We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable view, music, and food”
Review of Pete's Pierside Cafe - CLOSED

Pete's Pierside Cafe
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Tustin, California
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Enjoyable view, music, and food”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Saw the mixed reviews and was a little worried, but the food was good. Fish tacos were great as were the fried fish, calamari, and the crab omelet. Relaxing view with a band at lunch. Usually pier food isn't so good , but this was a pleasant surprise.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dana point, ca
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food great location”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Had the best fish and chips I've had in many years! My son said the enchiladas were very good too. Sitting outside on the pier really felt like a vacation. Will come back again the next time we visit Avila Beach.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank octraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Mirage, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“My wife & brother recommend the ahi tuna”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Small takeout restaurant with limited seating on the pier at Avila Beach. My brother also has an oyster shooter every time he goes there. I had a pepper cheese omlet the first day and it was ok, not really that special. I had a hamburger the second day and it was an outstanding burger. The place does a lot of business around lunch time, so I would recommend going about 11:30 to beat the lines and get a table. If you order a beef taco, it won't come with lettuce, cheese, etc. unless you ask for it. My wife says the shrimp and chips is very good and my sister-in-law likes the fish and chips but says it is too much food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ieduffy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Skip this place on the Pier at Avila Beach, CA.”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I wanted fish and Chips I heard this little place would be good. Well the fish was very dry. It looked apealling at first until u take a bite. So when you are on the pier at Avila Beach, CA. go to the other restaurant which is very good. The atmosphere is a OK with views of the bay side, some live music with a guitarist and outdoor type seating. Maybe something else on the menu would of been better. They had Mexican Food choices but skip the cod fish and chips. Believe me it was not worth the $12.00.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 10356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahwahnee, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun place to grab a bite!”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Walked out to the end of the pier and found a really fun snack shack... great Neptune Salad. Thought it was pricey until I saw the amount of crab they loaded it up with! Well worth the price. The husband had shrimp and chips and the chips were made of red potatoes, which were really creamy and tasty, and just different enough to make the dish exceptional. Shrimp was tasty, too! The atmosphere was fun in that you ate in the sea breeze with the gulls and pelicans overlooking the harbor and boats... very casual. Well worth the walk out to the end of the pier. Will definitely go there again next time we get to Avila Beach!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pete's Pierside Cafe also viewed

Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing