We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool, rare for any inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Great pool, rare for any inn”
Reviewed 3 July 2011

In Aspen, the premium is on staying in a quiet area, not on main street. The St. Moritz fits that billing perfectly. It's quiet. It makes a big difference to be two blocks away from main street. And the swimming in the about 25 ft pool with a nice temperature was a great start into each day. Staff is engaged and takes pride in the place.

Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank globetrotdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    74
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
30
48
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Manlydave
I stayed in a room with shared bathroom as I was traveling alone and wanted somewhere not too expensive. The room had two beds - but just me - the room was fine although a little warm till turned heating down. Breakfast was great, porridge, ceral, fruit, toast, cakes, hard boiled eggs etc - although it is plastic plates and utensils. Great position for buses, although a 10 minute or so walk to town. Staff were very helpful. And yes I would stay there again if travelling alone - only downside was the walls are thin.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manlydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crested Butte, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2011

The staff of the St. Moritz was so friendly to my group of about 8 friends. They offered to open the pool early if we needed it, and were relaxed about check-out time. We love the heated (90 degrees!) pool, the fact that they didn't mind cans of beer by the pool, the complimentary wine & rum, and the location. Also, we could stay there for a single night. A lot of Aspen requires a several nights minimum stay. If you are on a budget, I can't imagine a better set-up in Aspen.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teton village
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2011

My brother and I just needed a place to crash after a late night concert. Everything was perfect. Great location within walking distance to everything. We saw a nice sauna outside which we didn't have time to use. Staff was friendly. Rooms were clean. Bathroom was big enough. The rooms have LCD TVs. Couldn't ask for more for the money that we spent. We didn't want to spend $500/ night at some of the "nicer" places in town.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wyomingsith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Our stay was alright. We basically rented the room so we could sleep, then ski. That was it. We wanted a no frills. It didn't work out as expected. We spent quite a lot of time at the lodge. To the most part this worked out. I'll start with the room.

The room has those old 80's style bed sheets with the flowers. The television is a great piece of hardware and its high enough on the wall that you don't have to crane your neck at night to see it. It even has a built in DVD player. Not that we used it, but I can see where if someone wanted to upload camera photos or videos from the slopes they certainly could. The bathroom was by far the best. Somehow, the room lacked in appearance, but the bathroom was really nice! They did a good job with the counter tops and shower. Glass windows envelope the entire shower and provide plenty of space. The shower head is extremely high so if you are short...you're out of luck. The sliding door was annoying. There isn't room for any other type. Every time we went to push it back it caught and made a ton of racket. The stove was nice. At least one of the burners was. In the room we had there was one burner that just didn't want to stay down in the pocket where it sits. The kitchenette piece was a nice otherwise. The pans provided are in good shape as well. Microwave worked well. No complaints.

The beds were alright. Probably old. After a hard day of skiing it hardly mattered. Pillows were lumpy. Sheets were scratchy. That comes with industrial washers/dryers though. Probably need to invest in new par levels on linens for the hotel. But I don't see that happening.

The housekeeping staff was amazing. They did a great job with our room each morning. I won't lie, we messed it up each morning and in the afternoon when we came back, it was fixed. She even organized our belongings. A nice touch. Best housekeeping staff I've ever had while traveling. I'm glad we never used the DND sign. We would have missed out on phenomenal service. She did the dishes too. What more could you ask for?

The breakfast was what I expected. Cold, with stuff to warm up. Cereal, orange juice, cold waffle bread that you threw in the toaster, and various condiments and fruit. What really grossed me out is that there were no chafing silverware. Every morning when I went down for breakfast guests were expected to use their own knife or fork or spoon to get items. That is disgusting. Fix that immediately. Seeing a guest use his knife on the peanut butter after he used it on something else is horrible! Not to mention, they don't use individual packages. Hotels get a bottle of Peanut butter, and they set it down and walk away. Seeing guests pick through fruit with a spoon they used on cereal was really horrible. Must have been a fantastic idea. Quit being cheap and spend some extra money on utensils. It is embarrassing. And a health hazard. What would you do if some poor kid who is allergic to peanut butter gets sick because YOU the hotel didn't have separate chafing silverware to separate Jelly from Peanut butter.

The front desk staff was scruffy at best. No ties, no combed hair, no dress clothing, or even dress shoes. Most front desk clerks I saw wore jeans and buttoned shirts unbuttoned and untucked. Almost as if...I'll dress up, but give up half way through and go back to bed. Shave your face too. Having a week old growth with no direction makes for one creepy looking employee. We had to hang in the lobby and wait for a taxi and I was astonished by the words that one employee used. He had a small rush with the phones and he started throwing a temper tantrum and swearing. That is unacceptable. Do your job. Smile. Look nice and, don't be a jerk because you have to work. Answer the phone and play nice.

The hotel was certainly an experience. The heated pool was great for a long soak. I really liked it. The location was fine. It is away from the town so expect to walk. Or take a taxi. The walls are paper thin, but thats because it is an old wooden building. The courtyard is a nice touch. I enjoyed that very much. Neat colors. I'm sure in the summer it really shines with fresh flowers. The view is covered up by a large expanse of rock. You won't be seeing the ski hills unless you go outside.

Keep the housekeepers, and fix those front desk clerks. A hotel is a business. Even if your rooms are selling for $25.00 (ours was $250.00/night), you better look professional. Looking like a slob is unacceptable. You work with the public. Show the public you can look good for a nice property. Don't swear and learn better manners. It is rude. I paid a lot for your hotel room and I expect for you to look the part.

Wine and rum in the lobby at nights was interesting. Never expected a shot of rum at the counter from a front desk clerk. Not complaining, just find it curious. Where did that start?

If you are thinking of staying at this location, keep in mind that it is located in Aspen Village. It is close to the hills. It is right around the corner from the shuttle that takes you to other ski hills, and it is close to the Hickory BBQ restaurant. Eating there is amazing. I would stay here again just to be near that restaurant.

Wish there was a way to describe its style as "needs a good scrub." Hopefully I'll come back and see improvements.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Manbearpig9er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

This is a solid, basic hotel in Aspen. It's about a 10 minute easy walk to the downtown area. It's got a nice little pool and courtyard, the room was clean, the bathroom was recently re-done with nice tile, has a flat screen TV, bed was comfortable. It was quiet, too, which was nice. This place is, like I said, basic: no breakfast, no spa, no fitness room, no business center. If you are trying to impress your wife/girlfriend, maybe look elsewhere, but if you need an affordable and clean place in Aspen, this is your hotel!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveB4940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenelg, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

The St. Moritz is a small hotel located on the west side of town - perfect for us as we were visiting to see the Maroon Bells mountains and lake. The rates here are lower than probably any other hotel in town, but watch for the seasons - rates double or triple depending on when you stay. We were there in early June so we got the lowest rate. It is on the quiet side of town, so no complaints there. It's within walking distance of downtown Aspen in a safe and quiet neighborhood.

The room is very small, dark, and has a refrigerator, but has no microwave or coffeemaker. No coffeemaker! Coffee is served in the lobby from 7am - 9am. Wi-fi was good. There was no breakfast - the clerk says that doesn't start until June 16, coincidentally when the rates go up. Our room looked out on to the pool and had one twin bed and one double bed. There was a desk in the room and a bay window with a window seat and there was a closet. The refrigerator is on the floor in the closet. They did have a wall mounted HDTV, so that's a plus. They did provide nice scented soaps. There's no hairdryer in the room, but you can ask for one at the front desk. There's an ice chest downstairs. The breakfast room is downstairs too. The hallway is lined with racks for skis. The lobby has comfortable seating and local newspapers. They have bookshelves with lots of books and reading material.

The office shuts down at 5pm and opens again at 7am. When I say shuts down, I mean that boards are pulled down over the counter and there's no one there, but there's a phone with a number to call if you need help. They leave an envelope at the door if you're checking in late.

So, it's a great value if you're staying off season. Staff is friendly and helpful when they're there. Check-in and check-out were easy and there's parking all around the building.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snapngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.4 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
2.0 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#11 of 35 in Aspen
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#15 of 35 in Aspen
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
500 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.2 mi away
Tyrolean Lodge
Tyrolean Lodge
#12 of 35 in Aspen
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums

Property: St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
Address: 334 W Hyman Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-1650
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums is Aspen's "Affordable Choice." A friendly European style lodge located in downtown Aspen. Choose from standard lodge rooms, rooms with kitchenettes or 1 & 2 bedroom condos. For the economy minded traveler we offer shared & private hostels with shared baths. Pool/Whirlpool, Continental breakfast is served during the high winter and summer seasons. HD Flat screen TVs, HBO, Free Wi-Fi, local & US calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Moritz Hotel Aspen
St Moritz Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing