We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we were looking for...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bangkok Happy Bowl Thai Bistro and Bar - Aspen, CO

Bangkok Happy Bowl Thai Bistro and Bar - Aspen, CO
Ranked #86 of 161 Restaurants in Aspen
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Located next to Clark's Market in Aspen, Bangkok Happy Bowl has quickly become a favorite for locals and visitors alike. The authentic thai bistro offers several original and award winning signature recipes by Chef Paula Rungsawang Coult. For the past two decades, Paula has earned international acclaim for her Thai recipes in Australia, and came to the U.S. in the early 2000's with partner Kirk Coult. The couple has opened several successful restaurants in California and Colorado, including the Wild Bangkok Bar, which won the Top of the Town award in 2012 for best Thai restaurant in Denver. Kirk and Paula have been regular visitors to the Aspen community for years and saw a need for an unassuming, come-as-you-are, Thai bistro that could offer a quaint setting for dine in and convenient access for take-out service. Their challenge was finding the ideal location. However, as soon as they heard about the space next to Clark's, Bangkok Happy Bowl found its home. The menu at Bangkok Happy Bowl changes seasonally, with winter dishes like Pumpkin Curry and Lamb, or the more classic fare of Pad Thai with your choice of beef, chicken, shrimp or tofu is also available. Each of Paula's recipes offers you a choice of mild, spicy or the traditional Thai way (what Paula fondly calls Paula hot). Bangkok Happy Bowl offers a full bar, dine-in, take-out and delivery in the Aspen core and Snowmass village for larger orders. Parking is free.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We were looking for a casual, relaxed dining experience during our visit to Aspen and had a craving for Thai food. The Bangkok Happy Bowl ticked both boxes.
It's a pretty laid back cafe away from the main restaurant strip - located in a shopping mall but the food was tasty and the dishes we had were pretty authentic. We sat at the bar and ordered the Pad Thai which was great and the Thai Green Curry which was also very good. It was pleasing to see the curry served with the healthier brown rice option, although a choice between brown and white rice would satisfy a broader demographic. We opted for 'medium' heat in both dished and both had a good amount of spice! The servings were generous and we washed both down very well with bottled Thai Singha beer.
The restaurant does seem a bit confused between Thai and Japanese influences, with things such as Edamane and Sake featuring on the menu, but this did not distract from the experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew3181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirk C, Owner at Bangkok Happy Bowl Thai Bistro and Bar - Aspen, CO, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Glad we could give you a taste of Thai food in a relaxed dining environment, Andrew! All of our chefs are from Thailand and have been cooking family recipes for a long time, so It's great to hear you felt the Pad Thai and Thai Green Curry were authentic.

As for the rice, all of our dishes come with our Wild Bangkok Rice, which is a blend of brown and red rice and special secret ingredients. We actually serve white rice at no extra charge and this is printed on our menu, though it seems we could've been more clear about that. Is there anything else you think we could improve on?

We'd love to see you back next time you're in the states!

Take care,
The Staff at Bangkok Happy Bowl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    19
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glencoe, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brown Rice? Really? At a Thai resturant?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had ordered dinner here one night while staying in Aspen. We love Thai food and usually have it at least once a week so we were happy when we found this place listed in the phone book. We placed a “to-go” order. When we returned to our hotel, we were disappointed for two reasons. First, the restaurant uses “brown rice” as opposed to traditional white rice found in most Thai restaurants. Why? No clue. Second, one of the entrees we ordered was Penang Curry with Chicken and there was almost no chicken to be found yet jsut enough to let you know that yes, you in-fact had received their version of Penang Curry with Chicken. The Pad Thai was really good though, so if you‘re looking just for that, I’d up my score on this restaurant. I will say that the hostess was a wonderful person and very friendly and gracious to all the customers we saw her interact with.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James_C103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirk C, Owner at Bangkok Happy Bowl Thai Bistro and Bar - Aspen, CO, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thanks for checking us out during your stay in Aspen, James! We're always happy to serve Thai food fans, though we wish everything you tried was as memorable as the Pad Thai. All of our dishes are served with our Wild Bangkok Rice, which is a blend of brown and red rice along with special secret ingredients. White rice is available upon request at no extra charge. This is printed on the menu, but it seems we could've been more clear. As for the Penang Curry with Chicken, it sounds like we dropped the ball and didn't include enough chicken in your meal -- I sincerely apologize for that. Overall, it seems a small preference and a little less meat were the only things taking away from what was a pretty solid experience. Would you agree? If that's the case, we hope you'll give us another chance to really knock it out of the park for you next time you're in town! -- Sincerely, The Staff at Bangkok Happy Bowl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marble
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super casual & yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

My friend introduced this little eatery to me. Delicious food and so much to chose from. Fast as well! I love the curry and the pad Thai! Our waitress was beyond friendly and went out of her way to make every aspect if our experience genuinely enjoyable. Very reasonable and hearty portions!

Helpful?
Thank RyanBBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirk C, Owner at Bangkok Happy Bowl Thai Bistro and Bar - Aspen, CO, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Glad you and your friend stopped by, Karly! Pad Thai is one of our most popular dishes, so it's great to hear you enjoyed it. Also happy to hear your waitress made your experience a delightful one.

We'd love to see you again whenever you're back in our neck of the woods!

Warm wishes,
The Staff at Bangkok Happy Bowl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasty and a good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We enjoyed the pad thai (one of the better ones we've had) and some other dishes. Satisfied a craving for Thai food very effectively.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank zenpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Bangkok Happy Bowl - DISATROUS!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I live in Aspen and was thrilled that we would have Thai food. I have tried this place numerous times and I AM DONE! The food is poor quality. I have eaten on-site and ordered delivery, and both have been awful. It's very pricey and mediocre. Word is that the kitchen is very dirty. I got sick the last time I ate there. It might have been the food or the fact that the place next door poured bleach into its drain to unclog the plumbing. I felt poisoned. Will wait to get my Thai fix elsewhere. What are they thinking???

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulineKael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bangkok Happy Bowl Thai Bistro and Bar - Aspen, CO also viewed

 

Been to Bangkok Happy Bowl Thai Bistro and Bar - Aspen, CO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing