We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nobu like”
Review of Matsuhisa-Aspen

Matsuhisa-Aspen
Reserve with OpenTable
Matsuhisa-Aspen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 161 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$35
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Monarch
Transit: Roaring Fork Transit Authority (RFTA) has stops on either side of our location; at Paepke Park (Main St and Aspen St) as well as Galena (Main St and Galena). It is a one block walk to Matsuhisa Aspen (Main and Monarch).
Description: Matsuhisa Aspen is nestled beneath a quaint victorian house in the mountain town of Aspen Colorado and features the cuisine of world renowned chef Nobu Matsuhisa. Japanese-inspired seafood and sushi, as well as an ultra-hip scene and lively bar crowd can best describe Matsuhisa Aspen. We are a continuation of Matsuhisa L.A., Nobu New York, Nobu London and may more locations around the world.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nobu like”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Good place for those evenings, when you want to have a break and eat something light. The menu won't surprise you, especially when you visited Nobu already. But it doesn't mean its less good. Its very tasty, and well prepared. Service is quick and attentive. We were quite hungry when we came, so we have ordered plenty, and I have to thank to our waiter who was so nice to cancel several rolls we ordered which we wouldn't be able to eat at the end. Thank you! :)
The only minus is the interior, which is quite dark and doesn't remind Japanese restaurant in any way. Well, there are some details, but not too many.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tokioska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    83
    48
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Our food experience here was one of my all time favorites. Every item we ordered was perfection.
I'd like to give a description of everything we had but there was so much that we ordered (many dishes recommended by our fabulous waiter) that I can't even begin. We were only disappointed that we didn't have enough people with us (you need 7) to order the chef's menu. The atmosphere here is modern and a little bland and the prices are out of sight but the food trumps all that. I was shocked at the number of children here considering the prices but Aspen is so family friendly it should be expected.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeighD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family favorite”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Every time we are in Aspen, my husband and his family make a point of going to dinner at Matsuhisa and we have never been disappointed. The basement dining room has a cool, almost laid back vibe and there is usually at least one famous face in the crowd. There is a variety of drinks and cocktails on the menu - but do not order the house wine - the white was more then a martini. At that price pick a label you like. We tend to order a platter of sushi with some sides to share, because the specialty rolls are fun and creative, it's hard to try just one. No matter what we order, it has been consistently great. The servers have always been helpful then deciding what to order and have always added the the experience as a whole. This Matsuhisa remains a family favorite.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank phoebeuwec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Do not miss this restaurant when in Aspen!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

It was difficult to get reservations at a reasonable time even on weekdays. We chose to sit at the bar. Wish I would have gotten the bartenders name - he was fun and knew exactly what was on the menu and what was flown in fresh that day for the specials. We relied on him to help us make our dinner orders. Dined there twice out of our 3 night stay - we would have gone every night for a week if we could have stayed that long.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrandieMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Aspen”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Wonderful fresh, inventive sushi, sashimi, vegetarian dishes and more. We always sit upstairs--no reservations are required or taken. You can make reservations for the downstairs restaurant which has a more comprehensive menu but the upstairs menu is huge. In the summer, you can sit outside on the patio. The servers are great--friendly, knowledgeable and attentive.

It is not cheap but the food is excellent and healthy--just a very special treat every time we go.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlandN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matsuhisa-Aspen also viewed

 

Been to Matsuhisa-Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing