We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Terrible Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Terrible Service!”
Reviewed 1 August 2009

I recently traveled to Aspen for a conference and was incredibly disappointed with the St. Regis. I have stayed in Starwood resorts all over the world and have come to expect a certain level of service which I certainly did not find here. Several other hotel guests commented that this was by far the worst St. Regis they had ever been to. Doors were not opened, the staff was rude and general unhelpful. The answer to any request was No. Not, let me see what I can do for you, just No! I would highly recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank braindoc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel1Aspen, General Manager at The St. Regis Aspen Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2009
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your comments. Please know that we take all comments posted very seriously and appreciate the feedback as it is of utmost importance to us in order to help us maintain and improve our service standards. It was a little disconcerting to read your comments about our associates being rude and unhelpful as that is one of the areas where we at the St. Regis Aspen consistently receive very high marks from our guests. If you happened to encounter the exception rather than the rule during your stay, please accept our sincerest apologies as that type of behavior neither meets St. Regis standards nor certainly your expectations. I would appreciate the opportunity to hear more about your experience and to discuss it with you if you would care to. If so, you may e-mail me at info@stregisaspen.com and it would be my pleasure to contact you directly. Sincerely, S. Geray, General Manager, St. Regis Aspen Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    145
    67
    36
    29
See reviews for
234
337
37
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Over the top service. Free pickup and drop off at the airport.

Decent rooms, but not my style. I was expecting a bit more for nearly $1000 per night.

Ridiculously overpriced breakfast buffet - paid $40 for some toast and eggs.

Great concierge was very helpful. The entire staff went out of their way to be polite, helpful, and gracious. We had no issues throwing a large party until 4AM at night in one of the suites... Great location - Aspen is awesome!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoccerDad&Son
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

The creme de la creme! The absolute best hotel experience I have had in 10+ years in the travel industry! I would put full faith in the management of this hotel to execute the highest level of customer needs. Our conference included guests used to skiing the Alps and they were simply blown away. Although I expected a high level of service from the St. Regis flag, the staff totally blew me away and has won me over for our January board meeting. Please note that I am rating this hotel in comparison with other hotels in its class, not of all properties in general...this is a 5 out of 5 for a 5 Star property! Our group had some very unique requests and everything went without perfectly as planned. I would rate this as a top 5 desination in the Americas and top 25 in the wolrd that I have stayed at. I have no affiliation with hotel other than my customer loyalty. I can't wait to be back in 2010!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soccer_Dad_and_Son
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Hotel is in a great location... Very close to all the shopping and restaurants. Staff was very friendly and the rooms were great. This is a great place to stay if you visit Aspen.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McCannFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2009

Every single aspect of our trip to the St. Regis Aspen was absolutely sublime. It was my first trip to the hotel and to Aspen: I can't wait to return to this fabulous city but most of all to the St. Regis. The staff went on beyond. The hotel facilities are gorgeous, from the cozy lobby bar, to the fantastic rooms and the outdoor jacuzzis. We paid for the stay with Starwood points - I can't imagine paying $1000+ to stay at any American hotel, but I can see how the St. Regis Aspen gets away with it. It is 5-star perfection. Definitely not the "scene" you might get at the Little Nell if that's what you're looking for, but the location was amazing and so was everything else. It was a dream of a trip. I can't understand any negative reviews St. Regis has gotten on TripAdvisor - I thought it was totally fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLB_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

Stayed here in the summer when our drive to Aspen from Denver turned into an all-nighter. Hotel was very accommodating. Room was exceptionally nice with plasma televisions and Bose stereo and a decent value given that they were the only high-end hotel in town and had us hostage. Staff was very nice. We had a good time. 4 stars, only because the hotel itself did not have that many amenities.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvg_loves_cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

Rooms/restaurant buffet are nice but very overpriced in my opinion, especially the breakfast buffet. There's a McDonalds closeby so I suggest if you have taken kids with you to go there for breakfast because the buffet will cost you a fortune. I have stayed at several luxury resorts/hotels that were far less pricey, .i.e. Hawaii, Vancouver, Costa Rica, etc.

Location is perfect as it is within walking distance to most anywhere we wanted to go. I found the service to be excellent and the staff very, very friendly. Most went out of their way to offer me bottled water, asking if I needed anything, etc.

The spa was wonderful, a little overpriced but same as with most luxury resorts. My technician's name was Laura and she was fabulous, the best massage I ever had, I highly recommend you ask for her when scheduling a massage. I heard several others from my group say they did not get the same service from their technician as I did from Laura. Besides giving me a great massage, she offered me several oils to choose from for her to use and a special one for my scalp. She offered me water and/or tea afterwards and showed me around the shower area and all the amenities it afforded. Nobody else that I talked with got this same treatment. After your massage check out the huge round shower with the 12 jet sprays aimed at evey part of your body. The hot water beating all over me after my massage felt heavenly.

I also used the oxygen lounge which was a godsend when I started to have a problem with a little altitude sickness. I don't drink so I know that's what it was. A couple of trips to the lounge made all the difference in how I felt.

One of the nice things is that once you've had a spa treatment everything else in the spa area is available to you for free use all that day, i.e. the oxygen lounge, hot tub, steam room, etc.

All in all a very pleasant stay and I enjoyed myself tremendously.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tootie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 36 in Aspen
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
1.1 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#4 of 36 in Aspen
945 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#3 of 36 in Aspen
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Aspen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Aspen Resort

Property: The St. Regis Aspen Resort
Address: 315 E Dean St, Aspen, CO 81611-1807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Aspen
#4 Business Hotel in Aspen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#6 Family Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The St. Regis Aspen Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lavishly renovated St. Regis Aspen Resort offers a luxurious spa; world-renowned winter sports like skiing, sledding, and snowboarding; fine dining; and impressive event spaces in Colorado. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The St. Regis Aspen Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Aspen Resort Hotel Aspen
St Regis Aspen
St Regis Resort Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing