We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad day on the Rails!”

Rio Grande Scenic Railroad
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Alamosa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Rio Grande Scenic Railroad is Colorado's newest train offering steam engine rides through breathtaking mountain valleys and over legendary LaVeta pass on hundreds of miles of historic rail. Excursions offer riders a trip back in time on restored passenger cars that stop at the quaint mountain town of LaVeta and hear narration of Colorado history, mining stories and catch a glimpse of wildlife--including bears! Summer weekends brings the Mountain Rails Live summer concert series with nationally renowned acts to a boxcar stage at 9,400 ft only accessible by our train. This green location is run on solar and wind power. Seasonal rides are available throughout the year.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Denver
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sad day on the Rails!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We were looking forward to another great Train trip! Not happening - First the Steam train was switched to a Diesel, then because of another train taking out a stretch of their track, we only went half way to the destination. Because we couldn't go for the full trip, we were promised lunch would be free & a free dessert. When lunch orders were taken, it WASN'T FREE - in fact it was FULL PRICE! Free dessert was cheese cake, take it or leave it. When I asked the attendant - I was told she couldn't do anything about it. Calls were answered by You can come for the Fall Colors - My hubby works for FEMA - they 're a little busy in CO right now He'll vowed we'd never ride this train again - So I asked for a refund - None was offered - not even half - which is the least they could do! I know this railroad is in trouble - I'm spreading the word to NOT ride it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Oldloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Rio Grande Scenic Railroad, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
I would like to thank you for taking your time to write a comment to us. We value your feedback, as this is how we know what we need to improve on, so thank you for allowing us a chance to read about your experience.

I apologize the trip wasn't what you expected. Unfortunately on this trip we were unable to run over the pass due to some of the rail being unusable, I apologize this wasn't communicated appropriately to you, we will work on our communication in the future.

We take our guest satisfaction very seriously and I can assure you, the comments you leave have been shared with management and we will handle them accordingly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    46
    16
    8
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Capitan, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Concert train”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Loved the first class dome car and the car manager was great. Ordered lunch on the train and it was VERY good. Difficult for those handicapped with mobility problems but it's a historical train and the staff is very helpful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank NMTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Buyer Beware / Getting Taken For a Ride”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had purchased four tickets for Diamond Class $148.00 each for August 31, 2013, upon arriving were told that earlier some damage had been done to the track and could only go so far. At the ticket counter we were promised a lot of things, we were told there was a chef on board and would receive dinners, we were also told we could also order desserts from the menu, this was because they couldn't complete the trip to La Veta Co. Others were promised differant options because of the levels of there purchased tickets. Needless to say upon completion of this trip, people lined up to complain because they didn't get what was promised, of couse there was no management there to complain to, they went home. The workers on board, couldn't help us because they were not properly informed of what was promised before boarding, because of this, what could have been averted with cancelling the trip or giving refund, now will be a problem for all of us on this date. Service was below par, desserts were about the size of a Oreo Cookie and frozen, we did receive a fruit plate at the bar counter for all of us in that car, also a cheese plate, we had to ask for, everything was self serve, the car we were in had a unisex toilet, bar, four tables to eat at and chairs for sitting, while observation car had, seperate facilitys mens & womens, kitchen for food service, seating for dinner, plus upper level, so again buyer beware on this one.......

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JoyceT186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinlan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Right track, wrong train”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had made sure to book reservations for the weekend so that we would be able to ride the steam engine. But when we arrived there was no mention that we would be instead riding the diesel engine. Instead, each passenger found out as we began boarding. The complaints began. And depending on who you spoke to, the reason for this varied slightly. Curious. After speaking to one conductor in particular, just in my humble opinion only, I feel like there were not enough passengers on the train to run the diesel engine. There were maybe 40-45 people total aboard. As far as the train itself, it was lovely. The staff were amazing and knowledgeable and went out of their way to make you feel special. The first part of the landscape is a bit barren but about 45 mins into the trip it begins to change. From there it becomes breathtaking. I'm glad I went but would not ride again. Would go the extra 30 mins to the Cumbres Toltec Scenic Railroad.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Outing!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful day to ride in a 1945 era club car from Alamosa to LaVeta! The service and casual friendliness of the crew made for a truly fun adventure. The dome car is great too, although more crowded than our club car. I must admit though the open air car was magnificent as you climbed over the Sangre de Christo Mountains. Breathtaking views and fresh air! Very very fun!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen3015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rio Grande Scenic Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Rio Grande Scenic Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing