We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little tired looking”
Review of Avila Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avila Village Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
413 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“A little tired looking”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel based on its location as a half way point from SF to Santa Barbara.

Despite requesting a quiet room we were given a room on the lower level & had to listen to the guests above us thumping around.

The bathroom was spacious but really needs a make-over as does the tv....flat screen please!

The breakfast was similar to a holiday inn express breakfast...ie help yourself but for the $180 price tag & a drive from the beach I guess I expected more bang for buck.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Camnicsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    138
    33
    9
    9
See reviews for
65
447
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Absolutely a beautiful place to stay. We stayed the night before moving our daughter into her dorm at Cal Poly. The room was large and comfortable . Also a good size mini frig was perfect for the groceries we got the night before . A nice breakfast to get us ready for a busy day.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casabellatara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Olivos, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed four nights at this excellent hotel: beautiful arts and crafts style hotel/rooms: ours had a fireplace, wet bar, fridge, large double vanity bathroom with whirlpool tub, all beautifully decorated and with high attention to detail. Free breakfast provided as well as a tray of warm cookies in the afternoon, plus tea or coffee 24 hours a day. Guests receive complimentary membership in the gym next door which has a heated Olympic size swimming pool as well as a large fully equipped gym etc. Hotel sits right on the beautiful Bob Jones Bike Path, easy walk to Avila Beach etc. This hotel is a gem. Friendly staff, beautiful lobby, great rooms, terrific housekeeping, dog friendly, free parking and Internet, I could go on and on......will def be back!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ike03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for three nights on a trip for our 20th wedding anniversary. We initially were planning to stay at Sycamore Springs but switched to the Avila Village Inn after comparing reviews. We were not disappointed. The hotel was very quiet, perfect for a romantic getaway. The room was comfortable and nicely decorated and we enjoyed both the fireplace and the hot tub on the balcony. Free access to the health club next door was a nice bonus. The breakfasts are minimal but because we knew this from previous reviews we were able to plan accordingly. Both Avila Beach and San Luis Obispo are great and this place is ideally suited between both towns. We'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utahman1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful 3 days at the inn. Quiet, beautiful spot. Close to the beach, easy access to the quaint town of Avila beach. The adjacent tennis, spa, and pool facilities were very well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimc92270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

After a night camping on our honeymoon this hotel was such a nice surprise. We had tea and cookies on arrival and our room was lovely. We had a hot tub on the balcony, lovely bathroom and a great big bed! We even borrowed a film which was a great touch! Also, Avila beach was such a great find- we saw dolphins and it wasn't too busy!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Booked this hotel because of all the great reviews. Right from the start the staff was very friendly and helpful. Check-in was fast and easy. Our room was on the first floor right in front of the lobby, my husband and I were a little afraid the noise from the lobby would keep us awake but it turned out great. The room was a bit small, everything was clean, the fireplace in the room was a very nice touch. All in all it was a great experience. We will be staying here again no doubt about it!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ndaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.9 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
826 reviews
1.0 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
691 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,352 reviews
5.0 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,921 reviews
2.6 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Village Inn

Property: Avila Village Inn
Address: 6655 Bay Laurel Place, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Avila Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avila Village Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the charming Avila Valley, the Avila Village Inn provides a getaway for those seeking comfortable elegance. Whether it's a romantic weekend, anniversary, golf or spa vacation, the inn's craftsman-style architecture provides a serene visit to the Central Coast. Explore all nature has to offer in this secluded hamlet, or take a short drive to several area activities. Located off Highway 101, this upscale inn offers elegant comfortable rooms. Beautiful beaches, incredible golf, and fine dining establishments are all within a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Avila Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Village Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Village Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing