We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in Aspen”

The White House Tavern
Ranked #1 of 160 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A little gem in Aspen”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The menu consists of about 10 choices - our group had three of them. Highly recommend the fried grouper sandwich and I am from Florida. Salads and sandwiches were monstrous especially the fried chicken sandwich. Delicious breads. Wonderful lunch spot. Cozy.. Very friendly. Great ambiance inside and out. Typically I like healthy food (and they have salads on the menu) but their fired sandwiches looked so delectable that I couldn't resist. Very interesting designer bar menu. I was disappointed in their Bloody Mary. Same menu for lunch and dinner. Two people who are moderate eaters could easily share a sandwich. Pretty good hand cut fries. I just like the ambiance so much that I was willing to overlook the things that I did not like.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DorisP52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    714
    238
    45
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Eat outside if you can wait!!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Inside extremely noisy. Not a place for relaxing or intimite conversation. If you are under 40, you'll consider it a hot atmosphere, young and trying to be hip, like Aspen. Mega salad was excellent with many ingredients. Fish sandwich huge. Would rather have it grilled, although the breading added texture and flavor. Would never return unless I could eat outside! Not a relaxing lunch. Thanks

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“good food good atmosphere”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

we were lucky enough to have no line, no wait! great service and wonderful food! very relaxed and casual. my boyfriend had the french dip and I had the grilled chicken salad...delish!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

If you've been lucky enough to eat the any of Hillstone Groups restaurants, you won't be disappointed in The White House. The menu only has a few items, but every one of them is made expertly! There's usually a long wait during peak hours, but if you go late in the evening or early in the afternoon, it's not too bad (and worth every minute). The wait staff is great, especially our hostess, who went above and beyond to get our larger party seated. Delicious!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BTHockeymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“warm and reasonable”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I like the interior warmth and casual atmosphere of White House Tavern. Their burgers are very good, and the salads were also worth ordering. Fries were too good- I must avoid them in future…I ordered a white wine that I didn't like- metallic taste, and it was substituted with no fuss. Very nice people seem to run the place, but service can be a little chaotic. There aren't that many good values to be had in Aspen, but White House is a place to find comfort and a relatively reasonable value. Outdoor seating is desirable in good weather.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnyWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The White House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing