We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great Place!”
Review of Avila Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avila Village Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Love, Love, Loved this place! Great service, Clean comfortable rooms, huge bathroom! Simply a great place to stay. Located in a wooded canyon next to a country club. I defininately will stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VNSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
There are newer reviews for Avila Village Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

We only stayed here one night but would happily have stayed for longer.
Check-in was quick and friendly, and there are delicious homemade cookies to snack on.
the bed was huge and very comfortable, the hot tub on the balcony was lovely!
We spent the afternoon at the club next door and were really impressed with this. It had lots of facilities which would be great for families but we just used the pool and sun beds. We also had a super food salad which was tasty and reasonably priced.
The hotel recommended us a restaurant on the pier. I've forgotten the name but it's well known for its fresh seafood. We were lucky to get a table as we hadn't made a reservation and it's obviously a very popular spot , so best book in advance, especially at weekends.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarlsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Well, it was just perfect. There is a lovely paved path behind the hotel that will take you all the way to the beach, and it's a great walk past one of the most beautiful golf courses I have ever seen. It's a long walk (over a mile) but great exercise, and I loved it. The hotel is right next door to a great athletic club, and they give you a free pass. This club has everything (gorgeous heated lap pool) and it's worth staying at the hotel just to use the club. The staff at the front desk went out of their way to give me directions, instructions, etc. My room was large, beautifully decorated and 4 star all the way. Great value for the money. Delightful in every way :o)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GriffinCrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We live in San Luis Obispo. It's only a 10 minute drive to Avila Beach for us, but it's hard to go anywhere else when you live in such a great place. We occasionally like to have a night away and Avila is the perfect place to do that. I have lived in SLO for over 20 years and wasn't too familar with Avila Village Inn. I, of course, know about the bigger Avila hotels like Sycamore (which we love) and the La Fonda. Sycamore was a bit pricy for our last overnighter and we decided to give this property a try instead. It was great. The price was less. Yes, it's not Sycamore, but it was perfect for our overnighter. We first got a room with an outdoor hot tub overlooking the lawn. That wasn't too private and they kindly moved us to a room with a hot tub overlooking the Bob Jones trail. That was more private and just our speed. Be sure to request a room on the Bob Jones trail. This a nice, quiet little property for a get away. Clean and cozy.

Room Tip: If you are planning to spend a lot of time in Avila at the beach you will have to drive from this ho...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GirlyFromSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

From time to time, I am looking to find an ideal stop over on my way from Los Angeles to exploring California's Central Coast. The inn is in a very quaint setting in a sycamore laden canyon away from the coastal traffic. An ideal stop for the night. Its a couple miles away from the freeway and a mile or so from the beach. Perfect. The room had a jacuzzi hot tub on the balcony, under the sycamore trees. Another great addition to getting a good night's rest. The room was sophisticated and warm with a beautiful fireplace, comfortable bed and linens and to top it off a huge bathroom and very large tile and glass shower. I will return. Make sure to visit Avila beach and enjoy the sunset and views and immerse yourself in the serenity of this little hidden nook of nature.

Room Tip: I called the day before and asked for last minute special and got lucky!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackBJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I'm mixed on this place, the room was nice, comfortable and fairly well appointed. The inn itself was a little run down in my opinion. Floored really needed a vacuuming and/cleaning, a lot of spill stains. The room floors were not as bad. We stayed in room 110 which was on the creekside of the property. I strongly recommend requesting a room on this side as they are by far the most private especially if you're going to use the hot tub. If you're on the first floor, there can be a dripping from the floor above onto your deck due to their hot tub. Quite honestly, I wouldn't get in one just for sanitary reasons but that's just my weirdness. A very, very sad continental breakfast, but at least there were bagels or muffins and coffee/tea in the lobby. What really shows what I consider a lack of up keep is the outside of the hotel along the path one would take to get in the side entrance. There were artificial Xmas trees just tossed along the wall, obviously no one has bothered to put them away since the holidays. A broken hanging screen hanging from a second floor room and dead plants. I know this isn't a big deal, but it's just more of an indication of overall up keep. All in all, if you can get a good rate, it's probably worth the stay. Btw, the did have a fridge in the room, no coffee maker. What ever you do, don't get room 201, it's right next to the ice maker, I mean right at the door entrance.

Room Tip: The rooms can be dark on the ground floor creek side, try to get room 209, 210 or 211, they appear t...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ob23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We try to visit Avila beach every time we are in California for our holidays(twice a year), we have stayed in most of the hotels ( all great in their own ways) so I look for a good deal and will stay anywhere there, I booked the Avila village inn kind of knowing where it was and based on website pictures etc(tripadvisor reviews etc) .
We got a room with fireplace and jacuzzi on the balcony at a great price , when we arrived it was a wonderful surprize lovely craftsman style lodge reception , friendly helpful staff at check in desk, who seemed to work awfully hard including keeping breakfast and all day coffee stocked up and clean etc.
After we checked in and entered our room found it to be a delightful room , fireplace , wet bar , nice bathroom and the jacuzzi on the balcony ( the jacuzzi was even better than i expected) light included breakfast (cereals , juice , pastries and coffee) , swimming pools and sports centre next door included in price , entry to walk way that cuts through country park and golf course to availa beach (about a mile and a half) and thru to the port of san luis obispo(about 2 and a half miles) lovely way to start your day!!
Will stay again !!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a jacuzzi on your balcony !!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.9 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
873 reviews
1.0 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
744 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,448 reviews
2.6 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
844 reviews
5.0 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Village Inn

Address: 6655 Bay Laurel Place, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range: £133 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avila Village Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the charming Avila Valley, the Avila Village Inn provides a getaway for those seeking comfortable elegance. Whether it's a romantic weekend, anniversary, golf or spa vacation, the inn's craftsman-style architecture provides a serene visit to the Central Coast. Explore all nature has to offer in this secluded hamlet, or take a short drive to several area activities. Located off Highway 101, this upscale inn offers elegant comfortable rooms. Beautiful beaches, incredible golf, and fine dining establishments are all within a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Avila Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Village Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Village Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing