We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad dinner”
Review of Cantina - CLOSED

Cantina
Price range: US$0 - US$12
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Cantina is a lively Mexican restaurant serving traditional and TexMex food in the Aspen area. Our menu offers everything from enchiladas, carnitas and carne asada to ceviche and wings. All of our food is fresh and prepared in-house daily, and we have daily specials that are always a favorite. We also have a fun happy hour atmosphere, with great drink and food specials. One of the most unique things about Cantina is that we serve our own infused tequila, and have the widest selection of tequila in the area. With the largest seating capacity of any restaurant in Aspen and with four distinct rooms, Cantina is a great place to host your event. We host everything from weddings, rehearsal dinners, corporate events, college and employee events, to Superbowl and New Year’s Eve parties. We can accommodate groups up to 334 people, and have a custom-made dance floor with audio/video facilities for you to enjoy. For the sports lovers, we have plenty of HD televisions and a giant HD screen, so we’re always showing the game.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bad dinner”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We love Mexican food and we decided to try La Cantina in Aspen. Reading the menu, it looks like it should be good but the big decepcion came with the food: Chicken Fajitas served in a big plate all together with the guacamole, refried beans with the cheese already melted on top, the letuce, tomato and sour cream. Chicken or beef Fajitas always come on a Sizzling pan together with onions and peppers. Then the Guacamole didn't look or taste any homemade. I already find out that there are better places in Aspen where the guacamole is made to order or prepare at the table and the fajitas come Sizzling on a pan. We lost one of our dinners on our trip. We never are coming back or recommending this place,

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deryk c, Manager at Cantina, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am very sorry to hear about your recent dinner with us. Although not served on sizzling platters, we strive to make every fajita plate as fresh and appetizing as possible. I'm sorry we did not come up to the mark on your visit. I hope you consider giving us another try some other time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    43
    23
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Koloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Our party was forced to wait for over an hour for our food (8pm reservation on a Wednesday evening) The restaurant was busy and I would have excused it had ANYONE bothered to come to our table and say something but we were totally ignored.
When the food finally arrived the Carnitas were absolutely in edible. The pork was dried out like jerky. I am in awe of the person in the kitchen who put that on our plates and had the guts to send it out.
The Fajitas were not served on a sizzling platter as expected but rather cooked meat dropped on a plate with the other ingredients. Not what we expected.
The manager did come out when we complained and removed a few items from our bill. He was nice and apologetic but honestly, we had been really looking forward to good Mexican food and I'm sorry to say that is not what we got.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deryk c, Manager at Cantina, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
I apologize for your experience. No excuses. We work to provide the freshest food and most pleasant experience. Hope you will try us again so we can redeem ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
96 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great mole”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The chips and salsa were good, a little sweetness to the salsa. I had the combo platter with a chicken mole enchilada, which was delicious and a pork street taco. I enjoyed both and the mole was really good. The sangria was good too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank saltw80128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deryk c, Manager at Cantina, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Great choices! Thanks for the recommendations! I love the enchiladas and sangria as well. Next time try our Margaritas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
340 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 539 helpful votes
“Perfect Mexican restaurant”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We listened to our waiter to order the Chef's suggestions and we understood that the decision was correct. The food was mouth-watering delicious. Service was excellent and friendly as in everywhere in Aspen. The prices reasonable, and the location of the restaurant is convenient.
I definitely would suggest this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelguru-su
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deryk c, Manager at Cantina, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thanks for the suggestion. Glad you enjoyed your meal and listened to your waiters opinion. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
99 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We had a great family dinner at Cantina. The service was excellent. Margaritas were top notch. Try the food specials. Everyone was happy. Guacamole was excellent.

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deryk c, Manager at Cantina, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thanks for the review. Great place to have a fun and delicious family dinner. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cantina also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing