We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hiking”
Review of Maroon Bells

Maroon Bells
Ranked #1 of 103 things to do in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Broomfield, Colorado
2 reviews
“Gorgeous hiking”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Gorgeous, just go early if you want solace. I always see bears here, right by the lake. Lots of backpacking choices start here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Macymay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,891 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,717
    139
    29
    0
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
649 reviews
317 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Watched a bear!”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

After admiring the gorgeous view we walked back towards the lower parking lot and saw a bear across the lake feeding ... he did not even notice the forty people photographing him as he continued feeding. Perfect ending to the gorgeous Maroon Bells visit. Wish we would have had more time to hike around the lake but then we would have met the bear close up!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank nowpacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Simply Beautiful”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Since we were there in the summer and between the hours of 9 am and 5 pm, we took the bus to Maroon Bells. The adult price is $6.00 but if you go on Wednesday as we did, it is half price. The bus driver told us all about the area and what we were seeing on the way up to the location. The place is simply beautiful on all sides of you. The lake and mountains will leave you in awe. This is not to be missed for anyone in the area. There are many trails here, so you can do as much or as little as you would like.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank tdtid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Hiking at the Bells is a must when you visit Aspen. The grandparents and the kids loved exploring the lake and the aspen tree lined forest. You will take some of the most amazing photographs here.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mmoonme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome area-fantastic scenery”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We've been there twice. First time was fall of 2008. Second time end of July 2014. Be there early morning for sunrise over lake. Great pictures! We've done hike up to lake at base of Maroon Bells.
Fall is really best for color-aspen ablaze with color of yellows, red browns.
It can get crowded in parking lot and when full there's buses to ride in.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Screensave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Maroon Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing