We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Our stay over New Year 2013 was just lovely. The St Regis Aspen is a true 5 star hotel. The rooms are great and the skiing and proximity to the hills and Aspen town is fantastic. Loved the hotel and service. Ski shop folks were so helpful. Only complaint is that the cleaning staff constantly walk in your room. We are on holiday - do not disturb sign on or newspaper at door not picked up yet. Why is that such an issue at this hotel? Otherwise, this hotel is great and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nosda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    140
    67
    36
    27
See reviews for
220
334
37
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Every year I'm in town I spend some time at the St. Regis, and in particular, the spa. It's a beautiful setting and the therapists are excellent, but I have to say I was disappointed this year. My treatments were great, but when I went to use the waterfall pool, it was too cold to stay in. It had been heated, but not much and definitely wasn't the relief from the cold weather that it had been in years past. The ladies' hot tub was fine, but the steam room wasn't working either. There was no indication that anything wasn't operational when I arrived, so this was all trial and error. When I spoke to the staff up front, they said their engineers were trying to fix a problem with the steam room, but no offer of coming back to use the facilities when they were fully operational was made. I went to the oxygen room and asked for a glass of champagne, only to be told they were out of champagne. I was very skeptical that the St. Regis in Aspen was cleared out of champagne, and when my friend questioned it, two glasses were produced. When I picked up the car, it stank of cigarette smoke. No one outside at that time was smoking, so I can only assume it was someone who had had the car while it was parked or being moved. Normally, this spa is a highlight of my trip and worth every penny, but next time I'll be calling in advance to make sure everything is working and stocked before I book.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStRegisAspen, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Aspen Resort, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience at Remede Spa at The St. Regis Aspen Resort. We appreciate that you are a repeat guest to our spa and have enjoyed both our signature Remede treatments and our dedicated therapists in our spectacular mountain setting. We are sorry however, that this most recent stay did not live up to our high standards and your previous stays and expectations. It is always unfortunate when unexpected maintenance issues impact our guests long awaited day at the spa. Please contact us at Aspen.spa@stregis.com so that we may further remedy this situation with you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I recently used a 5-night starpoints reward at St. Regis' Aspen property and could not be more pleased with the experience. The rooms and bathrooms have been beautifully refurbished with gorgeous fittings and Ralph Lauren furniture. The staff are normally spot-on offering the formal service you expect from a property carrying the St. Regis name, but still casual enough so that it does not feel pretentious. Public areas a fantastic and we enjoyed the hotel's premier restaurant, a partnership with Food & Wine Magazine. After this stay, it will be difficult to entertain any other option for a stay in Aspen!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UrbanVenturer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStRegisAspen, Public Relations Manager at The St. Regis Aspen Resort, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your most recent stay at The St. Regis Aspen Resort. We pride ourselves on giving guests bespoke service and experiences that are beyond expectation while they are within residence. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed all of the renovations the resort under went, including the newly designed guest rooms and our restaurant, Chefs Club by FOOD & WINE, which showcases up-and-coming visionaries from FOOD & WINE’s Best New Chefs list.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Aspen anytime to enjoy another extraordinary stay at St. Regis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA Beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Ski vacation to AspenSnowmass. Resort was about expected for 5-star hotel.
PRO:
- Great room. Had a room upgrade and a great view of the mountain, courtyard, pool.
- Bathroom under-sink lighting is motion-activated. Great idea - just enough non-direct light without blinding you awake.
- Location is walking distance to shops and restaurants.
- Also 2 blocks to get to free bus shuttle to the other mountains - Buttermilk, Snowmass, Highlands.
- Front desk was helpful and friendly.
- Mrs. Munchies had a great time at the spa and loved the Remede bathroom products.
CON:
- Location is 2 blocks away from main Aspen ski lift. Hotel is not ski-in / ski-out...hotel offers a free shuttle but was easy enough walk in boots & skis.
- Paying for in-room wifi internet is annoying ... it's 2013, wifi should be like hot water & electricity.
- Pool and hot tubs are not directly next to hotel. About 30+ second walk from lobby. They are right next to St Regis Residences (condos?) which are attached to the hotel.
- No bar service to the pool/hot tubs. However, there are heated towels.
- Ski valet at hotel front entrance -> drop off skis is easy. Picking up skis requires going across the street to the actual ski shop where they're held overnight.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theMunchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

The staff were fantastic, very attentive with special thanks to the bell men who were always there to give you a lift around town, help with skis, bags etc.
The room service menu is limited and expensive (once you add on all the charges!) especially the kids menu that we had to rely on as no facilities (even in the suites) to make something of your own.
A kettle in the room would be good, rather than always having to call for a hot drink.
Dined at the in house restaurant on our last night, setup and idea of restaurant we loved, waiters were great - food disappointing (other than the dessert!!)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJLJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

This was my second time I stayed at the St. Regis. The Hotel is in a great location. Everything from shopping to dining to movies in walking distance. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Bathroom was nice and spacious. The spa is AMAZING. All together a fabulous place.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tokyowife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We've been to this property 6 or 7 times over the past 10 years during the Xmas holidays and each visit was generally a great experience. However, during this last visit the service was so substandard that we probably won't be returning anytime soon.

The room: the bedding was nice and furnishings new and improved since the renovation, but there's absolutely no place to store your toiletries in the bathroom. I ended up putting my things just off the floor next to the spare towels. The internet was ridiculously slow. We were on the phone with the tech people several times and it became apparent that this property is not equipped to deal with 21st century demand in the rooms or lobby area.

Service: With the exception of the valet guys, concierge and housekeeping, the service was abysmal. Breakfast was so slow one morning it took 45 minutes for scrambled eggs, toast and oatmeal and our orange juice arrived partially frozen. We should have gotten up and just served ourselves from the overpriced buffet. On another morning the same order arrived quickly so you just never knew what you were going to get. The servers were nice and very apologetic, but there is clearly a big problem with food service and timing in this hotel. Even the quality of the food is just mediocre. The complimentary breakfast buffet that used to be offered during the Christmas to New Years week is gone. And I get that - we used to see people selfishly hoarding food that went uneaten. But if you can't offer prompt service then at least price your buffet in such a way that if you simply want to grab a couple items and run you have that option.

We had several mishaps as well in the bar/lobby area. You could sit at a table and witness servers running here and there but you had to practically stand up and wave your hands to get someone's attention to bring you a menu. And then after ordering, it's an eternity to get food that really is not great. I had a caesar salad one day that was perhaps the worst I've had in years: the dressing was like a mayonaise spackel and the croutons were tasteless and stale. For the price, a complete rip off. On another day we went to the bar for cocktails. Again, it took forever to get our order taken. When one of the drinks wasn't made correctly, I personally went to the bar to tell the bartender but it still took another 15 minutes for him to redo the drink. We could hear tables to our left and right complaining, so the hotel is either severely understaffed or hiring people who are improperly trained. And if we're buying rounds of $16 cocktails, just bring the nuts - we shouldn't have to ask. Room service was the only exception as the one time our daughter ordered dinner, the food came quickly and she liked her meal. The ski shop attendants are very friendly but no one ever offered to help our daughter with her ski boots. This isn't a huge deal but we had just spent the first part of our vacation at the Viceroy in Snowmass and the service there was so outstanding that we couldn't help but compare the two places and the Viceroy was by far the better experience on all counts.

This hotel was a big disappointment compared with our past stays. For the amount of money you pay over the holidays or at any time, you would think that the staff would go out of their way to make your stay an exceptional one but that is just not the case here anymore.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mintchip17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa S, General Manager at The St. Regis Aspen Resort, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback, we truly appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent experience at our resort. At St. Regis, service beyond expectation is our goal at every encounter with our associates, we are sorry that you did not have the experience that you were expecting at breakfast and in the lounge. We are glad that the valet, concierge and housekeeping met your expectations and provided you with an excellent stay. In addition, we’re in the process of upgrading our internet service to better handle the usage needs of our guests.

We sincerely appreciate the fact that you are a very repeat guest and do hope that the next time you travel to Aspen that you will consider staying with us once again so that we can have the opportunity to provide you with a stay becoming your expectations. You have our commitment for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us if there is anything that we may assist you with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.4 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#2 of 34 in Aspen
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 34 in Aspen
493 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#4 of 34 in Aspen
897 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Aspen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Aspen Resort

Property: The St. Regis Aspen Resort
Address: 315 E Dean St, Aspen, CO 81611-1807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Aspen
#4 Business Hotel in Aspen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#6 Family Hotel in Aspen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The St. Regis Aspen Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lavishly renovated St. Regis Aspen Resort offers a luxurious spa; world-renowned winter sports like skiing, sledding, and snowboarding; fine dining; and impressive event spaces in Colorado. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Prestigia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The St. Regis Aspen Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Aspen Resort Hotel Aspen
St Regis Aspen
St Regis Resort Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing