We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative and Innovative”
Review of Pinons Restaurant

Pinons Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Pinons Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 160 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
915 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 449 helpful votes
“Creative and Innovative”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

If you want deliciously creative and innovative American/Colorado cuisine, this is the place. Beautifully located on the second floor of an historic building, you can never go wrong here. The local "game" meats are wonderful. The specials are spot on. The wine list superb. The only difficulty is getting a reservation.

TIP: Make your reservations for in advance if you want to diner here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dmittleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    57
    29
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Finest Dining in Aspen”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We hadn't eaten at Pinions for several years because reservations are hard to get (call Jim). It was worth the wait. Fine food. Excellent wine list. Friendly staff. Great location near everything.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A great meal”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Our party of six had reservations at Pinions mid-week, at 6pm. We were the first diners in the restaurant, and no one was at the desk to great us.

Everyone chose different entrees and while I didn't taste any but my own, every one said there food was excellent.

I had the Pepper Crusted Pork Tenderloin with "roasted garlic mashers, brocolini, coarse grain mustard & an apricot glaze." I ordered it medium, and in hind-sight should have ordered medium-rare, but still it was absolutely wonderful... tender and flavorful and the glaze was amazing. My wife had the Pan Seared Buffalo Tenderloin, "Espresso seared, boursin country potatoes, huckleberry sauce." She loved the tenderloin and said the potatoes were "to die for."

While the food and our waiter were good, apparently they were training a few new people - one served me the bison tenderloin instead of the pork tenderloin and another served Dover Sole instead of the Sea Bass. Our waiter saw it, and immediately apologized and switched the entrees to the correct place,

We like to explore new restaurants, but this is one we will probably return to.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wy0Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Go for buffalo steak!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We have been twice to this restaurant, and it never disappointed us. I am sorry to admit, but both times I had buffalo steak :) First time just out of curiosity, the second because I knew it is going to be great! The service is attentive, wine selection satisfactory, the place is looking good. Not toto fancy, not too old fashioned, nor modern. Something in between to suit all tastes. Same as the menu. I think that everybody is going to find something to love and a reason to come back to this restaurant.

PS: only disappointing experience was making reservation. The gentleman on the phone line promised to call back and confirm the reservation, but it was us who had to call back :(

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tokioska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
407 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in nice setting.”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Great ambience with even better food. Expected a steak house atmosphere, but very contemporary setting with a diverse menu. My wife had a tofu burrito that was delicious. I had the pepper pork that was succulent. The mushroom soup and salad were good. The homemade sorbet was light and refreshing. Excellent chocolate martini.So far my favorite in Aspen.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pinons Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pinons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing