We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best ribs ever!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hickory House

Hickory House
Ranked #5 of 161 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Goulburn, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best ribs ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Hickory House was on our 18 year old sons places to eat list. We thought we should get it over with early on in our stay in Aspen. We loved it!! Great atmosphere and the ribs were to die for.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    220
    74
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Post race Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Following the Golden Leaf Trail Half Marathon we stopped in at the hickory House which had been recommended by a friend. I must say that the food was excellent as well as the service. They open at 5:00 and don't take reservations so get there early or plan to wait for a table. The ribs are every bit as good as they say they are and literally fall off the bone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good normal food in a friendly local setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is a great find if you want good BBQ and sides in a setting that is very casual. We went to Aspen for hiking and outside activities and most of the restaurants in this town are quite fancy and expensive. I got BBQ chicken and my husband tried a steak one night and ribs on another visit. Everything we ordered was wonderful and the portions are large. The beans and coleslaw were very good, nothing exotic but that is the way we wanted it. Prices are reasonable for the location and the amount. The staff that served us was very nice and noticed that we returned a couple of extra times during our stay in Aspen. This appears to a place locals frequent. We will return when in the area for sure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank triharder2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
145 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Loved It...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Went here after hours at Maroon Bell's.My companion had bbq and I had their wonderful "Pig Salad".It was huge,delicious and priced properly.We also had a wonderful young man as our waiter who is originally from Argentina.It's the very first place on the left as you enter town on 82 coming from Glenwood.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank O2BeTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Average at best. The ribs which they promote as the best in Colorado are only average. Good smoke flavor, but nothing outstanding. Their sauces contain strange amounts of cloves or nutmeg. Not very good. My wife's steak was a nice piece of meat, but way over done (ordered med rare, got well done). The beans were good, but not outstanding. Good service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank happycamper690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hickory House also viewed

 

Been to Hickory House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing