We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm and reasonable”

The White House Tavern
Ranked #1 of 160 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“warm and reasonable”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I like the interior warmth and casual atmosphere of White House Tavern. Their burgers are very good, and the salads were also worth ordering. Fries were too good- I must avoid them in future…I ordered a white wine that I didn't like- metallic taste, and it was substituted with no fuss. Very nice people seem to run the place, but service can be a little chaotic. There aren't that many good values to be had in Aspen, but White House is a place to find comfort and a relatively reasonable value. Outdoor seating is desirable in good weather.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnyWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    223
    43
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awsome Fried Chicken Sandwich”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This sandwich is the BEST I have ever had, without question. it is so big they cut it into thirds and it is certainly big enough to share.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

As others have stated small menu but excellent quality. My group had
4 different entrées and everyone was pleased with their order. Small space and a little noisy but enjoyable environment.

Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Simple but excellent.”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

As many of the other reviews suggest, this tiny restaurant serves up some excellent dishes. The menu is limited to about a dozen option, but everything our party tried was excellent from salads to sandwiches. If you're looking to avoid a long wait time, try heading here for a late lunch instead of dinner.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank washingtondcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“These Positive Reviews Are Not Steering You in the Wrong Direction”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Small menu, but both items we ordered (Macho Salad and Fish Sandwich) were delectable. Bar is well stocked and the atmosphere is warm - and not too loud. Definitely worth the time and money to stop in on an empty stomach.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CountDrakeula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White House Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The White House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing