We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hotel in a picturesque location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Terrific hotel in a picturesque location”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We drove up the coast from LA to Avila Beach as a small weekend getaway. We chose this hotel as it had great reviews and looked nice online. We were blown away at how terrific our experience was and definitely want to come back soon.

The hotel staff was very helpful and really gave the hotel a personal touch. It is NOT a B&B but offered coffee, fresh homemade croissants, a lunchtime snack, afternoon wine tastings, and fresh homemade pies. Everything we tried was incredible! At the suggestion of the hotel, we tried Ocean Grill, which is located with a waterfront view. The food was excellent and would recommend again.

Avila Beach in general is a gorgeous area and I want to explore more on our next trip.

Room Tip: When booking, the reservation clearly states either a regular bed or murphy bed. If you perfer one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissLSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avila_La_Fonda_Hotel, General Manager at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear MissLSeattle,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that your experience was just what you needed! We strive to provide an outstanding experience for each and every guest and are so glad to hear that your recent trip to Avila Beach was no exception. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christopher King | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    104
    25
    22
    12
See reviews for
101
601
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ojai, California
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This hotel, a block from the beach, is about 2 years old and the brain child of two local entreprenuers. Their vision was to come up with a hotel that was different than the "chain" variety hotel and one that fit in with its surroundings. Their quest was right on in making it different in a good way...but as far as fitting in with its environment... they missed the boat by a wide margin. A Mexican/early California style, certainly in my estimation, does not fit in with the coastal setting in which it is located. With that said however, this is a terrific place to stay!

As others have said, the quality of the hotel, its staff and its offerings are just about as good as it gets. There are a few different offerings in rooms: A Spa Room, A Great Room and the 1200 SF Owner's Suite. You can read about the differences on the hotels web site.

We tried the Spa Room. All of the furnishings and art work were of "quality" materials. The room had, of course a jetted two person tub in a corner of the room with large mirrors on two sides. There is a King bed a large entertainment center with a refrigerator, microwave, DVD player and approximately 50 inch flat screen TV. The room has a fireplace and air conditioning unit which appears to be an add-on after construction. There is a nice balcony with table & chair. The room has a desk and complimentary wireless internet connection and a goodie basket of water, soda and treats. There are two robes but no safe for locking valuables.

The bathroom is large with a large two person shower with six spray jets. There is plenty of lighting and it includes a high-tech coffee maker that grinds the complimentary beans (both regular & decaf) and puts out very hot coffee.

The hotel has a nice library of books and DVD's. They also provide a pantry with drinks, snacks and sundries all for purchase at cost. Beach chairs, beach umbrellas and beach towels are all provided and complimentary. Free parking is provided which is a huge plus especially in summer time when the town fills up.

I won't go into the numerous freebie food & drink offerings of the hotel which is adequately covered in other reviews. It really is quite unbelievable and the best part it is all top quality. I believe much of it comes from Costco. The wines they served were great by my tastes.

The young folks serving as receptionists...Matt, Chris, Joe and a young lady whose name I did not get were great. We were there two nights and three days and they treated us like family. They were great. During check-out they presented us with a couple gifts. House keeping was another story and could have used a little motivation.

Rates fluctuate widely depending on demand. If you are a Costco member make sure you request it's discount. It is a whopping 20%.

If you plan on visiting the Central Coast, this makes a great place to stay!

Room Tip: I don't think it makes a difference which side of the hotel you stay on. We faced the parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlOjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avila_La_Fonda_Hotel, General Manager at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear CarlOjai,

It was such a pleasure having you and your wife here with us recently. The staff and I commented on what a pleasure it was to chat with you each morning. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Christopher King | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

More than just a place to sleep. Great room offers and freebies that are unbelievable. Croissants for breakfast, nachos at noon, wine at 5:00 and pie and 8:00, all with excellent service from the staff. A welcome basket in the room loaded with what others charge for in their mini-bar. We will definitely return and suggest that you give this place a look. The beach is a block away, free underground parking, and great suggestions from the staff, you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies have a nice sunny location on the south side. There is one corner with a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1001Randy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avila_La_Fonda_Hotel, General Manager at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear 1001Randy,

Thank you for your wonderful review. As a Senior Contributor to TripAdvisor you are providing others with a wonderful gift whenever you leave a review, be it good or bad. I sincerely appreciate your taking the time to let others know about your recent experience at the Avila La Fonda Hotel. I am so pleased to hear that the staff and amenities were up to par with your expectations and hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future.


Kind regards,

Christopher King | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed two days right after Christmas. The hotel was beautiful, well-kept, and a minute walk from the beach. The hotel staff was extremely helpful, and we received expert advice and care from Jean and others members. The snacks and other treats were a great touch.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avila_La_Fonda_Hotel, General Manager at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Jim R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased to hear that your recent visit to the La Fonda was everything you expected. We hope to be your number one choice for all future visits to beautiful Avila Beach.

Kind regards,

Christopher King | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I love Trip Advisor for helping me find a place like this! All of the positive reviews are right. Croissants in the morning, Nachos in the afternoon, cocktail reception, and fresh pies. Great personalized service from everyone here. I had some email correspondence with the staff beforehand as it was my mini honeymoon and they were amazing. Bottle of champagne, they arranged for a King Spa room which was awesome. Service was awesome. Joe at the front desk was friendly and helpful as was everyone else we came into contact with. I would DEFINTELY recommend the Avila La Fonda to anyone wanting to go to the central coast. Steps from the water and the sea lions:)!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fantom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avila_La_Fonda_Hotel, General Manager at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Fantom21,

Thank you for your review! So often we are faced with hotels and restaurants who claim to be something they are not. When we are misinformed about our lodging choices we are forced to "deal" with out choice and I am so happy when I hear a guest say that they got what they expected and then some. I am so happy to hear that Joe was especially helpful and accommodating during your stay. He is one of the reasons the La Fonda is so special! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christopher King | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
655 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

A charming hotel in this small seaside town, one block from the beach, what sets Avila la Fonda apart from other hotels in the area is it's authentic Mexican design, varied room options, super-friendly service and offerings (from wine and cheese nightly (at 5:00 pm) to pie (at 8:00 pm) to croissants for breakfast and a noon nacho bar. The town was very quiet on a late December evening with few dining options so the extras at the hotel were appreciated. DVD loaner service and welcome amenity basket were great too. And if you want to cook, you can get a room with a kitchen.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eat-Sleep-Walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avila_La_Fonda_Hotel, General Manager at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Eat-Sleep-Walk,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We so enjoyed your simple yet descriptive description of our hotel. We strive to provide a unique and charming experience for each and every guest and are so pleased to learn that you were no exception. As a Senior Contributor to TripAdvisor with over 257 reviews it's nice to know a seasoned traveler such as yourself found our hotel to be worthy of such a nice review. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christopher King | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I brought my girlfriend here last weekend for a special anniversary/early Christmas celebration. As you can tell by the "cinco estrellas" rating, we LOVE this charming and romantic inn and its amazing Avila location. Being a lame keystroker, I will defer with a hearty "YES" to all of the other rave reviews already posted that quite properly list all of the amenities to be enjoyed by pampered guests at this boutique inn.

The front desk crew were SUPER nice and friendly, esp. Morgan and Joe, who even asked my sweetie what kind of pie from Avila Barn she would prefer that he bake that night. He reminded her that whipped cream and ice cream were available for topping, too. (Major point score!!)

Yes, the culinary offerings of the inn are amazing, starting with the cold Coronas and nachos, then the appies with Vina Robles wines, then the fresh-baked pies in the evening and then the warm croissants (inc. chocolate) and gourmet coffee in the morning. If you require more sustenance, chocolate chip cookies and coffee are available down off the lobby all day and night.

While downstairs, we spent some time taking in the classy and festive holiday decorations and beautiful Christmas tree, both in private and while we chatted with the charming staff, who seemed as if they could not do enough to make us feel welcome.

Of course, we came to spend some "just us" privacy, and a big snack tray, waters, sodas and a Cuisinart grinder/brewer were in the room for when we chose to stay in and play in our spa tub with fireplace, throwing on our soft hooded robes only when we went out to our little deck to come up for some fresh air. Oh, and those his/hers 6 headed showers were awesome, too. Did I mention "romantic?"

We never needed the diversion, but they do offer a huge library of DVDs to watch on your flat screen TV and a BOSE sound system in each room too. They even gave us cool stemless wine glasses to take home and a lovely parting gift when we checked out.

I have a feeling we just decided on a new annual holiday tradition, so if you are going to check it out for yourself, please don't book during mid-December. We want Room 212 again next year.

Cheers to you and the staff at Avila la Fonda! Merry Christmas to all!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avila_La_Fonda_Hotel, General Manager at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Rhonely,

iGracias! We all got a kick out of your very appropriate Mexican themed review and wanted to say thank you for taking the time to let us, and others know about your recent experience at the Avila La Fonda Hotel. One doesn't have to do much research on our website, they should just read your very informative review. I am so pleased that you were able to enjoy the many things that make our Inn so special. We look forward to another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Kind regards,

Christopher King | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.1 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
705 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,371 reviews
5.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,951 reviews
2.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila La Fonda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila La Fonda Hotel

Property: Avila La Fonda Hotel
Address: 101 San Miguel Street, PO Box 217, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila La Fonda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avila La Fonda isn't merely a hotel; it is an experience that transports you to a 19th-Century Mexican Village. The Inn is completely new and features an intimate design inspired by traditional Spanish and Mexican architecture. Colorfully adorned with eight Casita style facades, and inspired by eight actual homes in Mexico, the Inn takes on an old world style all its own. From the intricate stained glass windows, which were custom made to depict scenes from the local area, to the many delightful fountains; guests are surrounded by unparalleled luxury and beauty at every turn. Located one short block from the Pacific Ocean, our boutique hotel features twenty-eight elegantly appointed rooms and suites, each featuring a Jacuzzi tub for two, multiple-head shower, fireplace, and a 48-Inch HDTV. Rich furnishings partnered with warm colors, and stunning artwork help to create refined luxury in an inviting atmosphere. Prepare to enjoy countless pleasures and culinary delights from the moment you step through the doors. Our evening wine reception is the perfect time for our guests to change gears and prepare for a restful and indulgent stay-featuring hot and cold appetizers, hors d'oeuvres, two local wines and scrumptious desserts, our wine reception is held every evening from 5-6:30PM. Enjoy fresh baked pie from locally renowned Avila Valley Barn every evening from 8-10PM. Add a scoop of ice cream, a glass of milk, and a cup of our award winning Intelligentsia(C) Coffee to create the perfect evening indulgence!Each morning guests are encouraged to rise early to enjoy fresh baked chocolate chip croissants, award winning Intelligentsia(C) Coffee and fresh organic orange juice!Don't checkout just yet! Our nacho bar is held daily from 12-2PM featuring Coronitas and fresh-fruit margaritas!For those late night cravings be sure to visit our 24-Hour Chocolate Pantry. Candy bars, soups, snacks, sodas, water, energy drinks, sundries and toiletries all sold AT OR BELOW COST! We are pet friendly and are a couples retreat hotel. If you are traveling with anyone under the age of 18, please contact us directly for alternative accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Avila La Fonda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila La Fonda Beach
Avila La Fonda Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing