We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee in Aspen”
Review of Main Street Bakery & Cafe - CLOSED

Main Street Bakery & Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
238 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Aspen”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We eat here regularly when we are in Aspen. I think the pastries are the best bet. and the biscuits are wonderful. Occasionally they have 1/2 price pastries late in the afternoon, if there is anything left over, so you can get some deals for breakfast in your hotel room the next morning. We had good service though they were swamped when we were there for breakfast around 8 AM on a Sunday. From the outside the place looks a bit like it's in need of some repair but don't let that deter you.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    106
    23
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
138 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Almond Cinnamon french toast and the NYTimes”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Good coffee, great french toast (huge portion, but they will wrap any left over to go, its even good reheated !!). Also you can get the NYTimes here. Its busy and many tables are shared which works fine here. Its on the West end of Aspen and a good option if you are on this side of town rather than walking all the distance to Poppycocks.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mary n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good basic breakfast..”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

If you're looking for a traditional type of breakfast, Main Street Bakery is your place.

From biscuits and gravy, to omelets and homemade pastries, its all here. This place is always busy and you're almost guaranteed to wait. When it gets busy, if you want to sit down, you'll probably end up at a community table. Also, on cold days, people wait inside, so you're elbow to elbow, which can put a bit of a damper on being comfortable while eating.

Service is quick and sometimes a bit scattered. You'll get your food and then they can forget about you. This has happened a couple of times.

But, if you're looking for traditional breakfast at a semi-reasonable Aspen price, this is your place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank itsallhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent for Lunch - Cozy Atmosphere”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We enjoyed a delicious lunch here. They have a very diverse menu. I had a sashimi tuna salad with all sorts of accompaniments. They have an awesome variety of bakery items and sweets which we all loved. Very cozy atmosphere and a place I would have passed up based on the outside appearance if this had not been recommended by our hotel staff. Definitely worth a lunch stop here if in Aspen and some sweets to go. They also serve coffees and lattes. Was a little pricey for lunch but after all we were in Aspen!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Homely feel”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stopped by on the last morning of our trip to Aspen. Loved the atmosphere and the breakfast was excellent. Well cooked Omlette with all the accompaniments, good coffee too. It felt "real". Much much better value than the hotel, as I said to my wife twice as good at half the price. I love good "honest" places like this.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jezblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Main Street Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing