We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Residence Hotel
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Aspen, CO
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxurious home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2008

I stayed at the Residence Hotel for several weeks while I was waiting for my home to be remodeled and I felt like a queen. Terry Butler is a gracious and engaging host and she greeted me everytime I came home. Her little dog Max and I became close friends. The decor is quite lavish but extremely comfortable (especially the beds!). There are some fascinating stories behind Terry's collection of art and antiques. The location is the best in all of Aspen, right in the center of the core. I will always cherish my time at the only hotel in Aspen that feels like home away from home.

  • Liked — Fascinating decor, wonderful host
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ItalyAspenGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence-Hotel, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Thank you for the kind review. To stay here is to live like a king or queen, I', so glad you agree.
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    5
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
18
34
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2008

Let's try and explain why this is one of the best hotels in the world by asking the journalist's questions:
WHO
Owner Terry. Butler is one of a kind. She not only makes her guests feel at home, she and her staff nearly adopt you. When you stay at her hotel, you are made to feel you are staying at her home. She/they also have fascinating life stories which they generously share, while being remarkably interested in yours.
WHAT
The Residence is one flight up to a fantasy world. The rooms are filled with valuable antiques gathered from all the world's exotic spots. They are displayed in huge suites, so you feel like you are staying in the chambers of a castle. You discover, to your astonishment, that each is equipped with all the modern gizmos that come with any world class hotel. There are flat panel TV's, coffee makers all the amenities. Somehow they blend in with the ancient pieces. It is blended so you don't feel hemmed in by clutter. Instead, it's so comfortable you want to sprawl out.
WHERE
The Residence in smack dab in the middle of Aspen. If there's a downtown, this is it. Not only that, but it'ssuch a few short steps to the mountain and skiing, that it's been described as the "Base Camp". After the slopes, all the food shopping and action of Aspen is just a short walk (or stagger) away.
WHEN
Year 'round
WHY
To savor an experience that is both luxurious and "down home" at the same time.
HOW
You pick up the phone and call them. Once you arrive, you can feel sorry for all the world's travelers who stay in something less than this extraordinary lodging.

  • Liked — It was a luxurious adventure
  • Disliked — steep front stairs to lobby
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank elbobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence-Hotel, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Couldn't have put it better myself if asked the same questions. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an intriguing and in-depth review, it was very thoughtful and original.
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder CO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2008

We visit Aspen regularly and feel this hotel is like a "home away from home". The rooms are exeptionally beautiful and spacious and the staff is accommodating to your every need. We love that we have a kitchen included. The location in Aspen cannot be beat. This is a VERY special place.

  • Liked — Location, suites, staff, pet friendly
  • Disliked — stairs to main floor
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dwspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence-Hotel, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
I never tire of hearing guests describe us as a home away from home, it is exactly what we want to be.
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2008

Wonderful charming and friendly. Center of town! Walk down the stairs and we were literally in the center of Aspen. Upstairs was our beautiful suite with European charm!!

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank loveaspenLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
residenceaspen, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Thank you for your review. Charm is what we strive to have here.
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2007

Extremely disappointed. The owner's dog is quiet and friendly, but there was a constantly barking dog next door to us. There was a doggie gate in the doorway of that room, so it appeared to be an established guest; we could hear the incessant barking in our room with the door closed. The bathroom was old and small and non-functional. The kitchen was old and uninviting. The reception area smelled from huge scented candles which caused an instant headache. It was more expensive than a new hotel a few blocks away, which had large clean rooms and bathrooms. In my opinion, not worth the money and would not recommend it.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noisy, old, unclean, more expensive than newer, larger cleaner hotels nearby
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank lovetotravel108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2007

Walk up a flight of stairs and find your own private pied a terre in the center of Aspen. No more than two blocks from anything that you could want. You will be greeted by the adorable Max, a Chinese Crested Powderpuff dog. Immediately you know you are in a special place. Seven suites, each individually decorated by the owner. Her world travels are reflected in each suite creating a wonderful sense of luxury and privacy. We stayed there four times last year and twice already this year. We can't wait to return again and again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank abrandw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
residenceaspen, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Wonderful, that is exactly what we have here, a pied-à-terre. Unfortunately Max is no longer with us, instead you will be greeted by Charlie, the barking ball of fur. Thank you for your review and we can't wait to see you again this year.
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2007

Everything about this hotel was wonderful, starting from its location. You can walk to everything...
It has 7 suites. I was able to get to see a couple of them...They are gorgeous...They are all individually decorated with antiques and art from around the world. The oversized sofas and chairs were so compfy and the staff was friendly and helpful...
The next time you get to Aspen you should check it out...You won't be disappointed...

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank zgottis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
residenceaspen, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
We have added an additional suite with a massive marble bathroom. It is as beautiful as the rest are. Thank you for your review of the hotel, it is indeed worth checking out for any and all visitors to Aspen looking for the best in hospitality.
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#3 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#13 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Hotel

Property: The Residence Hotel
Address: 305 South Galena Street, Aspen, CO 81611-1817
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#10 Family Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Residence Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the base of Ajax mountain in Aspen, one of America's finest ski resorts; and conveniently positioned to overlook the town's storied village, The Residence Hotel serves as a warm sanctuary for guests with distinguished tastes. Here, your stay is as much about comfort and relaxation, as it a global adventure through history. This small and charming Boutique Hotel contains seven suites and apartments, each one individually decorated in European flavor. The high ceilings offer the spaciousness rarely found in a ski resort. The bedrooms are furnished with Ralph Lauren linens and down-filled duvets. Original antique furnishings and accent pieces adorn each room, while walls are covered with museum quality artwork and designer fabrics. Most suites have wood-burning fireplaces. Crystal chandeliers, Persian rugs, marble bathrooms, hard wood floors and large overstuffed sofas and chairs give each room the comforts of a luxurious home. With two decades of loyal and distinguished guests that span from entertainers and athletes to artists and politicians, somehow the hotel still maintains a subtle mystique as the city's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing