We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentines Day Romance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

As we needed to be in the area for the weekend, I thought it would be a perfect opportunity to turn it into a romantic surprise for my husband - and Avila La Fonda did not disappoint. Their package upgrade to the spa room (jacuzzi in room) I booked, offered rose petals to be sprinkled around the room and a box of chocolates which were placed within the rose-petaled heart shape in the center of the queen sized bed.

We arrived in Avila Beach a bit later than I anticipated and since it was past lunch time as we were passing through town we stopped off at a large road side farm house entering the town where we purchased delicious sandwiches and fruit that we sat down to eat in front of the warm fireplace in the small lobby after checking in at La Fonda. Very cozy which set the atmosphere for our stay.

My husband went ahead of me to go to the room but was thought we were given the wrong pass cards as he was shocked to find people in there - that was the next surprise - the in-room couples massage I'd also arranged at the hotel's advertising. A great decision as Eldonna Edwards and her associate were fantastic. I personally had Eldonna as my therapist and found her massage to be among the best I've ever had the pleasure to receive, truly therapeutic and personalized. I opted to have the hot towels added and it was divine. Honestly a reason to consider returning to the area again, to simply have the pleasure of her services!

La Fonda offers an evening wine tasting with simple hors d'oeuvres spread out at 6; nothing fancy but considering our late lunch actually sufficient enough for us to decide to forgo dinner and simply spend the rest of the evening to explore the small but quaint town and top off the evening with a drink at one of the local wine tasting galleries. We'd have considered renting a movie in the room, like the one with James Gandolfini that recently came to pay per view, but there is no such offering at the hotel which would have been nice.

We arose early the next morning to the delightful aroma of the freshly baking croissants - however, since we were on the ground floor not far from the kitchen, we also awoke to the sounds of the kitchen! But we used that to our advantage to get up and take a walk down the pier and spend some time relaxing listening to the in room Bose radio before departing to stroll through downtown San Luis Obispo and enjoy a late creekside brunch at Novo, recommended by the hotel staff.

The amenities at the hotel are similar to what one would find at a B&B in that the kitchen is open to guests, with freshly baked cookies and/or pies and refreshing cold fruit-flavored water throughout the day. I learned the hard way that the ice machine in the refrigerator wasn't working (after attempting and creating a mess of ice on the floor after opening the freezer) and that there were ice machines at the end of the hallways to get ice from instead. The thermostat controls were also a bit confusing to master. And being on the ground floor with the sliding door (no outdoor sitting area) facing the road made privacy difficult to allow to have the curtains open as well as increased noise levels if one is interested in sleeping late or afternoon naps. Underground parking is offered to guests but appears limited.

Overall a nice stay during off-season in a beach resort town.

Room Tip: For increased privacy and quieter rooms, suggest booking upper level and not facing main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avila_La_Fonda_Hotel, General Manager at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear SueRN,

I want to thank you so much for taking the time to let us, and others know about your recent stay with us! As a Senior Contributor to Trip Advisor I am so thankful to people like you who take the time to inform others about their experiences.

By providing an unbiased review of hotels, restaurants, and activities you are really providing a gift for others when they are deciding on future travel plans. As you know issues do arise from time to time and mistakes can happen. I sincerely appreciate you being so understanding regarding the mishap that occurred during your stay.

It sounds like overall your experience was a positive one. Again, thank you so much for letting us know about your experience.

Best regards,

Christopher King | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here one nite. Mediterranean style was authentic and lovely, hotel is 2 yrs old., Clean, friendly staff, great wine for happy hour, comfortable, yummy chocolate croissants for breakfast! One block from the beach! We went out late for dinner, missed the homemade pies :-( The hotel has washer/dryer free of charge available in the evening - 10pm! DO NOT waste your time going to the Madonna Inn, old, poor food quality...weird!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Getup n g o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avila_La_Fonda_Hotel, General Manager at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Getup n g o,

I wanted to take the time to thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear about your experience and are pleased that you were able to take advantage of some of the things that make the La Fonda so special. Hopefully you can come visit again in the near future and try some of the locally renowned pie from the Avila Valley Barn!

Kind regards,

Christopher King | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We drove up the coast from LA to Avila Beach as a small weekend getaway. We chose this hotel as it had great reviews and looked nice online. We were blown away at how terrific our experience was and definitely want to come back soon.

The hotel staff was very helpful and really gave the hotel a personal touch. It is NOT a B&B but offered coffee, fresh homemade croissants, a lunchtime snack, afternoon wine tastings, and fresh homemade pies. Everything we tried was incredible! At the suggestion of the hotel, we tried Ocean Grill, which is located with a waterfront view. The food was excellent and would recommend again.

Avila Beach in general is a gorgeous area and I want to explore more on our next trip.

Room Tip: When booking, the reservation clearly states either a regular bed or murphy bed. If you perfer one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissLSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avila_La_Fonda_Hotel, General Manager at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear MissLSeattle,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that your experience was just what you needed! We strive to provide an outstanding experience for each and every guest and are so glad to hear that your recent trip to Avila Beach was no exception. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christopher King | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This hotel, a block from the beach, is about 2 years old and the brain child of two local entreprenuers. Their vision was to come up with a hotel that was different than the "chain" variety hotel and one that fit in with its surroundings. Their quest was right on in making it different in a good way...but as far as fitting in with its environment... they missed the boat by a wide margin. A Mexican/early California style, certainly in my estimation, does not fit in with the coastal setting in which it is located. With that said however, this is a terrific place to stay!

As others have said, the quality of the hotel, its staff and its offerings are just about as good as it gets. There are a few different offerings in rooms: A Spa Room, A Great Room and the 1200 SF Owner's Suite. You can read about the differences on the hotels web site.

We tried the Spa Room. All of the furnishings and art work were of "quality" materials. The room had, of course a jetted two person tub in a corner of the room with large mirrors on two sides. There is a King bed a large entertainment center with a refrigerator, microwave, DVD player and approximately 50 inch flat screen TV. The room has a fireplace and air conditioning unit which appears to be an add-on after construction. There is a nice balcony with table & chair. The room has a desk and complimentary wireless internet connection and a goodie basket of water, soda and treats. There are two robes but no safe for locking valuables.

The bathroom is large with a large two person shower with six spray jets. There is plenty of lighting and it includes a high-tech coffee maker that grinds the complimentary beans (both regular & decaf) and puts out very hot coffee.

The hotel has a nice library of books and DVD's. They also provide a pantry with drinks, snacks and sundries all for purchase at cost. Beach chairs, beach umbrellas and beach towels are all provided and complimentary. Free parking is provided which is a huge plus especially in summer time when the town fills up.

I won't go into the numerous freebie food & drink offerings of the hotel which is adequately covered in other reviews. It really is quite unbelievable and the best part it is all top quality. I believe much of it comes from Costco. The wines they served were great by my tastes.

The young folks serving as receptionists...Matt, Chris, Joe and a young lady whose name I did not get were great. We were there two nights and three days and they treated us like family. They were great. During check-out they presented us with a couple gifts. House keeping was another story and could have used a little motivation.

Rates fluctuate widely depending on demand. If you are a Costco member make sure you request it's discount. It is a whopping 20%.

If you plan on visiting the Central Coast, this makes a great place to stay!

Room Tip: I don't think it makes a difference which side of the hotel you stay on. We faced the parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlOjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avila_La_Fonda_Hotel, General Manager at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear CarlOjai,

It was such a pleasure having you and your wife here with us recently. The staff and I commented on what a pleasure it was to chat with you each morning. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Christopher King | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

More than just a place to sleep. Great room offers and freebies that are unbelievable. Croissants for breakfast, nachos at noon, wine at 5:00 and pie and 8:00, all with excellent service from the staff. A welcome basket in the room loaded with what others charge for in their mini-bar. We will definitely return and suggest that you give this place a look. The beach is a block away, free underground parking, and great suggestions from the staff, you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies have a nice sunny location on the south side. There is one corner with a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1001Randy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avila_La_Fonda_Hotel, General Manager at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear 1001Randy,

Thank you for your wonderful review. As a Senior Contributor to TripAdvisor you are providing others with a wonderful gift whenever you leave a review, be it good or bad. I sincerely appreciate your taking the time to let others know about your recent experience at the Avila La Fonda Hotel. I am so pleased to hear that the staff and amenities were up to par with your expectations and hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future.


Kind regards,

Christopher King | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed two days right after Christmas. The hotel was beautiful, well-kept, and a minute walk from the beach. The hotel staff was extremely helpful, and we received expert advice and care from Jean and others members. The snacks and other treats were a great touch.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avila_La_Fonda_Hotel, General Manager at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Jim R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased to hear that your recent visit to the La Fonda was everything you expected. We hope to be your number one choice for all future visits to beautiful Avila Beach.

Kind regards,

Christopher King | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I love Trip Advisor for helping me find a place like this! All of the positive reviews are right. Croissants in the morning, Nachos in the afternoon, cocktail reception, and fresh pies. Great personalized service from everyone here. I had some email correspondence with the staff beforehand as it was my mini honeymoon and they were amazing. Bottle of champagne, they arranged for a King Spa room which was awesome. Service was awesome. Joe at the front desk was friendly and helpful as was everyone else we came into contact with. I would DEFINTELY recommend the Avila La Fonda to anyone wanting to go to the central coast. Steps from the water and the sea lions:)!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fantom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avila_La_Fonda_Hotel, General Manager at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Fantom21,

Thank you for your review! So often we are faced with hotels and restaurants who claim to be something they are not. When we are misinformed about our lodging choices we are forced to "deal" with out choice and I am so happy when I hear a guest say that they got what they expected and then some. I am so happy to hear that Joe was especially helpful and accommodating during your stay. He is one of the reasons the La Fonda is so special! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christopher King | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.1 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
773 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,494 reviews
5.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,061 reviews
5.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila La Fonda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila La Fonda Hotel

Address: 101 San Miguel Street, PO Box 217, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range: £173 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila La Fonda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avila La Fonda isn't merely a hotel; it is an experience that transports you to a 19th-Century Mexican Village. The Inn is completely new and features an intimate design inspired by traditional Spanish and Mexican architecture. Colorfully adorned with eight Casita style facades, and inspired by eight actual homes in Mexico, the Inn takes on an old world style all its own. From the intricate stained glass windows, which were custom made to depict scenes from the local area, to the many delightful fountains; guests are surrounded by unparalleled luxury and beauty at every turn. Located one short block from the Pacific Ocean, our boutique hotel features twenty-eight elegantly appointed rooms and suites, each featuring a Jacuzzi tub for two, multiple-head shower, fireplace, and a 48-Inch HDTV. Rich furnishings partnered with warm colors, and stunning artwork help to create refined luxury in an inviting atmosphere. Prepare to enjoy countless pleasures and culinary delights from the moment you step through the doors. Our evening wine reception is the perfect time for our guests to change gears and prepare for a restful and indulgent stay-featuring hot and cold appetizers, hors d'oeuvres, two local wines and scrumptious desserts, our wine reception is held every evening from 5-6:30PM. Enjoy fresh baked pie from locally renowned Avila Valley Barn every evening from 8-10PM. Add a scoop of ice cream, a glass of milk, and a cup of our award winning Intelligentsia(C) Coffee to create the perfect evening indulgence!Each morning guests are encouraged to rise early to enjoy fresh baked chocolate chip croissants, award winning Intelligentsia(C) Coffee and fresh organic orange juice!Don't checkout just yet! Our nacho bar is held daily from 12-2PM featuring Coronitas and fresh-fruit margaritas!For those late night cravings be sure to visit our 24-Hour Chocolate Pantry. Candy bars, soups, snacks, sodas, water, energy drinks, sundries and toiletries all sold AT OR BELOW COST! We are pet friendly and are a couples retreat hotel. If you are traveling with anyone under the age of 18, please contact us directly for alternative accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Avila La Fonda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila La Fonda Beach
Avila La Fonda Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing