We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good cabins, expensive, no service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Three Rivers Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Rivers Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Almont
Certificate of Excellence
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, good cabins, expensive, no service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

If you like this area there aren't many places to stay, so they can charge a lot. Very much enjoyed being riverfront and comfortable, although usually for $200 a night places offer some housekeeping- perhaps every 3 or 4 days. Our family meets up here from various states and enjoys the relatively remote location, the fishing and whitewater rafting. Beautiful and clean area- but why can't a resort that depends on a healthy, clean river and environment back up their future (and ours) with recycling? They could get it going for this area- Crested Butte manages some recyling, clearly Almont could if they cared. Also, the many people at the front desk are very nice but consistently clueless- didn't know restaurant hours, trouble with running the cash registers, called to tell us we were supposed to be checking out even though we'd paid for 2 additional days, etc. Train your employees!

Room Tip: The smaller riverfront cabins are good enough; don't spend more for the fancier ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artmomalbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    22
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
47
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

...we stayed here for 4 days/3 nights. we booked cabin 25. nice little cabin, a bit old and in need of some TLC but good enough for three nights. there were three of us in the cabin with room to stretch. we booked a kayaking trip and a rafting trip. the ducky kayaking while fun was a bit of a let down, water level was low and we got stuck alot. the rafting was done on the upper part of the river and was much better. try to get "VITO" as your guide, what a great guy. he really took his time to make the trip nice. the food in the little rest attached to the resort is good. the owners of the rest. lease the place from the resort and do a bang up job. we had breakfast & dinner there and both times were good.
Now for the bad news...on the last day i asked the front desk if i could use the computer, that was right in front of me on the desk, to print out my boarding passes. "NO". they give free wifi, and they have several computers. the place was not packed i waited to ask while no one was at the desk, but "NO". seems silly. they should over an old desk top and stinky $69 printer to use. things were not cheap here, and i think its the least they could have done. also, $55 for a CD of pictures of your rafting trip is a bit much!! or $28 for two 5 x 7's. REALLY?!

but we had a good time and "vito" should get a gold star. hey vito, have a good time in ITALY!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

We've stayed at Three Rivers Resort two years in a row now - and look forward to many more trips in the future. We've stayed in a few different cabins - most notably the Chalets by the River and Cabin 19 (remolded in 2009).
Both times we had a WONDERFUL time. Mark and his staff are always wonderful.
There is private water fishing there - and we found people not staying there fishing the private waters - we mentioned it to Mark (the manager) and it was promptly taken care of with new notices going up about the private waters and staff "patrolling" the area.
Love Almont - and Three Rivers Resort.
Oh - and we travel with THREE dogs - and our dogs are always welcomed and we've never had a single problem. DEFENATLY ped-friendly just as they say they are. We are so thankful for that - trying to find a place to stay with three little dogs is not easy!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tibbie_Parents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

We stayed at the Three Rivers Resort for 3 days, and it was an excellent choice. My grandparents live nearby and it was very convenient to stay here. Our cabin was clean, well appointed, and warm at night. The market is directly across from the cabins and has a deli, groceries, fly fishing and kayaking guide services and equipment. I'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dlpriceSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

This review is being written over two years after the fact, but i feel that I must address some negative comments.
Our son and his bride were married in Crested butte in July, 2007. Friends and family from throughout the country descended on the Three Rivers Resort for several days. We had a total of 15 cabins and the wedding reception was held in Three Rivers' Pavilion..
Mark and his entire staff treated us like royalty. He worked very very patiently with us in the months preceding the event to make sure that everything was perfect. There were zero complaints or glitches from anyone in the entire party.
Mark has a very straight forward manner and a booming "outside" voice. Maybe some folks have taken this as being "gruff"-----not so. He knows his business and the area and its attractions very well.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iowegian9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

Three Rivers Resort was fantastic. The location couldn't have been better. We feel in love with the Taylor River valley and Spring Creek. We stayed in Cabin 26 and it's gorgeous. It was just remodeled last year and it was just like new. The kitchen was wonderful, the cabin was roomy and there were always clean towels every afternoon after we left the dirty ones on the porch in the morning. My husband enjoyed flyfishing and I took lots of pictures. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladavis58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

Our cabin was recently remodeled, and very nice. I have no issue with the accomodations or the front desk staff...very nice. The male owner, however, was very rude to my wife and me. After checking in, we took our Golden Retriever for a stroll around the grounds, finally ending up at the outdoor bar/restaurant, which was off limits to dogs. Wanting a beer, we asked the waitress if we could sit at a table by the fenced railing, and tie up our dog outside of the railing, so he would be near us. She said no, so we asked whether we could sit and have a beer at the picnic tables near the office, 20 feet away. She said we could. So, I went inside the restaurant, got and paid for two drafts ($10), and started towards the picnic tables, where my wife was waiting with the dog. The owner (unbeknownst to us) was sitting at a table nearby and bellowed: "You can't take that beer out there!" I told him that the waitress had said we could, and he said she was new, and didn't know what she was talking about. He disappeared, and a different waitress came out, and said since we had already bought the beers we could tie the dog up outside the railing, and sit on the inside of the bar, which is what we'd requested in the first place. No one else was in the bar except us. The owner returned and warned us that the dog "better not bark!" Everything was fine, until a man and his young son came up and started petting and playing with our dog. When they stopped playing with him, he barked two barks, wanting to play some more. At that point the second waitress showed up again, and told us we had to leave immediately, and that the owner was very upset. We hadn't finished our beers, but left, anyway.

Maybe the guy was having an off day, but the whole incident really ruined what would have been a very nice stay. If you run a dog-friendly property, you shouldn't treat responsible dog owners( or any customer, for that matter) like we were treated. For that reason, we can't recommend you stay here .

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JRDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almont
8.6 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
17.6 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
17.7 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Gunnison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
17.7 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
10.9 mi away
Pioneer Guest Cabins
Pioneer Guest Cabins
#1 of 15 in Crested Butte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Rivers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Rivers Resort

Property: Three Rivers Resort
Address: 130 County Rd. 742, PO Box 339, Almont, CO 81210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Almont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Almont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Rivers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Three Rivers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Rivers Hotel Almont
3 Rivers Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing