We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Wine Dinner with Michael David”
Review of Plato's Restaurant

Plato's Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 161 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$55
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: We offer a shuttle service every half hour (full and half hour) to town and back, stopping at Ruby Park and the Hotel Jerome.
Description: CURRENTLY UNDERGOING RENOVATION - WILL REOPEN JUNE 2018 Plato's Restaurant "The first and greatest of necessities is food, which is the condition of life and existence." - Plato's Republic, Book 2 Bask in the golden sunset as you dine on the finest and most inspiring cuisine in the city at Plato's Restaurant, featuring local and regional fair as flavorful as the surroundings. Our exceptional Culinary Team selects the perfect seasonal ingredients to make your meal a truly memorable one. Come early and unwind with a glass of wine or specialty cocktail by the fire in the Hefner lounge. The magnificent view becomes as much a part of the experience as the delicious meal. Thank you for a wonderful winter season. We look forward to seeing you in June!
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I was lucky enough to experience a wine dinner at Plato's recently. The meal was spectacular, the I still dream of the duck cassoulet that started the dinner. They paired every course beautifully with an amazing Michael David wine, including two varietals from their Inkblot series. I don't know that I could have asked for more. Service was stellar, the team was on top of our every need. The food was divine, every dish embraced the intricacies of the wines they paired with it. Plato's is hands down the place not to miss when dining in Aspen, between the view, the food, and the service, the entire experience is remarkable!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KathPatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 129 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

if we define Aspen as a refined but intimate venue, where the beauty of the landscapes combined with luxury and sophistication but the permanent feeling of relaxed and intimate atmosphere makes a unique destination, Plato's Restaurant at Aspen Meadows represents the best of this town.
I visited the best restaurants in New York, Milan, Paris, Hong Kong, Mexico city, and Plato’s has nothing to envy them all; the service was excellent, the quality and freshness of the ingredients was supreme, all this in combination with the incredible chef skills made the most unforgettable dinner experience.
I can assure that this is a hidden gem and a must if you visit Aspen

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Oscar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley L, Manager at Plato's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your dinner with us! We do have a truly amazing view, and our cuisine is top notch! We hope to see you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The restaurant had a $120 per person menu. Most people at our table enjoyed the quality of the food. Service was good. Not many people there so it was intimate.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Having gone to dinner as a celebration for the holidays, our family was blown away by Plato's. The cuisine is top notch, and the Chef obviously knows what he's doing. The service is smooth, friendly, and professional, and the venue is breath taking. With full bellies, we were saddened when our meal was over, but vowed to make Plato's a yearly tradition for our holiday family gathering. There's just no comparison.

Thank AspeNate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley L, Manager at Plato's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

We hope to see you next year, as well as years to come! It's been a great winter season thus far, we endeavor to put forth fresh and creative food, with service levels that honor the cuisine. I am glad that we helped to make your holiday memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The ingredients for my dish were white beans, lobster sausage, and fish. They could have put more beans and the lobster sausage was mixed with a cheap ingredient so they could have included more. The fish was one inch wide and three inches long. Too small for $23. My husband and son enjoyed their steaks, but $42 was more than they should have paid.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LindaHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plato's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Plato's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing