We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Mexican Place”

Calvillo's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 67 Restaurants in Alamosa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations, Takeout
Colorado Springs
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Family Mexican Place”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

An big informal restaurant which seems to be favored by the locals. Very good Mexican food and friendly service. I especially liked the $1 draft beer Monday - Thursday.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    179
    71
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Can you imagine TODAY getting hot homemade tortillas with a buffet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!b”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We were hungry when traveling this last month , on our way to Neveda. We love Mexican food but usually I don't eat it out of the house, too many disappiontments. We felt eating here is better than fastfood bloat. Calvillos is WONDERFUL! I was so surprised! We chose to eat the buffet. Everything was wonderful and such variety! To end it all we got HOT, HOMEMADE TORTILLAS ! (which was being made infront of you!) wE ALSO GOT rice MILK OR mAYBE IT IS CALLED RICE WATER. i AM FORGETTING THE REAL NAME. it WAS HABIT FORMING. i TOOK MINE IN A TO GO GLASS. i WAS SO STUFFED THAT i COULD ONLY DRINK IT AT A LATER TIME. i WANT TO MAKE A TRIP FROM dENVER just TO EAT THERE AGAIN! pRICE WAS SO SO WORTH IT, THE STAFF WAS WONDERFUL AND IT IS clean! wHAT MORE COULD YOU ASK FOR.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vhyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamosa, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good, some different flavors”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

The service here is some of the best you will find anywhere. The food has some different flavors than what you may not be used to in a Mexican restaurant. The people who own and run the place are from a region of Mexico that has some different spices than we see in typical Tex-Mex restaurants. It's a nice change, the food is tasty, the service is superb, easily the best in town. Order the buffet, if you want something special, they are happy to prepare it for you and include it in the buffet price. One time I asked for chicken mole, not usually on the menu. They had some at home and asked that I go there to pick it up. I had enough for two meals for my family. I can't imagine they do that for everyone, but they certainly try their best to accommodate you and make you glad you came in.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank muyconsada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Food just okay, margarita horrible”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We went this evening for dinner. My husband and 9 year old had the buffet I planned on the buffet but didn't see anything that looked fantastic, I chose to order off of the menu instead.

I ordered chili rellenos with an enchilada on the side. The rellenos were a different consistency than I was used to, kind of soggy. The enchilada initially came out incorrect, but after sending it back, it was good. Not life changing, but good.

After almost hitting a deer while driving to Alamosa, I was VERY much looking forward to a margarita. I ordered a strawberry margarita on the rocks, and was very disappointed. It tasted like a juice box, crazy sweet and zero alcohol. I finished the dinner with water.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank brookesummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicioso”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Fantastic buffet. More than delicious. The service was incredible, second to none. They really make you feel special. The buffet is all you can eat and everything was great. I had the chili rellenos, chili verde, spinach salad, zucchini casserole, and flan. And the Margaritas are also delicious. If you are in Alamosa, eat here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stretke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calvillo's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Calvillo's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing