We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have stayed longer - Excellent”
Review of Avila Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avila Village Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2009

This was the fourth place we stayed when driving the PCH from San Francisco to Los Angeles and it was a very pleasant surprise. We booked it as a halfway house between Big Sur and Santa Barbara, but would have happily stayed for another day or two.
This is not on the beach, but I am sure that you get much more for your buck here than on the boardwalk.
It is clean, friendly and has very sizeable rooms with excellent bathrooms. The air con is a little noisy and is definitely needed despite it being relatively cold outside.
The gym and swimming facilities are better than almost anywhere else I have ever stayed - particularly the pool. These are not part of the hotel, but you have free entrance and it is only next door. I woke up at 8am and went swimming in an outdoor laned 25-metre pool and was the only person in the pool. This was after a 5k run at the gym. I can't say I've ever had those facilities anywhere else and definitely not for the price we've paid.
The two or three people we spoke to on the desk were all excellent and genuinely friendly. They were happy to help at all times.
We took bikes and took the mile-long trail behind the hotel down to Avila promenade, which is also strongly recommended.
My only criticism of the place is its green credentials. I think they should lose the disposable plates, cups and cutlery for breakfast.
I would also strongly recommend eating at the Old Port Inn at the end of the 3rd Pier.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teigester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

636 - 642 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2009

I stayed here for one night recently and wish I would of had time to stay longer. This is not an ordinary hotel and has a cozier, friendly atmosphere. I arrived before noon and thought I'd check and see if maybe my room was available. As luck would have it, I was given my room card and up to the second floor I went. When I opened the door I was so happy to see the room in perfect shape and it looked just like the pictures on their website. Bathroom had a large jacuzzi tub/shower combo, and a two sinks.. Nicely decorated too. In the living room a wet bar with a coffee maker, small fridge and wine buckets with two wine glasses. The lighting in the room gave you many options and the bedding was very luxurious. The view I had was of the hills with the estate homes and some of the tennis courts across the way, although the property has so many trees you didn't notice them that much.
I could go on and on but I feel many reviewers have already mentioned the other amenities offered on the property. I will definitely be coming back here in the near future!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2009

My husband and I chose this hotel to stay at in August 2008. We went to California for my older brother's wedding, as well as a getaway for our own two year anniversary.

We absolutely loved the Inn. We both work at a resort and so we have expectations and know exactly what to look for.

The rooms were CLEAN. We had a creek side room with the hot tub outside. It was beautiful. Maybe a bit small but I actually liked that about the room. The fireplace in the room was a GREAT touch. Being in Louisiana, I am used to wet heat... California was a bit chilly for me so I LOVED the fireplace! The bathrooms were HUGE. The shower in the bathroom was VERY clean and had a great ledge to sit. Beautiful bathroom. the TV was at a bit of an odd angle but that is because the room is a bit small. no big deal to me.

I didn't get to use many of the amenities, but one thing that I did like was the fridge in the room. We had bought some fruit from a local stand and i was glad for the fridge.
Also the little store a was a great thing. We bought some great crackers and smoked gouda there to snack on with our fruit. Also, the coffee stand in the lobby was the best. Plenty of teas and coffee all day (and night!) along with snacks like biscotti (which was the BEST i have had in a LONNG time... would love to order a case!)

The service was the best I could ask for. Our trip was cut short by a hurricane heading straight for my city. We had to leave early to evacuate our handicap relative. The employees at the Inn were VERY helpful. They managed (in 5 minutes time) to get us phone numbers to get our flights changed, directions to quickly get back to LA and catch our flight, and also did not charge us for the night even though we were leaving WELL after check out.

There was nothing that I did not enjoy about this Inn. The staff was great, the location was quiet, everything was perfect (except for the Hurricane i had to run home for!)

I recommend this hotel to ANYONE who is going to that area. No, it is not on the beach.. but it is 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel when we were in town for a wedding. We had a wonderful time! The Hotel is small and charming with a very attentive staff. It was valentines day and my husband and I didn't want to fight the crowds eating out so we phoned the front desk to ask if they knew of any places that would offer delivery. The concierge not only gave us the names of local eateries but brought by the menus with in a few minutes. Our every care was addressed and we felt very pampered. The morning breakfast was also great and had good selection for a continental breakfast. We hiked down a trail adjacent to the hotel that ran along the San Luis Creek toward the ocean. It was a beautiful walk and very peacefull. The hotel is located in a costal valley and is very very quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mora-Dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

My boyfriend and I had a relaxing and romanitc two night stay at the Avila Village Inn. The rooms were very nice and cozy. We had a jacuzzi on the deck ..with disco lighting :-). We were on the second floor which was a little more private than the first floor rooms. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant, but there's dining nearby in SLO and Pismo beach. The Inn has morning coffee and a continental breakfast which was a perfect way to start the day. The hotel had a couple beach cruisers that we road down a trail to Avila beach, a tiny little town which was pretty empty this time of year. There is a nice fitness club and spa next door that all guests have access too, but we didn't get a chance to use it. There were plenty of wineries and scenic areas nearby to keep us busy. Kelsey See Canyon Vineyards was just one of several quaint little places we visited. If you are up for a no frills steakhouse, with amazing meats, check out Jackos about 15 miles south of Avila. It's a little hole in the wall locals joint, but the steak was amazing. All in all the trip was great and we hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teewanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

The man at the front desk, did not know what he was doing. Soooo rude! He couldnt even find our reservation #. He obviously is not capable to give even Satisfactory Service.
He put a bad presedence on the hotel. I called the supervisor twice and he never returned our call!!! So many other hotels to stay at but not this one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank knmrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2009

We trust TripAdvisor ratings, and they sure were right this time too. I realize reviews from a couple years ago were poor, but apparently ownership changed. This place is great. Our room (210?) was in a corner facing the healthclub and the mountains. The room was perfectly equipped, lovely bathroom, comfy bed, neat window-seating area, etc. Breakfast was excellent. the trail that runs between the inn and the creek is a great place for a picturesque walk. Everything about the place is great. Be aware it is not at the beach; it is 1+ miles away...and that was swell. It was quiet and not touristy, which we appreciated. Pismo Beach, Shell Beach, and San Luis Obispo are all close by, so Avila Village Inn is in an ideal location.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OCGuyOrangeCountyCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
1 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
793 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
560 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
873 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,529 reviews
4.9 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Village Inn

Address: 6655 Bay Laurel Place, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Price Range: £105 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avila Village Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the charming Avila Valley, the Avila Village Inn provides a getaway for those seeking comfortable elegance. Whether it's a romantic weekend, anniversary, golf or spa vacation, the inn's craftsman-style architecture provides a serene visit to the Central Coast. Explore all nature has to offer in this secluded hamlet, or take a short drive to several area activities. Located off Highway 101, this upscale inn offers elegant comfortable rooms. Beautiful beaches, incredible golf, and fine dining establishments are all within a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Avila Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Village Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Village Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing