We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“24 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“24 night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We have been living in hotels across the country for the last 12 months as part of a 18 month work road trip. We stayed at the St. Regis for a total of 24 nights from December 13th to January 6th.

Overall, it is a very nice hotel. Very high end and new decor in common areas and rooms, comfortable beds, an excellent fitness center, incredibly friendly staff, well appointed and decorated rooms with many creature comforts (e.g., heated bathroom floors). The location is about as good as it gets in Aspen as there really aren't any true ski in/out hotels. The hotel is within walking distance to dozens of shops, so many great restaurants, two short blocks to the Ajax mountain gondola or one block to Ruby Park bus station which offers free and frequent rides to Snowmass, Buttermilk and Highland ski areas.

As a result of a booking issue (explained below) we experienced two very different room types at the hotel during our stay. The suites very comfortable and very well appointed (e.g., very comfortable over sized couches, comfortable lounging chairs in living room and bedroom, large televisions in living room and bedroom, gas fireplace, great shower, etc.). The suites are incredibly spacious as feature ample vanity space, closet space and large dresser drawers. The standard rooms are also well appointed and comfortable, but seem smaller than standard rooms in comparable hotels. Minor complaints include the sliding bathroom doors which don't offer much privacy or sound proofing and a very small desk.

Be prepared to pay premium prices for internet, room service and parking just as you would at only 5 star hotel in a ski town. The fitness center is very well equipped, new and clean, but there is an inexplicable large fee to use the locker room. However, you will receive kind, polite and prompt service from everyone from the front drive, front desk, bar and restaurants.

The hotel provides many nice touches including hot chocolate and other refreshments near the lobby, smores at the outdoor fire pit and many festive touches during the holidays including a huge ginger bread hotel, lots of holiday decor and we even saw Santa visiting with kids in the library just before Christmas.

Please note. We initially booked our reservation on Expedia. Shortly thereafter we were contacted by the hotel and informed by the hotel that our room type wasn't available throughout our stay. As a result, we would have to switch rooms five times (to the same room type) between December 23rd and January 1st. We were given two options by a friendly hotel representative. The hotel would agree to cancel the reservation due to the inconvenience or they would discount our rate, upgrade us to a suite for the first ten days and last six days of the our. We opted to stay assuming they would figure out a way to accommodate us without so many moves. Ultimately, we were only moved three times, but it would have been great if management figured out a way to minimize our moves. Please note, the butler service offered to pack and move all of our belongings during each move, but we couldn't accept due to the extraordinary amount of luggage and gear we travel with.

All in all, this is a very comfortable hotel and a near ideal location and a friendly staff. I would have awarded the hotel and overall excellent rating if not for the multiple moves and the small size of the standard rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRegisAspen, General Manager at The St. Regis Aspen Resort, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Valued St. Regis Guest,

We are so pleased you were able to stay with us for such a long stretch of time during your vacation to Aspen, CO. I am glad you found your overall experience in our Resort to be inviting, and that you enjoyed the changes we made during our recent renovation. I appologize that we were unable to place you in the same room for the entirety of your stay over the busy holiday season. Service beyond expectation is a top priority with all of our associates here at the resort and we are truly sorry that you did not have the experience that you were anticipating.

I do hope that we may welcome you to the resort again in the future where you will have our promise for an uncompromising stay. Please feel free to reach out to us if you have any further concerns or questions.

Kind Regards,
H. Steenge-Hart, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    138
    67
    36
    27
See reviews for
219
330
36
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

A group of us stayed at the St. Regis for a fun getaway with our children. We are all platinum or gold members and have stayed at various St. Regis hotels all over the world in the past so we were all accustomed to the preimium service and excellent accomadations. Boy were we WRONG and SHOCKED....it felt like we were staying at a 2 star motel. Our group booked 3 rooms in the hotel and a 3-bedroom in the St.Regis residence. With that being said our tirp started off with major disappointment. We called for a bellman and they showed up 40 minutes late so my friend went downstairs to grab the luggage cart himself. Next we called for slippers and they ran out. REALLY??? You don't have storage? Our room didn't have any bath salts so we called for some and they also ran out. Hmm...now i'm very irritated. At over $800+ a night you don't have the major necessities in this so called 5 star hotel.
One of the mornings we ordered room service and our eggs were luke-warm at best. If you plan on offering room service at least find a way to keep our food HOT when it reaches the room.
The butler service was not the typical "butler" service offered at any of the other St. Regis hotels. Tea/coffee/etc took over 30 mins every single time we called and they don't bother clearing the dirty dishes out unless you request it.
This was by far the most disappointing stay at a St. Regis hotel. You don't deserve the name/reputation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLMcKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRegisAspen, General Manager at The St. Regis Aspen Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Valued St. Regis Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your vacation to beautiful Aspen, CO. Unfortunately, I am absolutely dismayed to read your observations regarding the service you received from our private dining, butler services and bell staff. This sort of service does not meet our standards, and for that I apologize. I hope that we may have the chance to welcome you once again in the future where you would have our commitment for a more enjoyable stay.

Please reach out to my office at info@stregisaspen.com if there is anything that I may do to assist with this matter.

Kind Regards,
H. Steenge-Hart, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was really a mixed bag and as a result a little hard to have a single rating do justice to our experience. Let me start with first impressions and the generally excellent start to the stay...

The hotel is conveniently located at the base of Aspen Mountain and a few minutes from the airport by complimentary shuttle. The meet and greet service was flawless and the property is beautiful - check in was painless and our room was easily accessible on the third floor. We had left our reservation quite late, so we had the last available room which was generally fine (comfortable furnishings and well-appointed). The cupboard space was a little tight for two people who are there for winter activities and had bulky coats and accessories to store. our view was quite pleasant.

Problems started when my wife requested a butler to unpack our bags (there is a butler button on the phone and the St Regis advertises that facility as part of their distinguishing Signature Service) and was told that that was reserved for suite guests only. They eventually relented after my wife spoke to somebody in management, but it was annoying to have to jump through hoops. And therein lay the problems that unfolded later.

The staff are generally extremely nice and helpful - the sunny temperament I have seen from Filipino and Balinese in Asia (from where many of them hail) - and do try to solve issues that arise. The supervising staff is likewise attentive to our needs. HOWEVER - there seems to be a disconnect somewhere, as if there is no integration at all. The result is random lapses in service, for example:

- coffee at breakfast in the restaurant often took 20 minutes or more to arrive (not espresso or lattes but black coffee from a thermos) - one often had to ask 4-5 times.
- the first night at dinner two identical orders for a main dish for our party of seven came more than 10 minutes apart and were markedly different in appearance and taste
- the cook at the eggs station started making me my omelet and halfway through responded to a guest's request for more jam by disappearing into the kitchen leaving my dish on the stove. Luckily I asked another chef to take it off and avoided a burnt breakfast or worse. The same cook (or maybe another) literally added the cheese to my omelet as he put it on my plate so it wasn't really part of the dish.
- our room turndown service was random, We had twin beds in our room and sometimes both beds were turned down, sometimes only one. Once a window was left open (and the room was freezing as a result). Once they cleaned up the room but left a tray from room service with the remains of breakfast on the desk.
- a caffe latte once arrived cold and once with no coffee in it. The check always took a long time coming.
- our bags and packages that had been Fedexed were not brought to our room until hours after they had arrived.

Some of the staff however did a bang-up job. The butler/maid who packed our bags (Candy) was excellent and did a wonderful job. The shuttle drivers were very helpful in getting us around and running errands whenever their schedule allowed, as did those given specific instructions. The concierge found us hard-to get reservations last minute during the holiday crush and suggested excellent alternatives when she could not. The ski shop across the road (and accessible from the hotel via a walkway and elevator) was tremendous with knowledgeable staff and offer a discount and valet services to hotel guests.

As for the property itself and the public spaces, they are generally very good with a few shortcomings. The lobby lounge (a little too small for the number of guests) is separated from the main entrance by a partial wall with a fireplace on both sides. Every time both sets of doors are opened (quite common), a gust of cold air blows into the room and sending chills down people. The seating area is always fought over int he afternoon after skiing and one would have thought the designers would have known that people tend to congregate in these place at ski resorts. It seems people planned for average occupancy rather than peak...

My second-to-last negative comment is that many hotel guests walk through the lobby in their bathrobes to access the spa instead of taking the elevator directly to the basement level and walking across. I find it quite distasteful to see this (and uncomfortable to have to do this) especially as the direct route is not option when the lower level is used for a function and security make you go back up and across the lobby. Finally - while I realize it was the holiday season - there are a large number of guests with children who seemed to be running amok and causing a commotion. Many were quite ill-behaved, apparently neglected by their parents who just looked on. While kids int he U.S. are given more "freedom" in this respect, there need to be some basic standards. Finally, many guests and their children seemed to run around in what looked like bed clothes in the public areas. In a couple of instances quite pleasant people dressed like they were going to the "Redneck Riviera", dressed in cut-off shorts and wife-beaters. again - i'm not expecting the sartorial standards of Europe and Japan, but this is not a beach bungalow.

Ending on a high note, the Remede spa is excellent. Large jacuzzis, steamroom, waterfall features and great massages. My only complaint was going to be that they charge $50 for a visit if no treatment is involved, but then thought better of it as it would mean the very people I was escaping int he lobby would lounge around there all day if that were not the case (who doesn't like a free lunch).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreddlox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRegisAspen, General Manager at The St. Regis Aspen Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Valued St. Regis Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Resort. We are pleased to hear that you found our location within Aspen to be ideal, that you were able to enjoy our newly renovated guestrooms and that your overall experience at our spa was pleasant.

We are sorry to hear, however, that your experience with our housekeeping department was less than what you expected during your stay and we sincerely apologize that the service you received from our dining venues was below par. Please know that we take all comments posted very seriously and appreciate the feedback as it helps us maintain and improve our service at the Resort.

We thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. If there is anything we may do to assist you further, please reach out to my office at info@stregisaspen.com. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The St. Regis Aspen Resort again in the future.

Kind Regards,
H. Steenge-Hart, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North America
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I love this hotel so much that you get welcome feeling from all of the hotel staff.
If you want to relax by yourself to get excellent food and superb spa treatment, I highly recommend this hotel.
You never get that awkward feeling sitting in the dining room or by the pool alone most of the time solo traveler faces. Try their hamburger that makes your return trip to this hotel right away!!
You will appreciate this small size resort from the moment you are picked up at the airpot to check out.
Aspen is beautiful classy town with pride attracts you so many ways.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SambaFoxTrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRegisAspen, General Manager at The St. Regis Aspen Resort, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Valued St. Regis Aspen Guest,

I would sincerely like to thank you for taking the time to post such charming comments regarding your summer stay at The St. Regis Aspen Resort. I am overwhelmed by your beautiful recommendation of our property and our bespoke service. It is indeed individuals such as you who make our resort truly feel like a home. We look forward to welcoming you to the resort again soon.

Kind regards,
H. Steenge-Hart, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

My family visited Aspen for the Christmas 2013 winter vacation. The St. Regis was wonderful accommodations and very attentive staff. The location was superb in that a rental car was not needed due to being closely located to the municipal and ski bus lines. Also, very easy to get around by foot and walking to any destination is never more than five minutes. Staff in their restaurant, Trecento Quindini, including Virginia Kern, Derek, and Felipe, always provided exceptional service. Its a high end hotel and the staff and accommodations are in line with the price. We would not hesitate to stay again for another skiing adventure next year. Great memories.

Ps, the onsite ski shop, Aspen Sports, could not be more convenient. Just see Mr. Billy Bleeker; he and his staff will help you with any ski/snowboard necessity and its all right there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluDogg555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRegisAspen, General Manager at The St. Regis Aspen Resort, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Valued St. Regis Guest,

I appreciate you taking the time out of your day to share your comments and experiences from your recent family, Christmas vacation at The St. Regis Aspen Resort. It is such a pleasure to have read your positive feedback. I am delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy the accommodations, our new restaurant, Trecento Quindici Decano and Aspen Sports while here at the Resort.

I sincerely hope that when you return to Aspen you will consider staying with us once again. It was a pleasure having you as our guests.

Sincerely,
H. Steenge-Hart, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

My 13 year old son and I returned to the St. Regis the first week of January, 2014. We stayed at the St. Regis last year and had such a great experience we decided to come back. The location is right at the base of Aspen mountain and across the street from the bus that takes you to Highlands, Snowmass, and Buttermilk. Once again, we had exceptional service. We thoroughly enjoyed the treat of staying at this high end resort right in the heart of Aspen. The front desk staff was friendly, helpful, and thoughtful about their recommendations for what my son would enjoy. They recommended smores by the fire when we checked in which was a great way to start our getaway. The rooms are warmly decorated and the beds are very comfortable with a fuzzy blanket at the foot of the bed to warm your toes when it is cold outside. The bathroom has a huge tub that was a great place to soak my tired muscles after a great powder day. I had a cappuccino by the lobby fire in the morning and enjoyed the great view through the two story windows that looked up at Aspen mountain while reading my complimentary Wall Street Journal and New York Times. Sometimes the staff at higher end hotels can be a bit haughty, however, I was incredibly surprised at how the staff at the St. Regis are friendly while at the same time very attentive. I give this hotel my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCB0930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRegisAspen, General Manager at The St. Regis Aspen Resort, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Valued St. Regis Guest,

I so appreciate you spending your recent Aspen vacation with your son at The St. Regis Aspen Resort. We are pleased to hear that you appreciated all of the touches of our newly renovated resort and some of our new guest offerings like the Family Traditions program. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The St. Regis Aspen Resort again in the future!

Sincerely,
H. Steenge-Hart, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Just stayed at at regis aspen ~ such a major disappointment. First of all walked in and needed to use rest room. It literally smelled like a sewer. Toilets were dirty and overflowing. No lotion or soap bottles or towels like a five star resort provides. Over flowing trash, toilets and smell was overwhelmingly disgusting.
Dining in the italian restaurant was the worst food I had in aspen. They said the chef was from Italy. I say impossible, food was not italian and cheaply prepared. Frito Misto tasted like shake and bake. Brussel sprouts were not cooked and pasta was over cooked and tasteless as well as not homemade. I guess it makes sense the place was empty when every other restaurant over the holidays was packed this place is empty for a reason. McDonalds accross the street is a MUCH better option in retrospect. Do not plan a meal, or stay here. Unless you like the smell of sewers.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SparkleMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRegisAspen, General Manager at The St. Regis Aspen Resort, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Valued St. Regis Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay at The St. Regis Aspen Resort. Unfortunately, I am troubled to read of your observations regarding the state of our restrooms at the time of your visit and the allure of the food from our new restaurant. This type of service certainly does not meet our standards, and for that I apologize. I hope that we may have the chance to welcome you once again in the future where you have our commitment for a more enjoyable experience.

Please reach out to me at info@stregisaspen.com if there is anything that I may do to further assist with this matter.

Kind regards,
H. Steenge-Hart, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.4 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#3 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#5 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Aspen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Aspen Resort

Property: The St. Regis Aspen Resort
Address: 315 E Dean St, Aspen, CO 81611-1807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Aspen
#4 Business Hotel in Aspen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#6 Family Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The St. Regis Aspen Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lavishly renovated St. Regis Aspen Resort offers a luxurious spa; world-renowned winter sports like skiing, sledding, and snowboarding; fine dining; and impressive event spaces in Colorado. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Aspen Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Aspen Resort Hotel Aspen
St Regis Aspen
St Regis Resort Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing