We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Bistro with Variable Prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rustique Bistro

Rustique Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Rustique Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 160 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
369 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Excellent Bistro with Variable Prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

On a downtown Aspen street, Rustique is a stylish restaurant that offers a pretty expensive seeming menu--but then there's the "bar menu." Come early and grab one of the tables near the bar (or sit at the bar). The benefit will be cheaper prices with same-size servings. We ordered three dishes and could not finish everything. In particular we liked the platter of meats. Nice waiters. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GEDLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    70
    47
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
306 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“They made up for the wait!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had reservations for 8 and didn't get seated until after 8:30. The prior reservations did not get up from their tables in a timely manner. To say the least, we were not happy. However, the manager, Doug Kidder, made up for the wait. He seated us as soon as possible and brought to our table immediately a platter of charcuterie and made sure we had drinks right away. I ordered a sidecar and it was not up to par. He credited or bill for this. However, the rest of the drinks and food were fabulous! We ordered French onion soup, frog legs, sweet breads, and calfs liver. I gave the restaurant a 5 star because they were tuned into their clientele. The noise level was not too noisy for 4 people.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gbwcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
157 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Rustique is a French Bistro in Aspen, and like all upper end restaurants in Aspen it is over-priced for the quality. That said, the food is good and well=presented, but would not justify those prices in most other cities. Their truffled pomme frites we ordered as a starter were very good, but they were the highlight of the meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M33star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia,pa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

though we've spent countless weeks in Aspen over the years, Somehow Rustique excaped our notice. Until this past week. My husband and I visited on a recent evening. We shared the 2 special starters- a tomato/watermelon gazpacho with crab meat and foie gras with truffled potatoes and baked peaches. Wow. both were suberb. we both had the Duck confit for entrees. and shared bananas foster for dessert. the meal was exceptional by any standards. the ambience ( we dined out doors) and the service were fine but the food really shone. Turns out there is a new chef who's been there for 4 months. It's one of the best meals we've had in aspen in a while.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cbdentst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Terrible "French" food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was our first meal in Aspen. The restaurant has been recommended by a friend. Maybe the ownership has changed since she ate here. We sat outside on a Friday night and were the only customers the whole time. The bread came in a paper bag, warm, sort of cute but tasted like bad bread machine, and the butter was almost liquid, not a good health practice.

The waitress told us the two favorite items were pot-au-feu and the trout, so we ordered one of each. My pot-au-feu looked like the "Hunk of Beef" dog food I often buy, but I buy it for the dog. Weird slimey things hanging off of it, dry and stringy even though in a stew pot. The horseradish topping tasted more like plain yogurt. My husband loves trout and only ate a small amount of it because it was so bad- though I didn't taste it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rustique Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Rustique Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing