bar) the grounds were lovely with a walking, bike path, a pretty nice athletic club available and wonderful beds.
I'd stay again and I will soon!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank jonswyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, Ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2007

My husband and I were looking to have a quite weekend and the Avila Village Inn was where we found it. Both the Inn and grounds were beautiful. And our room was absolutely wonderful- room big enough for two, large bathroom and a nice patio with a spa. They did say that our room faced the creek, but we neither saw nor heard any creek of any kind. Our only complaint was that the bed was a little uncomfortable. In the morning, they bring you breakfast of your choice, which is a great way to start your morning. And if you are in the mood for a larger breakfast, the market a few yards up has a great selection. I recommend going there in the morning; you can sit and drink your coffee while watching the runners run by you on the trail.

I would recommend this place to anyone looking for some much needed R&R!!

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrktngspclst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2007

We recently stayed at the Avila Village Inn (July 20-22, 2007). The Inn exceeded my expectations, the booking process did not.

We reserved our room back in April. About a week before our arrival, we learned from the bride/groom that our names were not coming up on the room block list at the hotel. Contacted the Inn and they couldn't find our reservations. I had to work with the hotel manager (who implied that I must have called and cancelled the room, because they don't just cancel themselves...argh) to reinstate the reservation.

Besides the booking snafu, we had an excellent stay at the Inn. It is very cozy, and decorated in a beautiful Arts & Crafts Style. The bathtub in our room was amazing! The staff was courteous and very friendly.

As part of the hotel stay, the guests have access to the Avila Bay Athletic Club & Spa. This would be my favorite feature of the hotel, and is a key differentiator to other lodging options in the area. I was able to use the pool, spa, sauna, and even take a yoga & pilates class (for free!). It was by far the best fitness arrangement / amenities have ever experienced at a hotel.

I also rented one of the vintage beach cruisers from the Inn. Avila Beach is a very short (maybe 1 mile?) ride away from the Inn. There is a beautiful and safe bike path that leads you down to the Beach. I would highly recommend renting one, if you stay at the hotel.

Overall, it was a great experience, and I would recommend the Inn to friends/family.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank rubysage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2007

We enjoyed our stay here. Decor of the property and rooms are very "bungalow", which is unique to us at least.
My husband and I attended college nearby and were looking for something different. We didn't need an ocean view or to be near SLO attractions.
Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable, and felt new. The staff was pleasant and accomodating. We had a nice weekend away from the kids and slept in two days in a row.
Only complaint, the "granola" delivered to our room for breakfast was actually broken up granola bars, the oats n' honey green wrapper bars you buy at any grocery store. That was a bit weird and cheesy.
In all, we'd stay there again.

  • Liked — decor, comfortable bed, quiet, spacious
  • Disliked — the "granola".
  • Stayed March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pnutbutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.9 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
1.0 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
4.9 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
5.0 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Village Inn

Property: Avila Village Inn
Address: 6655 Bay Laurel Place, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avila Village Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the charming Avila Valley, the Avila Village Inn provides a getaway for those seeking comfortable elegance. Whether it's a romantic weekend, anniversary, golf or spa vacation, the inn's craftsman-style architecture provides a serene visit to the Central Coast. Explore all nature has to offer in this secluded hamlet, or take a short drive to several area activities. Located off Highway 101, this upscale inn offers elegant comfortable rooms. Beautiful beaches, incredible golf, and fine dining establishments are all within a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Avila Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Village Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Village Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing