We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very casual”
Review of Fat Cats

Fat Cats
Ranked #4 of 24 Restaurants in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very casual”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Small, but really friendly place. Food was good and portions were large. Efficient service. If you try at a peak hour you may have to wait. It's worth it though. Wide variety of food. Great location on north end of Avila near a walkable pier. Parking is easy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jaxhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    100
    46
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
195 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Yucky Hash”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We went here on a week day in the off season. The place was empty. There was a special on hash and eggs and the waitress said it was homemade and good. Very gross. The corn beef was so fatty I could not eat it. What a waste. It was $13.50 and I had to leave most of it because it was so fatty. My husband ordered some of the sausage gravy on the side and was told it was homemade as well. It WAS NOT homemade. Overall this breakfast was a disappointment. I'm sure this place gets plenty of business by duping its customers. Maybe I should have just ordered pancakes.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank GburgfoodieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We ate breakfast here one morning and were very satisfied. We had the stuffed French toast and it was delicious. Great coffee and very friendly staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“No Wonder These Cats are Fat!”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

If you were a cat and lived near this restaurant, you'd be fat, too! We tried the fish tacos, and they were tasty and the portions were generous. Enough for two meals. Very friendly staff. Note: This restaurant is located near the San Luis Pier at the far end of Avila. It's not where the most restaurants are. It is worth the few extra minutes of driving for the food and the view.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank PWestcomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceano
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Love this place for Breakfast. Lots of specials and food off the menu is great. The owner walks around and greets you at your table quit often.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fat Cats also viewed

Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Fat Cats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing