We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive Burger”
Review of Prospect

Prospect
Reserve with OpenTable
Prospect is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 161 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$50
Cuisines: American, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Street and Mill
Transit: Let RFTA take you right to our front door! Take the bus and exit at the Main Street stop either in front of Paepke Park or at the corner of Main and Gallena.
Description: Aspen's newest introduction to its renowned restaurant scene is Prospect, a modern American bistro that honors the town's rich mining history with hearty and diverse American dishes that are meant to be shared. Executive Chef Rob Zack reintroduces classic favorites with a flare. Contemporary techniques are complimented by culinary traditions that reflect a sense of place.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
111 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Expensive Burger”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My wife enjoyed sharing this $20 burger and fries on the courtyard tables next to the hotel at lunch time. I had a beer and my wife had a glass of iced tea. The burger was delicious and came with grilled onions and cheese. The jalapeno corn bread was excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kcitybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    19
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stilwell, Kansas
Level Contributor
143 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Could have been "Excellent" with better service.”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

It was a beautiful summer day and we wanted lunch outdoors in Aspen. The Prospect at the Hotel Jerome has a beautiful courtyard adjacent to the hotel where they serve lunch. The food was very good as you would expect at the Hotel Jerome. The disappointing thing was the poor and very slow service (2 hours) which you would certainly would not expect when paying these prices at a hotel with this reputation. With all of the choices in Aspen I don't think we will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank amfpvks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best waffles ever”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

I had some of the best waffles they where topped with powerd sugar and with this lemon glaze sauce with somthing along the lines of almonds or flak seed something in there that made it really good. The server was really nice and asked everyone where they are from and it was a good experience

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BCVailski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
388 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Go for the atmosphere and stay for the food”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The inside area of the restaurant gives an appearance of refined, old world elegance. We enjoyed the tapenade and cheese board as appetizers. We participated in the "month of Riesling" by trying an Austrian sparkling wine (Gobelsberg Sekt) that contains the Riesling grape. My chicken entree was one of the juiciest and most flavorful I can remember. My wife and daughter enjoyed the trout and Chitarra. The meal wasn't cheap (about $200 for a party of three, with drinks but no dessert), but this was on par with many similar restaurants in town.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jandc8491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Food in Beautiful Surroundings”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Located in the Historic Jerome. The Starters are unique. They offer spreads in i/2 pint mason jars with Lavosh. I had the best ever Trout spread. They oofer Hummus, Pimiento Cheese and six or seven others. The pan fried Trout is perfectly cooked.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DevourDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prospect also viewed

 

Been to Prospect? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing