We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the wait!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White House Tavern

The White House Tavern
Ranked #1 of 161 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

If you've been lucky enough to eat the any of Hillstone Groups restaurants, you won't be disappointed in The White House. The menu only has a few items, but every one of them is made expertly! There's usually a long wait during peak hours, but if you go late in the evening or early in the afternoon, it's not too bad (and worth every minute). The wait staff is great, especially our hostess, who went above and beyond to get our larger party seated. Delicious!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BTHockeymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    637
    221
    43
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“warm and reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I like the interior warmth and casual atmosphere of White House Tavern. Their burgers are very good, and the salads were also worth ordering. Fries were too good- I must avoid them in future…I ordered a white wine that I didn't like- metallic taste, and it was substituted with no fuss. Very nice people seem to run the place, but service can be a little chaotic. There aren't that many good values to be had in Aspen, but White House is a place to find comfort and a relatively reasonable value. Outdoor seating is desirable in good weather.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnyWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awsome Fried Chicken Sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This sandwich is the BEST I have ever had, without question. it is so big they cut it into thirds and it is certainly big enough to share.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

As others have stated small menu but excellent quality. My group had
4 different entrées and everyone was pleased with their order. Small space and a little noisy but enjoyable environment.

Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Simple but excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

As many of the other reviews suggest, this tiny restaurant serves up some excellent dishes. The menu is limited to about a dozen option, but everything our party tried was excellent from salads to sandwiches. If you're looking to avoid a long wait time, try heading here for a late lunch instead of dinner.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank washingtondcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White House Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The White House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing