We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love It!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love It!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

I stayed in room 214. Second floor is the way to go for a clear ocean view. See my photos..
Loved the great location, lots of room for just a couple, bathrobes, I-pod docking alarm clocks. When I checked in they gave me free wine tasting passes to two local tasting rooms both walking distance!!
I really love all this Hotel has to offer and the only thing I would think they can improve on is a nicer greeting when you arrive. Other than that I would recommend this hotel to all my friends!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    145
    55
    15
    14
See reviews for
345
201
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

The hotel and grounds, including the pool and spa area are beautiful and well maintained. The suite was also very nice and roomy and quiet. The bathroom was large with 2 sinks, big tub. Nice little kitchen area (which we didn't need, but liked) with a sink, large mini fridge, coffee mugs and glassware. Right at the beach, which is also so pretty. Encountered several front desk people in our 2 days there and they were all very friendly and helpful. Our remote for one of the tv's was dead and within a couple of minutes a very friendly man appeared with another one. The only negative about the trip is that we had to leave after 2 nights. The town and the hotel were both too cute and peaceful. A very relaxing visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy California Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

I booked an ocean view room for my daughter and her husband, for their anniversary. I specifically requested an "Ocean View" three times, and was told "No problem" during the confirmation process.
When they checked in , however, they were given ground floor, dead center behind the pool; so their "view" was the plexi glass encasing the pool area. When they went to the desk to request a change, they were nastily told, "that is Ocean View" ..... so moving right along, when they hung the "Clean the Room" sign , the work was never done!!
Although the Ocean location is enticing , don't expect toget what you requested and paid for, or good service.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sxmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2009

We had a fabulous time at the Lighthouse Suites. The suite was a bit cramped feeling, but still larger than a typical room. The hotel pool was nicely maintained and pleasant. The beach is awesome - gentle surf and lots of sand. There is a playground right next to the hotel. This hotel attracts lots of families, so probably not the place for a romantic getaway (although there was a wedding party staying there when we were there). The breakfast was ok, not great and the breakfast room was cramped. There were not allowing any early check-in when I was there.

The beach gets very crowded on hot days and the parking in the town is limited. The hotel has a parking garage, but if you have guests, they might be hard pressed to find a place to park.

Nice trendy places to eat nearby, within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

It was our first family vacation with 2 kids (2 yr old and 2 month old). The experience was great. Check-in was quick, and they upgraded us to an oceanfront suite for free. Our room was very clean and ltterally steps away from the beach. I sat on the patio and enjoyed people watching during the day and sounds of the waves at night. This hotel is right in the middle of all the excitement: park, beach, playground, shops, pier.

We took advantage of all the amenities the hotel had to offer. The free breakfast was a life saver because we didn't have to pack our kids up each morning and go to a restaurant. I was able to go to the galley and bring back breakfast for the family. The breakfast offered cereal, dounuts, bagels, bread, fruit, hot mini waffles, yogurt, juice and coffee.

Enjoyed it so much, I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonG20t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, Ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

We booked an ocean front room for 3 nights. Left after 1. Room was small. You can hear every word from other guests. Room was not very clean. With all that said- Our son is an extremly light sleeper. Wife is very picky. The view and location is great. Steps from the beach. Most people would like the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WJA2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

My husband and I traveled to Avila Beach for the first time for a wedding and thought the cute, little beach town was beautiful! We drove from Huntington Beach without our 3 kids and arrived at 1:00 p.m. and even though check-in isn't until 4, we were able to do early check-in, ate at the restaurant next door, The Custom House?, and they called us by 2:15 letting us know the room was ready. We were lucky and received room 218 so we had a beautiful view of the pool and ocean. The pictures online make it seem like the grounds are a lot bigger than they are, so don't expect it to be a huge hotel. Also, there aren't any bellhops, but they have the carts in the elevator. We were only staying one night, so we didn't have a lot of luggage. One bummer was I wanted to work out the next morning and the battery for the key was dead so I couldn't get in because maintenance didn't arrive until 7 a.m., but it allowed me to jog around the beach and I felt very safe. I also checked the key when I got back, and it was already fixed. The weather the weekend of May 30th was also very overcast and it was very windy and cold. Loved the cute nautical decor, granite counters for bathroom and very small kitchen area, and Bath & Body Works in the bathroom. There was also a farmer's market Friday night, and Saturday there was an art show right in front of the hotel. I would recommend booking on their website because the price was less expensive than travel websites.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cleggtchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.1 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
1.0 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
5.3 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
2.9 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#12 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Lighthouse Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Lighthouse Suites

Property: Avila Lighthouse Suites
Address: 550 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avila Lighthouse Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the sand, the Avila Lighthouse Suites is perfectly nestled in the quaint beach town of Avila Beach between the mountains and the sea. Our all-suite beachfront hotel offers comfortable and spacious two-room suites, each with a private balcony or patio to admire the beautiful views. Guests enjoy a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, parking, spa services at our on-site spa facility, beachfront heated pool and Jacuzzi and family play areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avila Lighthouse Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Lighthouse Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Lighthouse Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing