We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a nice weekend get-a-way and some peace and quiet from the hustle and noise of the city. We were basically happy with our stay but for two things.
The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast as part of your stay and unfortunately, both mornings I found a long black hair in my Danish. Now I know this can happen but what are the odds of it happening twice? Perhaps hair nets might be in order.
Secondly, the hotel apparently rents out their banquet hall and while we were there, a wedding reception was going full swing, loud music and shouting, until 9:00p.m. This was very disappointing to say the least. Perhaps they should inform their guests of this when making reservations. Otherwise, it's a beautiful spot to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dutchgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
There are newer reviews for Avila Lighthouse Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2011

We planned a trip up the coast for our 5th anniversary. We stayed in Sun Luis Obispo, Shell Beach and Avila Beach. Your hotel was by far the best experience of the entire trip. We loved the location, the friendly staff and the incredible suite. The suites are huge, bright and cheery and very clean!
We will be back!

Room Tip: The King oceanfront suite was awesome!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snobunny99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Beautiful hotel in a newly remodeled beach town. The suites are very roomy with a seperate living area with couch, tv, fridge, microwave and sink. Bedroom has its own tv, table and chairs. Lots to keep the kids busy (pool, jacuzzi, ping pong, giant checkers, puttting green). Complimentary breakfast is very convienient with cereal, fruit, yogurt , homemade waffles and more. The beach front rooms are fabulous but even the other rooms provide a beautiful view. The Farmer's Market on Fridays from 4-8pm is fantastic. Very nice hotel for all ages.

Room Tip: Rm103-right next to checkers, ping pong & pool
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingBFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

My husband and I celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary here. Because this was such a milestone anniversary I wanted to make sure the hotel I selected was absolutely perfect. The Avila Lighthouse Suites met my criteria. We stayed in the King Suite - Ocean View. And what a view it was! Breathtaking. Kept the balcony door open most of the time so we could hear and smell the ocean all night long. Bed was VERY comfortable and the room was spacious and clean. The refrigerator has ample room to bring meals or snacks and there is a microwave and sink. The Continental breakfast is fine, just bring the hard boiled eggs back to your room and warm them up. Our next visit will include our children as the access to the beach is so close (no stairs to take) and there is a swing set and slide on the beach by the hotel. The pool will be used too!! You won' t be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_D_Sanchez0316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

I was on a business trip and in transit between LA and SF. I was happy to find the Avila Beach area. I booked a one night reservation at the Lighthouse Suites which is right across the street from the beach. It had nicely quainted rooms. Only suggestion for hotel would be to upgrade the pillows and sheets.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockyfletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I frequently visit san Luis Obispo for work and often stay at quality suites in SLO. I decided to try Avila lighthouse suites out from a recommendation. What an amazing beach property that was same price as a SLO suite but without the view. Robes were a nice addition. Only complaint was thin bedspread which was still ok. Paid 116, with quality suites I pay 115

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLOgirl858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

My spouse and I go to Avila Beach every year in February to celebrate her birthday and get away from the daily grind in a "laid-back" atmosphere (small town) and to enjoy some of the best fish dinners and wine tasting in the area. This was our first stay at the Avila Lighthouse Suites and we were not disappointed. The room was as advertized with a small seating area with TV and a wet bar (refrigerator and microwave oven) connected by a short hallway to the bedroom. All the areas were spotlessly clean with a nautical decorator's touch (including the unique lamps). We had the unobstructed ocean view from our bedroom and if the weather had been a little warmer we could have left the sliding door to the porch open and listened to the waves all night. We were fortunate that we were staying "off season" and the property wasn't that full of noisy beachgoers as the walls could have used a little more insulation. The free breakfast in the Galley Room offerd everything from cereal to sweet rolls to waffles to juices and coffee. We didn't get the chance to try out the pool but it was as sparkling clean as the rest of the grounds. The abriviated town of Avila was a short walk out the door and down the block. I should add that parking was underground with elevators to the floors.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bakersfield-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
1.0 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,016 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,448 reviews
2.9 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Lighthouse Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Lighthouse Suites

Address: 550 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range: £159 - £398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avila Lighthouse Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the sand, the Avila Lighthouse Suites is perfectly nestled in the quaint beach town of Avila Beach between the mountains and the sea. Our all-suite beachfront hotel offers comfortable and spacious two-room suites, each with a private balcony or patio to admire the beautiful views. Guests enjoy a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, parking, spa services at our on-site spa facility, beachfront heated pool and Jacuzzi and family play areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Avila Lighthouse Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Lighthouse Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Lighthouse Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing