We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Reasonably Priced, & Friendly”
Review of Tyrolean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tyrolean Lodge
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Clean, Reasonably Priced, & Friendly”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I stayed here due to its inexpensive cost and proximity to Maroon Bells during the fall foliage season. The price was the best around, the lodge was clean, and Dave, the guy who runs it is great!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PittsburghPhotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    59
    16
    1
    5
See reviews for
42
61
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Everett WA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We loved this hotel. The location was within walking distance to everything in Aspen. The room was huge with a kitchenette. The price was so reasonable for this expensive city. And the people at the desk were very helpful with information and advice. Staying here was a joy and we hope to return someday.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avondale, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The only reasonably priced place that I could find in Aspen and it was great. Large clean room with small kitchenette to prepare your own meals. Off street parking, friendly staff, great location. We had a mid floor room in the back and had no problem with street noise. Loved this place, glad to find it!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hlg60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Having lived in Aspen over 20 years ago, I thought it would be fun to take my college aged kids and see how it had changed. Knowing Aspen is overpriced, I searched for a reasonable rate, and the Tyrolean seemed to get decent ratings here on TripAdvisor. Not much on decor and the view out our window from the 2nd floor was a run down duplex. But, the room was large, had two queen beds and a twin bed, and was plenty of room for us all. Summer rate was $150 (high for this) but in ski season, it would be a great place to hang your hat. The rooms do not have AC (we had a ceiling fan and a desk fan) but the cool nights and a cracked open window did the trick. Walking distance to everything. If you're looking for a good price and a clean room, this is your place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltrio03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Tyrolean is a clean, friendly, reasonably priced place to explore Aspen from. My wife and I stayed here in July and had a great experience. Rooms aren't fancy but have kitchenettes (2 burner cooktop, fridge, microwave, and appropriate plates/flatware/cookware) and LOTS of space (ours could sleep 5 in the 3 beds)... adding more value to your price. We stayed on an upper floor, which I would highly recommend since they have more windows and higher ceilings... the lowest floors are basically underground with no windows. Decor... this ain't the Ritz, you can expect cheesy motel bedspreads and wood panelling, but the quirky native American/skiing motif works to make the place unique. All the folks that worked there were really friendly and helpful. Location is great, a few blocks walk from the center of town. Overall a really good stay.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nascitur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We stayed several days at this hotel . The kitchenette was more than we expected it included a stove top surface , microwave , refrigerator and dishes/pots etc. It had a home type of atmosphere for yhe decorating. The kitchen sink didn't have super hot water buy Tbe shower had plenty. The staff was very helpful with questions about the bus system and the closest laundry place. It wasn't right in the middle of everything but it was close to a good breakfast place, a playground and you could use back roads to get to a main bike trail(rio grande) and a grocery store/post office. It didn't have A/C but the open windows and fans worked well, it could get hot in July or august though. For a family or people wanting a simple place to stay with some character it is great.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlOutdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niedernhausen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

i was very surprised by this hotel.
our room is quite big, with a little kitchen inside, and great beds.
bathroom is nice and clean. this hotel is very central and all this for 70 dollar! in Aspen!

a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apiaWiesbaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.4 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
0.2 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
2.1 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#11 of 35 in Aspen
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#15 of 35 in Aspen
526 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyrolean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyrolean Lodge

Property: Tyrolean Lodge
Address: 200 W Main St, Aspen, CO 81611-1712
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Aspen
#2 Green Hotel in Aspen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#12 Family Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Tyrolean Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tyrolean is a classic small Aspen Lodge, family owned and full of ski history. Rooms are clean, well maintained, surprisingly spacious and have new fully equipped kitchenettes. Each room has 2 queen beds, 1 twin bed and sleeps 1 to 5 people. Our sixteen comfortable hotel rooms are ideal for the budget minded, economy traveler in search of a hidden gem. The Tyrolean is Aspen's most affordable quality lodging. There is an antique Ski Museum and Aspen History throughout the hotel. All rooms are non-smoking. Centrally located on Aspen's Main Street, within easy walking distance of the bakery, brew pub, downtown shops, restaurants, bars, Aspen Mountain and the Music Festival. The free skier shuttle to all four ski areas stops in front. For value and tradition, come visit the Tyrolean Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Tyrolean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyrolean Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing