We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Early Valentine's Day Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Early Valentine's Day Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2009

We stayed a few days before the busy Valentine's Day weekend and loved it. This was our first weekend away from our new baby and were blown away with all the amenities in the Spa Room. The in room Jacuzzi Tub was great and we could watch a huge flat screen TV without getting out of the tub. The bed was so comfortable, we fell asleep the second we hit the pillows. We also had a great dinner at the Custom House Restaurant just a half a block away. This is our new romantic getaway spot and we are coming back every year. Oh Yeah! The staff was fantastic too. I told them I wanted to make it a special night out and the had the room decked out with rose petals and champagne. Thank you Avila La Fonda for a great getaway.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nosleepjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    97
    24
    22
    12
See reviews for
96
574
22
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2009

I loved the amenities in our room. The little things really mean a lot! This is the first time that i've been able to reheat my leftovers inthe room and eat off of real plates. I forgot a fork, but they were in the room, too ( this room did not have a kitchenette- the plates were testefully stored out of sight!) It felt luxurious without any stuffyness. We really liked the wine reception in the evening! There was a good amount of food (and wine!) to tide us over for a romantic late night dinner. The manager was so sweet and helpful that we felt right at home. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradyphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2009

A weekend away from Los Angeles was the plan to celebrate a birthday. Found this hotel on line and read great reviews, so I decided to take the plunge. I was very happy with my choice. It is a relatively small hotel with beautiful rooms. Stayed in the "Great Room" on the first floor. Must agree a little with the noise factor - although it was not as bad as other reviewers. Maybe we were lucky or it was the specific location of the room. We were in 113 and I could hear the water from the fountain (not a problem). Even being across the hall from the Chocolate Pantry didn't increase the noise factor. Heard some noise from the second floor, but not enough to keep me awake. Murphy bed was not too bad. A little soft for me, but I like a firm bed. The staff were incredibly nice throughout the whole weekend (Friday night to Sunday afternoon). Loved the kitchen with the full fridge, stove and microwave. A block away from the beach and a block away from the Bob Jones Bike Trail. Very convenient. A few miles away from Shell Beach, for kayaking. We had perfect weather and a perfect weekend! And thanks for the surprise bottle of Champagne and birthday card!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAkimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, Ca
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2009

Ohh wow, this is more than perfect. More than pleasurable, exotic & breath taking, all in one. I found this HOTEL on a fluke, can you believe it? My husband & I have enjoyed our fair share of Las Vegas resorts & hotels, Atlanta, Ga. scenery, & even cruises, but none have left a lasting impression like this. This was a get-away for our 8th wedding anniversary. We've been together for the past 22 years. Returning is a must, even with family. All this little hide-away has to offer was gr8. The staff at La Fonda were warm, friendly, & ever so pleasant. Hospitality rates Five Star, it don't get no better than this. A room with a balcanoy is desired if available, so you can get that fresh ocean air.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsanutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

exceptional friendliness at check-in from front desk staff. Welcoming glass of wine. Spacious rooms (suite) at excellent rate. Beverages and snacks at cost from honour system kitchen. Choclate chip cookies to die for all day with wonderful coffee. No ocean view from balcony but short walk to oceanside.Great restaurant at corner with10% reduction(could be 20%). European feel.Nearby golfing at Monarch Dunes and wine tasting in San Luis Obispo is great.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa monica
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

My wife and i share birthdays ..(close) so our treat is to go away each yr for our birthday or annivesary ..this year didn't go to far from LA so went to Avila la Fonda hotel heard about it inLA Times article ..They were right magical ..from staff to extra touches ..my favorite was large basket free goodies ..than in middle night i was sent to find choculate ..
Hey shes beautiful and in night gown ..i will find choculate !!
Anyway imagne my suprise to find choc pantry ..and everything is sold at cost ..Cokes are 35 cents /choc bars 50cents ..And all on honor syatem and open 24hrs ..WOW

Free wine recption of local wines ..we went on search to find local wines founf one ..hey we were lost or parking hehe ..Tolsa winery ..hotel serves nearby Edna Valley ..
Amazing place will be back for her birthday next ..Went to Nekkidd Spa / connected somehow had couples massage how romantic ...even married guys get lucky at this hotel ! Also reccomend Joe Mommas Coffee Bar wonderful caps !

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latravelguy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny Cal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2009

every detail was attended to in the room for comfort and a pleasant stay. from the coffee maker w/ bean grinder, the bose stereo, tea candles and more. a very romantic place to stay in a great location. check out the cat cafe by the far pier, crab breakfast was reasonable and fantastic THANKS AGAIN! Mark McD & Pamela

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamelaMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.9 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
5.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
2.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila La Fonda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila La Fonda Hotel

Property: Avila La Fonda Hotel
Address: 101 San Miguel Street, PO Box 217, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila La Fonda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avila La Fonda isn't merely a hotel; it is an experience that transports you to a 19th-Century Mexican Village. The Inn is completely new and features an intimate design inspired by traditional Spanish and Mexican architecture. Colorfully adorned with eight Casita style facades, and inspired by eight actual homes in Mexico, the Inn takes on an old world style all its own. From the intricate stained glass windows, which were custom made to depict scenes from the local area, to the many delightful fountains; guests are surrounded by unparalleled luxury and beauty at every turn. Located one short block from the Pacific Ocean, our boutique hotel features twenty-eight elegantly appointed rooms and suites, each featuring a Jacuzzi tub for two, multiple-head shower, fireplace, and a 48-Inch HDTV. Rich furnishings partnered with warm colors, and stunning artwork help to create refined luxury in an inviting atmosphere. Prepare to enjoy countless pleasures and culinary delights from the moment you step through the doors. Our evening wine reception is the perfect time for our guests to change gears and prepare for a restful and indulgent stay-featuring hot and cold appetizers, hors d'oeuvres, two local wines and scrumptious desserts, our wine reception is held every evening from 5-6:30PM. Enjoy fresh baked pie from locally renowned Avila Valley Barn every evening from 8-10PM. Add a scoop of ice cream, a glass of milk, and a cup of our award winning Intelligentsia(C) Coffee to create the perfect evening indulgence!Each morning guests are encouraged to rise early to enjoy fresh baked chocolate chip croissants, award winning Intelligentsia(C) Coffee and fresh organic orange juice!Don't checkout just yet! Our nacho bar is held daily from 12-2PM featuring Coronitas and fresh-fruit margaritas!For those late night cravings be sure to visit our 24-Hour Chocolate Pantry. Candy bars, soups, snacks, sodas, water, energy drinks, sundries and toiletries all sold AT OR BELOW COST! We are pet friendly and are a couples retreat hotel. If you are traveling with anyone under the age of 18, please contact us directly for alternative accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avila La Fonda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila La Fonda Beach
Avila La Fonda Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing