We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau Roaring Fork
Ranked #21 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Aspen
Reviewed 16 January 2011

This was our 4th time at Chateau Roaring Fork. We stayed in #6. It was roomy and clean. The kitchen was well kept and had all of the things we needed. The washer and dryer are a plus. Great beds. We walked into town, it is very close to everything but you still feel like you are in the mountians. You can walk to Aspen Mountian. The pool is clean and heated. Great hot tub. Easy to get to public transportation for the festivals.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pamela4real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2010

I found this place on VRBO.com - from the description and pictures the owner provided the condo seemed nice and clean with a heated pool and hot tubs open year round. Added bonus was that no pets were allowed.

I specifically asked the owner where my 7-year-old daugher would be able to sleep, since there was only 1 bed in the condo. He said there was a nice air mattress we could pump up or make up a bed on the couch - he said extra bedding is provided.

When we arrived at the condo we were greeted with a large dumpster full of trash in the middle of the parking lot. We found the pool and hot tubs - to our disappointment they were covered up and a sign was posted that they were closed.

The condo itself upon first inspection was clean and tidy. A bit dated, with original cabinets dating from the 1970's (painted white). Lots of beams and that wood siding reminiscent of the 1970's - had been white washed. The furniture was cheap and stained in several places.

I found the extra bedding for my daughter. It consisted of 2 stained pillows, and 2 worn out blankets, one of the blankets was so worn out that it had a large hole in it. No sheets or pillow cases were provided.

By 10pm that night my allergies were so bad that we were conteplating a visit to the emergency room as I was having a full blown asthma attack. Since pets are not allowed in the unit - the only other culprit that can send me over the edge is MOLD. Given the age of the condo - circa 1970's and lack of upkeep on the building it wouldn't surprise me if there was mold throughout the walls.

My suggestion to the owner is to spend $50 at Target to purchase extra sheets, blankets and new pillows. Check into Mold Inspection/Mitigation - or have the carpets professionally cleaned - as previous renters might be sneaking their cats and dogs into the unit.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
4  Thank kimf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonogramProperties, Owner at Chateau Roaring Fork, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2011

As the owner of 19B, I must respond to Kim1's misrepresentations of this property, and this lovely complex.

I will simply start with the mystifying fact that this tenant never once contacted me about her concerns about the property. I not only provide my cell phone number to all tenants, but also contact phone numbers for the management company, Frias Properties, either of which could have addressed nearly all of her concerns.

I will first start with the closed pool. The pool and hot tubs are indeed closed between April 15th and May 31st, the timeframe of Kim1's visit. However, the complex offers complimentary passes to the nearby Aspen Club that has an indoor pool, hot tubs, steam rooms, and a fantastic fitness center.

Any tenant who properly checks in at the Frias Properties office to obtain their mandatory parking pass for the complex is notified about the passes to the Aspen Club.

"a dumpster in the middle of the parking lot"- The complex provides a dumpster in a fenced in area ADJACENT to the parking lot that is emptied daily at approximately 10:00 am.

Kim1's Allergies- The bedding (6 pillows and comforter) in the master bedroom of this unit are 100% goose down and are made by Ralph Lauren, and the sheets are 400 thread count Egyptian cotton. Since the HOA does not allow renters to have pets in the complex it is highly unlikely that any kind of pets had been in this unit. I can only guess that perhaps Kim1 is allergic to goose down. There has also been never been a water problem in the bedroom that would contribute to a mold issue and be responsible for her allergic reaction.

Air Mattress for her daughter- The unit is advertised as suitable for (2) tenants, not 3 (that's why there is no pull out couch). I borrowed an air mattress from one of my other units to accommodate Kim1's request for a child. There are 8 pillows provided in the unit, as well as 3 separate blankets.

I will concede that the cabinets in the unit are old, but the kitchen is very well equipped with caphlon pots and pans, full glassware, flatware and place setting for 6 people.

This unit also has a brand new entertainment cabinet with a Samsung fat screen TV, stereo, wireless internet, DVD player , i-pod docking station, brand new dining room table and new leather bar stools. It also features a solid oak Henredon sleigh bed and night stand in the bedroom and has a newly updated bathroom.

I will close by saying that this unit offers great value given its location. It overlook the Roaring Fork River and is less than 3 blocks from the gondola. Kim1 paid a mere $99 per night for this unit. I contend this is a GREAT value, even in the off-season for a 750 square ft unit in the heart of Aspen.

I can only apologize for her bad experience, but I can’t help those who can’t be bothered to pick up a phone and help themselves through a constructive dialog, or ask simply ask questions to me as the landlord.

Terry Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2006

My wife and 2 small children (7 and 9 ) recently stayed 7 nights at this condo complex during winter Jan 2006. The condo was a 2BR 2 bath offering, extremely spacious, warm , well fitted out on the ground floor. Very quiet. Both bathrooms had full size baths with excellent showers. Kitchen was adequate with large fridge, oven, electric cook top, microwave and all utensils one could need. Lounge was large and open with open fire if needed, TV, CD, Video, radio plenty of seating, dining table with 4 chairs and 4 bar stools. Main Bed room was large with a queen bed and extra TV plus en suite. Second BR was spacious with 2 single beds. Overall rating very good. Condo is serviced every day with beds made and towels changed. . The location was 3 blocks from the Ruby park bus terminus about a 5 minute walk without ski boots. Location is also on the town free skiers shuttle running every 20 minutes until 2am so this was very convenient. After skiing the walk back from Ruby park was slow with the kids so we often took the shuttle. Well recommended and much better value than other expensive properties in town which can cost a lot more. Would definitely stay again. As a comparison we saw Aspen Square and their 2BR condos are about half the size and a lot more expensive but more central.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank munjarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 2 March 2004

Wait until the last minute and get a lodging/lift ticket package through resortquest that can't be beat!!!

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones del bloque que se encuentra a la izquierda del estacionamiento (en el sentido que s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martinj-BsAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.5 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 35 in Aspen
516 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#13 of 35 in Aspen
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
1.5 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Roaring Fork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Roaring Fork

Address: 1039 E Cooper Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-4105
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Aspen
Price Range: £227 - £911 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Roaring Fork 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Chateau Roaring Fork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Roaring Fork Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing