We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Promised a lot and underdelivered” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elevation - CLOSED

Elevation
Cuisines: American, Asian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Monarch St.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Promised a lot and underdelivered”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

We went in a group of 10. We all had high expectations. We were all underwhelmed. The food was ok the service was ok. We expected more given the price.
The wasabi ceaser salad was good which was one con.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 4x4xfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    5
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“European in Aspen - puzzled...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Well, I heard a lot about Elevation so expectations were high. Once you finally find the place hidden in the basement, the ambiance is very nice and confirms high expectations. The place is crowded so reservation is a must. Food and wine selection is very good and the way it is served is truly nice. The only trouble is the chef has a lot of passion for the pepper ...it is not that the food is hot, it is just that the pepper dominates over the other, more sublime flavors - spoiling otherwise great experience. We all had the same perception after eating salad, pasta, fish and meat. It is was all good and tasty but could have been spectacular with just a little less pepper...hopefully the chef had only a bad day...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tq0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

We were recommended the restaurant by our hotel and had an excellent meal and wine. The service was discreet yet pro-active, the elk, excellent

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BuckinghamSunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Amazing, a must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

We were in Aspen for Thanksgiving and came across this gem. The bar wad stocked with beautiful wine, the staff exceptionally friendly and the food the best we had in Aspen. We went back 3 times!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheSecret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, great food and atmosphere, an Aspen favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

The staff in both the restaurant and bar are super friendly, which makes Elevation a fun place to hang out before and after dinner. We've been in on a quiet out of season night, and New Years Eve 2011- the food was really great both times. I don't like some of the pretentious scene of Aspen, Elevation is quality without the attitude - perfect for when you want to chill out / relax on a vacation :-)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikkers76_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing