We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing on the edge of the slopes”

Aspen Mountain / Ajax
Ranked #6 of 102 things to do in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Known as "the athlete's mountain," expert skiers flock to its challenging slopes.
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing on the edge of the slopes”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Very relaxing place with a variety of scotchs beers and mixers. Suzanne, our bartender was very friendly and made us feel at home. They also offer brandy, which is a rarity here.

Helpful?
Thank jimmerb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    99
    23
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Magnificent views!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

There is nothing not to like about Aspen Mountain! We visited in mid September so we were viewing the mountains just as the fall color was starting to pop. At the top of the mountain, you can see for miles and the views are so beautiful that you just want to keep staring at them. Their were many walkers and hikers taking advantage of the beautiful day. Many families were spending time at the top playing disc golf and taking in the views. There was even an area that was set up for a wedding on the day that we were at the top. This is sure one of Aspen's greatest treasures!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JAMAClevelandArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“Thank you for the special treat!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Aspen Mountain opened up its Gondola on October 6 and 7 for free to all. It is a great trip up and provided an up close views of the Aspens at peak color. Also, the added treat of walking around in six inches of snow at the top brought smiles to all.

What a great thing for Aspen Mountain to do!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank teton999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun ride”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Took the gondola up to the top of Ajax for a rehearsal dinner. Ride was a bit scary but the views were unbelievable! Definitely worth the trip up!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarahj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Yours to discover”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Aspen Mountain is yours to discover!

We had an awesome day during a big March storm here, skiing powder and making fresh tracks all day. Getting off the centre of the mountain, there are many areas well worth exploring along the sides that aren't busy at all. We found glades that weren't that narrow or intimidating and offered awesome skiing fun off Gent's Ridge and Bell. While much of it is rated double black, I found that difficulty really depended on the snow.

This mountain is well worth checking out, especially when the snow flies, even if Snowmass and Highlands are your favourites.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Inga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aspen Mountain / Ajax also viewed

 

Been to Aspen Mountain / Ajax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing