We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Ski and Eat”
Review of Aspen Highlands

Aspen Highlands
Ranked #11 of 101 things to do in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A local favorite, the Highlands specialize in steep trails but also offer easier trails for novices.
Clarkston, Michigan
2 reviews
“A Must Ski and Eat”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Great Cruisers and of course, The Bowl, noboby there - ever - and the Best Restaurant in Aspen - Cloud Nine as it has a unique atmosphere, awesome views and great music.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank dan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    58
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Can't get enough of the steeps!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

If you love the feeling of being a little scared by the steeps, this is the mountain for you. The northerly aspects seem to always have soft snow too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Blaze84093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great expert skiing :)”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

One reviewer said: "If you love steep sustained mogul runs there are few lifts that will compare to Deep Temetry [sic]. Sorry Mary Jane!" Although I consider MJ to be my home hill and am fond of The Jane, I reluctantly concur. The bump runs from the top of Highlands' Loge chair are huge and steep. Eat your Wheaties before you ski them.

Highland Bowl takes some stamina (1.2 mile hike I think), and the lines are steep and may push your comfort zone, but if you are an advanced -- definitely not intermediate -- skier you will be rewarded. The experience and the vistas are worth it.

I also enjoyed the intermediate runs I used to get back to the chair lift, and they certainly have plenty of them, but I can't really offer much data on them since I focused on the hard stuff.

Note: I ski almost entirely black and double black trails.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mtnrunner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Don't let the locals keep you away!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is a great skiing experience if you can handle a blue hill. The one big issue is getting from the green hills to the bottom it's a bit challenging but doable. The green hills in the middle are great, the views are fabulous. Spend most of your time riding the clous 9 lift and above and you'll have a great time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chicritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A must for the advanced skier”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

One of the most thrilling mountains in Colorado for the advanced skier, Highlands has everything from steep/fast groomers, bumps, glades, some serious lift-served steeps and the Bowl too + very few crowds and minimal, if nonexistent lift lines. You can access some great groomed runs off the Exhibition and Cloud Nine lifts and ride them all the way to the base area, I prefer Thunderbowl, myself. Use the Loge Peak lift to access the double-blacks of Steeplechase-Kessler's trail is very challenging, along with Sodbuster-likely the steepest skiing at Highlands. Ride The Deep Temerity lift to access some of the best gladed skiing in the country-Canopy Cruiser is a personal favorite. You can also access portions of Highland Bowl from this lift, if the gates are open (Y zones). Finally, you can hike the Bowl if you choose. In my opinion the hike up is much worse than the ride down but if you do it, the gladed G zones, usually have the best snow (warning this reviewer favors tree skiing). Whatever maybe the case a full day at Highlands will leave you exhausted but more than willing to return for more!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aspen Highlands also viewed

 

Been to Aspen Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing