We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostess with the Mostiest!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Residence Hotel
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Wow, where to begin with reviewing this delightful hotel. My husband and I, who are Bermuda based, ust got back from two and half weeks at Terry Butler's Residence Hotel. Both Terry the owner and Terry the manager were so helpful continuously going the extra mile to make our stay fabulous. We feel like we have been adopted into a new wonderful international family. The location is perfect, right in the centre of everything, only a block to the excellent bus that transports you to one of the four mountains.
This hotel is the only place I have stayed where the beds are as comfortable as our one at home - all new temprapedic mattresses, wonderful down duvets, quirky unique antique decor - loved it all, including Charlie the dog. We will definitely be back next year. And looking forward to more antiquing trips down valley with Terry.

Room Tip: All rooms delightful, but especially liked the English Victorian.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Residence_Hotel, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Wow! Thank you so much for the kind comments and wonderful review. We just loved having you stay with us!

Come back soon!

Terry and Charlie :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for The Residence Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Absolutely loved the stay! Felt like part of a big family just entering. It has a convenient location in the middle of town, which means you do not need a car to get anywhere. You just step out the door and you are in the center of town. The Residence Hotel is the perfect place to stay to be at the heartbeat of this breathtaking little city. Thanks so much Terry for your hospitality! Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This hotel is in a very convenient location in the center of town. Parking is somewhat inconvenient, as one has to find parking on the street several blocks away from the center of town (although we enjoyed walking through downtown Aspen and this wasn't a problem for us). The daily maid service, which included cleaning of the kitchen, was very nice and thorough. The kitchen and bathrooms were a bit dated and need some updating (e.g., one of the bathrooms had wall to wall carpeting, the bathtub drained very slowly).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henry1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This small quality boutique hotel is in the dead-center of town in a building that likely dates back to the turn of the century. It has approximately 8 rooms, each very different, but all with a feeling of home. Nice antiques in the rooms. One room even has a baby grand piano! The owner and her very accommodating staff are present most of the day and can fill you in on what is going on in town. Its a real treat to go out to dinner or to go shopping around town and not have to take a car to get back. And when you stay at this hotel, you get a residence pass to park your car in street locations reserved for residents - at no additional cost. The larger hotels get you for about $35.00 a night for parking your vehicle. Only drawback some may voice is there is no elevator to get from the street to the hotel level, one flight up. However, this is a historic building, with much of the detail remaining, and has the feel of a museum. A very unique place to stay in Aspen as long as the stairs is not an issue. And your just down the block from Kemosabe, the best western wear store in the area.

Room Tip: Choose the size room you need - In my opinion they are all excellent rooms, but different sizes. Th...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry34134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The Residence Hotel is a rare find. Terry Butler the owner and Terry the Manager make sure you are happy. The rooms are warm and comfortable. This was my 2nd summer staying for a week. All the rooms are fantastic. Most have a kitchen but even if they do not they will make sure you have a microwave, mini fridge and coffee pot.
The location is right in the heart of downtown Aspen...close to everything. I stayed in the Crimson suite. 2 bedroom and a huge bath. Perfect for me and my son and his college pal.
It is refreshing to find a place where they just want to make sure your stay is perfect. Charlie the dog is a sweetheart....Oh, it is dog friendly too, which was great since I missed my pup!
Don't tell anyone how amazing this place is!:)

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank buglet74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We had a family trip planned with our 3 adult children (and two golden retrievers) and booked two rooms. The service and accommodations were exceptional. The Terry's (Butler and Terry the office manager) were so kind and welcoming. Beds were so comfortable and rooms were spacious. The location is fantastic. One of the best hotel experiences we have ever had and we travel extensively.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judykt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

Thank you for the great stay and letting your little chinese crested play with our miniature Schnauzer. Watching them play was just as good as the skiing!

The bed was really comfortable and location is perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iamconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#11 of 35 in Aspen
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Grand Aspen
Hyatt Grand Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Hotel

Address: 305 South Galena Street, Aspen, CO 81611-1817
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#10 Family Hotel in Aspen
Price Range: £167 - £949 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Residence Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the base of Ajax mountain in Aspen, one of America's finest ski resorts; and conveniently positioned to overlook the town's storied village, The Residence Hotel serves as a warm sanctuary for guests with distinguished tastes. Here, your stay is as much about comfort and relaxation, as it a global adventure through history. This small and charming Boutique Hotel contains seven suites and apartments, each one individually decorated in European flavor. The high ceilings offer the spaciousness rarely found in a ski resort. The bedrooms are furnished with Ralph Lauren linens and down-filled duvets. Original antique furnishings and accent pieces adorn each room, while walls are covered with museum quality artwork and designer fabrics. Most suites have wood-burning fireplaces. Crystal chandeliers, Persian rugs, marble bathrooms, hard wood floors and large overstuffed sofas and chairs give each room the comforts of a luxurious home. With two decades of loyal and distinguished guests that span from entertainers and athletes to artists and politicians, somehow the hotel still maintains a subtle mystique as the city's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing