We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss a Bike Ride Down the Trail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rio Grande Trail

Rio Grande Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
US$99.00*
and up
Glenwood Springs and Carbondale Bike and Brews Guided Day Tour
Ranked #9 of 101 things to do in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Don't Miss a Bike Ride Down the Trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Several years ago my son and I road bikes down to Basalt from Aspen. Wonderful (and easy on the downhill) and stunningly beautiful ride. And all available right from town.

This year my wife and I biked down the trail with our son and daughter and a friend 7 1/2 miles to the Woody Creek Tavern, had a very pleasant lunch, and then biked back to Aspen. This was terrific. It's a good amount of time on the bike for a family, and the scenery is magnificent. You're riding back with a good incline, so go light on the lunch and avoid the margaritas!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    47
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phelan, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I did 50!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

A goal of mine was to accomplish a 50 mile bike ride. The Rio Grande Trail was the means for me to accomplish my goal. We started at the Two Rivers Park Trailhead and turned around after reaching mile 25. This is very scenic and relatively flat.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sheryl t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rio Grande to Woody's Tavern”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We loved riding our bike down the Rio Grande Trail to Woody's Tavern. Great food and margaritas. Approx 6 miles each way. Great outdoor activity outside of the city.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I've used this trail for years for walking and bike riding.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I have a group of friends and we ride bikes often down this trail to Basalt, Willets, and Carbondale. All of these towns have excellent restaurants. The ride back is only for pros. You put your bike on the bus, or call a taxi, and they will ferry you back to Aspen.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DevourDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowmass Village, Colorado
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Rent a Bike and Go to the Woody Creek Tavern”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Scenic, mellow trail along the Roaring Fork River that goes from Aspen all the way to Glenwood Springs. It used to be the Rio Grande Rail Road track. The most scenic stretch is from Aspen to Basalt. You can ride your bike to the Woody Creek Tavern to have lunch. Be aware that if you ride to Basalt and try to ride the bus back there are limited bike racks and you could be waiting for some time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Cougarcubkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rio Grande Trail also viewed

 

Been to Rio Grande Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing