We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ski-in, Ski-out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Club, Aspen Highlands
Ranked #2 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Aspen
Level Contributor
258 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Ski-in, Ski-out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed there this spring skiing all 3 locations: Highlands, Aspen and Snowmass. Whilst it will be about 10 min drive by shuttle bus to Aspen Downtown we enjoyed the convenience of easy ski-in, ski-out, the challenging runs combined with great variety for family runs, the layout of the resort village and mostly to return to the luxury of the Ritz after a full day of skiing.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel2Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    5
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
31
11
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

This ritz has a phenomenal location and the hotel/rooms are very nice. The highlands base area is quiet and relaxed, lifts are located adjacent to the hotel. Each of the residences is well furnished and nicely remodeled.

Unfortunately, the service here can be inconsistent. Some of the staff will go out of their way to be helpful and pleasant, and that is very much appreciated. Other staff will try to do the least amount of work they can get away with, and have a nasty attitude when they are asked to follow through on basic advertised tasks. Mistakes made by the staff are usually apologized for are are often corrected. But the attitude that our requests were bothersome is a bit troubling from a ritz.

There were some bright spots. The bell and ski valet staff were excellent. When we asked the concierge for a restaurant recommendation, or a specific item, it was usually available promptly. The level of services provided by a few of the staff were excellent, but in general, the concierge staff and hotel management needs some improvement.

Some problems from a recent visit that caused a lower review.

1) We used the sleep sofa in our room. Each morning we asked for it to be prepared and setup for the night. 4 nights in a row we had to make multiple phone calls in order to get bedding for the sleep sofa.

2) We got massages at the spa. The gratuity is included in the bill. The massage specialist did not listen to our requests, listened to loud music during the massage, and stopped 5 minutes early. Attempts to notify the hotel about the poor quality spa experience were met with indifference.

3) We reserved a 3bd residence for 3 nights and a 2bd residence for 1 night. The concierge staff tried to force us to stay in the 2bd for 4 nights. We politely refused the offer, only to be called numerous times within 2 hrs in our room to "convince" us to stay in the 2bd. When I suggested compensation for switching out 3bd for a 2bd, the concierge promptly hung up. Eventually we did get our reserved rooms, but only after many forceful sales pitches to give up our reserved room for another one.

4) Before we arrived at the hotel, we called twice in advance to setup airport transfers. The day before our arrival, we received a voice message to call to setup our airport transfers. We called a 3rd time. At the airport, no one was waiting, despite 3 conversations with 3 different concierges. We called a 4th time. The driver insisted that no one from our party had reserved an airport transfer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Concierge department needs major overhaul. They never followed through with their duties. we were always chasing them and cleaning up their screw ups. They messed up ski schools for our kids, ordering the food shopping list, not understanding their own shuttle service and how it works, etc.... This list goes on. Just a major disappointment. They need to be trained like other Ritz from around the world. What ever happened to the Ritz philosophy of "Never say No". It seemed we were always putting them out, and they were constantly negative. Thank God the bell captains and ski valets were great.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler29141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

The hotel is very nice and in a beautiful location, but the service was inconsistent. Everyone was very friendly, but I had a number of annoying issues: my room service meal was incorrect, the movies on demand was not functioning, the maid knocked on my door when I had the do not disturb sign on, I could hear the plumbing from the next door room. The rooms have been beautifully rennovated.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jgirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver, colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Family stayed 2 nights at ritz aspen the week before x mas. There are 3 buildings that all back directly to the ski slope/lift. We had a 3 bed condo in Elkhorn, which i think is the best of the 3 buildings due to the pool/spa and proximity to the lift (15 yards). The condo itself was wonderful. Everything has been thought out....from tvs that auto position from the wall to heated bathroom floors. The workout rooms are like any other ritz (great) and the locker rooms have steam rooms which were great after skiing. The pool is fantastic as well as the outdoor hot tub. What really set this place apart from other Ritz/four seasons was the service. The service was the best we have ever had. From check in to ski valet, everything was top shelf. Our whole family enjoyed every second. The shuttle into town (5 minute ride) is great as well. Food at the ritz was ok...food on the mountain was excellent. Would highly recommend spoiling yourself here. Gareth Williams is the man who set us up....he is excellent.

Room Tip: try to get in "Elkhorn" building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarkgriswold817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

I have just returned from 10 days in a three bedroom condo at the Ritz Carlton. While we got off to a rocky start, but due to some great snow and quick thinking by the Ritz management everything turned out great.
Due to some screw ups by United Airlines, our flight from Denver to Aspen was delayed for 3 hours, we learned after waiting for an hour that no baggage had been put on the plane. The Ritz shuttle driver couldn't have been nice waiting and helping us file all the paperwork for the lost baggage. When we arrived at the Ritz, we learned that even though we had numerous emails with management detailing our bed requirements, the middle room was set up with a single queen bed instead of the requested and required 2 single beds to accommodate our teenage children. After a number of meetings with the assistant manager, as it was a Sunday night, even though they said that there was nothing they could do till morning, somehow they then discovered an available room for us and we were able to accommodate all the kids. The next day, they removed the queen bed and replaced it with two singles.
The condo was well equipped, a nice comfortable kitchen, and a dining table to seat 10. The only other screw up was the arranged grocery delivery was not correct. Not only was the food delivered at 10 pm, when they knew we were supposed to arrive at 3 pm, but the order was incomplete. The Ritz ended up waiving the buying fee.
Other than that, the week went so well, I extended our trip 4 days as the snow was so good. We stayed in the White River Lodge, which is the quieter lodge of the two. Aspen Highlands is a very quiet place, but it is truly ski in ski out accommodations. With a ski valet who brings your skis out to the slope, extremely friendly bell staff, shuttle drivers and concierges, all in all I would give it a 4.5. The only other knock is that the housekeeping staff was hit or miss, some great, others not so. The restaurant is closed on Monday and Tuesday and has a limited menu. While it was recommended to us, the only mal we had was breakfast and it was not good. I did complain and they did bring fresh food, it was too late to make it up.
If you are looking for Aspen nightlife, you have to take the shuttle to town, which is about 10 minutes away and a conveniently shuttle runs twice an hour with many stops in town. There are limited services at Aspen Highlands and after 5 pm, the place is pretty deserted.
The spas are nice and very clean as you would expect from a Ritz with a nice outdoor pool and large hot tub. If you are looking for a quiet place with very nice accommodations, then this might be the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmd03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2010

The problems began at the airport. We had arranged to be picked up by the hotel shuttle but they forgot to send someone. We called and eventually someone came and got my family and me.

When we arrived at the hotel we found that our room phone did not work. After TWO days of complaining, electricians and service people started coming and going, trying to figure out what the problem was. They never were able to fix it but the people answering the main hotel phones kept trying to put our family and friends through to the room. We told them repeatedly the phone did not ring in our room and we weren't able to access our voicemail but they wouldn't listen. It was as if they were running on autopilot. Finally on the FOURTH day of this, after having a sit down meeting with the manager of the hotel, we were given a cell phone to use in the room (our own cell phones had no reception anywhere in the hotel so they were useless).

We were told by someone who worked at the hotel that we were basically the first guests since their massive renovation so we were "the guinea pigs." If we were meant to be guinea pigs we should have been compensated but we were not. There were other issues with electrical outlets not working, porters not arriving at the time we had previously arranged, the shuttle back to the airport not being ready for when we had booked, room service orders delivered with meals missing, and the housekeeping service was VERY inconsistent and, on the last day, downright surly.

Even within the hotel staff there was agreement we should have been compensated for the frequent and numerous inconveniences. All hands were apparently tied, however, as the units are individually owned and we were told any remuneration would have to come from the owner of our particular suite. A ridiculous passing of the buck that ends up making everyone look irresponsible and incompetent.

I was sincerely shocked by the low level of service and organization. We will not be staying there again and will warn anyone who asks to stay away as well.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BDHvG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
1.9 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
1.9 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#3 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
1.8 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#13 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Club, Aspen Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Club, Aspen Highlands

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Club, Aspen Highlands
Address: 75 Prospector Rd, Aspen, CO 81611-3396 (Formerly The Ritz Carlton Club Aspen Highlands )
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Club, Aspen Highlands 4.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Club, Aspen Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Club Aspen Highlands Hotel Aspen
Ritz Aspen
Ritz-Carlton Aspen
Aspen Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing