We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice clean place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Narrow Gauge Railroad Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Antonito
colorado
1 review
“nice clean place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

We have stayed at narrow gauge railroad inn before and it has always been clean.
We understand that it is under new ownership. Our stay last year was nice, but this year
they have done alot of improvements. It is a older motel but it is being kept up really well.
I do not know what railfan is complaining about if he did not stay here this year! Keep up
the nice job NGRRINN, We will back in September.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    14
    21
    11
    12
See reviews for
12
33
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

The only reason this motel gets 2 tripblobs is because of the location, very close to the Magnificent Cumbres & Toltec Railroad. Other than that...well...no real breakfast, no micro, no fridge. The room had holes in the walls, extremely loud AC and my mattress was mended with tape. Yes it's cheap...but it's cheap in every way! Rent a room in Alamosa instead!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

This hotel makes the Knights Inn look like the hilton. It was old, smelled and had mold in the shower. The TVs were from 1980 and had 4 local channels. The AC somewhat worked, but put out a foul odor when used. Also the beds were as hard as plywood.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank railman2546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prattville, Alabama
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

Yes it's an older motel, yes, you can find a more modern one. But the price would be much higher and the location could not be as good. Two hours to Durango CO, one hour to Taos NM, one hour to Pagosa Springs CO, one hour to Chama NM, 45 minutes to Great Sand Dunes National Park. PLUS the Rail Road? Anyone who gripes about this place needs to get a life... And a large checkbook to make up any price difference.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailMarkHinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

This was our first visit! I found the staff friendly. The Ritz it is not; but for the price, I thought it was fine! The bed was clean and comfortable. I have read the other reviews and wonder if they are working for the competition. Can't imagine that there would be that much difference. Maybe they have had a change in management. I loved the train ride and found the motel equal to the chains in more rural areas.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

Went with my 47 year old son. First time we've ever taken a trip together. We stayed at the hotel for about 5 days. We took the train ride which was incredible. Can't wait to go again. Went to several other nearby towns. The hotel was very clean and the people there were very nice. In fact, we plan to go back there in January for skiing. We will definitely stay at the Narrow Guage Railroad Inn. I would surely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in that area.

Stayed July 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank millieharnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

This was my second time to stay at this Inn. It was very affordable, clean and the service was excellent. When we stayed there in the winter the room was vey warm (heater worked great) Wifi was working and fast. Very helpful and informative at the front desk. Told us of a great place to rent snowboards. They also advised me on how to get over my altitude sickness. The train was great fun too. The location is 45 minutes from Taos, the Great Sand Dunes and 30 minutes from Alamosa. I would highly recommend the Narrow Gauge and will be back this winter.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patternsform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Narrow Gauge Railroad Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrow Gauge Railroad Inn

Property: Narrow Gauge Railroad Inn
Address: 5200 State Hwy. 285, PO Box 636, Antonito, CO 81120
Region: United States > Colorado > Antonito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Antonito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Narrow Gauge Railroad Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Narrow Gauge Railroad Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narrow Gauge Railroad Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing